We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive”

Austria Hof Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 90 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$35
Cuisines: American, German, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mammoth Slopes Drive
Description: The Austria Hof Restaurant offers a truly unique dining experience. Choose from delicious appetizers such as lobtser ravioli with tomato sauce, Poki Salad or seared sea scallops with leeks and pancetta. Entrees include Certified Angus beef steaks, Roast Duck, Spicy shrimp and roast vegatable pasta, Pistachio crusted elk rack and of course our timeless German classics such as Sauerbraten with potato pancakes to Bratwurst with spicy mustard and German fries. For dessert try our white chocolate cheesecake or famous apple strudel.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A bit expensive”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

No problems with food and service but food and berverages a little pricy. Might expect to pay this if in the middle of a large city but here and out of season (assuming summer is)! Ok on first night as we arrived late but no repeat business from us for reasons already stated.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austriahof, Manager at Austria Hof Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for the review and feedback regarding prices of entree's. We believe that good food costs money and as a result we only use the highest quality meats and vegetables available. Our steaks are all Certified Angus Beef, our veal is always 100% Provimi, and our Ahi is always number 1 grade sushi quality. Obviously Mammoth is also not an inexpensive place to do business and things just do cost more, however comparing us to other restaurants in Mammoth we are probably on the lower side regarding price. In addition we offer a daily early bird specials with $3.00 off each entree as well as a daily happy hour with significant savings on both appetizers and drinks. Thanks, Austria Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of the norm and tasty!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I came by here last month with a group of 10, excited to try some fine dining options outside of the crowded village. At first glance, it doesn't have the appeal of a modern upscale restaurant, as the decor is dated and the lighting is on the dim side, but it felt reminiscent of some of my meals abroad. I ordered the pork shank with parmesean polenta. The pork was Devine- falling off the bone resting on a savory sauce and polenta. The three combined made an incredible bite. The manager introduced himself, and said he used to manage the restaurant at Convict Lake. The place seems like a hidden gem as far as finding a less crowded, off the beaten path place to dine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Whether you dine off the menu in the lively bar or have a quiet eveing in the dining room, you be treated to plentiful and scrumptious meals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Dated and Tired - interior and cuisine”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Made a rezzie there during our trip last week. Much to our amazement it was almost empty possibly due to Monday night. The interior is dated and tattered: carpet torn and dirty.

Menue selection average for a restaurant of this genre but all meats smothered in heavy sauces so you can't really taste the meat. The spatzle l appeared to be pre cooked as in starchy. Good wine. Would NOT return. Problem is Mammoth has very few excellent dining options due to mostly a LA crowd that doens't have the sophistication of the Bay Area and other cosmopolitan areas. Food for the masses and not for the classes, sorry to say!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lckt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great place to hang out......”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We hung out on the outside deck while waiting for the kids to mountain bike. You have to order the fries that have several types of cheese....super good. Not good for you.....but SUPER good. ALso the pretzel on the appetizer menu was so much fun. It is at least a foot in diameter and comes with several sauces. So great to share......pricey....but you are in mammoth! (Our waiter even brought out a water bowl for our dog!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Austria Hof Restaurant also viewed

 
Mammoth Lakes, CA
 

Been to Austria Hof Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing