We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Getaway”
Review of Edelweiss Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edelweiss Lodge
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This was our first time in Mammoth Lakes. The room was perfect for my wife and I. The room was very clean, comfortable bed and was perfect for what we needed. The staff made us feel like family and were very helpful in directing us to where we needed to go; even as far as offering us a ride. We were on a motorcycle and they allowed us to park it under the awning in front of the cabin. Deffinitly will return there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #10. It is a small room with a double bed and the nessesities you need for a place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenneth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was a very cozy cabin style lodge. The hosts were very friendly and even left freshly baked chocolate chip cookies in our room the first day. The lodge is easy to access but is in a quieter section of town. It was a weekend getaway for my wife and I so this was a perfect spot. The cabin had everything we needed to find a tasty restaurant and also cook for ourselves. We had a fire one night and the fireplace really works well. We had never been to Mammoth before, so the price seemed a bit high. But in hindsight, it was a great value for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank J0shua2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed here when I was a teenager and went back nearly 40 years later. It is as cute and well maintained as ever. Sue and Dale work very hard and are always around if you need anything. They were totally welcoming of our 2 dogs. Our son's dog wasn't getting along with our dog so well so they quickly found a solution by arranging another room nearby for son and dog at low cost. The location is amazing as we found gorgeous walks in every direction and it's near Lake Mary which many trailheads are centered around. We recommend the Duck's Pass Trail for dogs that like water. In regard to previous comments about room cleaning, we have found the "housekeeping unit" to be the norm in Mammoth unless you are in a traditional motel/hotel. Generally in Mammoth if your rental is a full home including kitchen and living room, you don't get your room cleaned daily. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Sue & Dale were great and very friendly. We really liked our room and the location of the Lodge in the more residential area on Old Mammoth Road. Really nice. Only bad thing is that you had to pay to have your room cleaned. We never had to do this but thought that was an overkill for lodge like this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We really enjoyed staying at Edelweiss Lodge in our cozy cabin with our dog. The quiet location was a plus and it was close to some great hikes and bike paths. The cabin was spotless and had everything we needed plus a basket of items for our dog. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandPamY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very down home, customer service oriented. Very Clean. Anything thing you need? They've got it. They make you feel like part of the family. So much to do and see. Hiking, fishing, Ranger tours, not far from Earthquake Fault, Mono Lake, Bodie State Park(real Ghost town) even Yosemite.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank knowwheretogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is a simply lovely little selection of rooms and cabins in a quiet location in Mammoth Lakes.

Positioned away from the main Mammoth Village, and yet close enough for dinner and entertainment, Edelweiss Lodge is excellent value for money.

Throw in friendly owners who are there to share their local knowledge with you and you're on to a winner.

One suggestion, however, would be to try and get a stand alone cabin or one of the upstairs suites as the walls are quite thin and you can hear the more heavy footed guests above you at all hours.

That aside, I wholly recommend Edelweiss for those looking for good value accommodation in Mammoth.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.4 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,501 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
877 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Lodge

Address: 1872 Old Mammoth Road, Corner of Old Mammoth and Waterford, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £101 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edelweiss Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mammoth’s top choice for a personal lodging experience . The Edelweiss has been a Mammoth tradition since 1957. We pride ourselves with maintaining the charm of a 1950’s knotty pine lodge while still enjoying the modern conveniences of today. Fully equipped kitchens, wood burning fireplaces, cable TV and free WIFI give you the comforts of home with the charm of a time gone by. Located in a quiet area of town known as “Old Mammoth”. We have six buildings that comprise the lodge sitting among the beautiful Jeffery Pines. We are happy to provide you with a selection of 10 cabins and suites, each unit is slightly different and special in its own way. We are flexible and can accommodate a one night stay to an extended vacation. We are happy to book all or part of our lodge for family reunions, and group getaways. Guests are greeted with homemade cookies and a personal experience by local onsite owners. We are the perfect location to get away and enjoy all the outdoor activities Mammoth has to offer as well as the gateway to the beautiful Yosemite National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Edelweiss Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing