We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Food”

The Stove Restaurant Country Cookin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Quality Food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've been going to the Stove for a number of years and have never been disappointed. Visited over Memorial Day weekend and had the fried chicken, which was excellent. A half-chicken fried perfectly and very juicy, along with the pan-fried potatoes. Two others had the prime rib which was also tasty. Prices are fairly high, but that's everywhere in Mammoth. Breakfast is also very good. Big portions of all the favorites. Consistently one of the best restaurants in Mammoth.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank longnex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    98
    21
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Burgers and rips!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The Stove might look rather unspectacular from the outside, and even after you enter you might wonder if you made the right decision, but then you order the burgers and / or rips and you don't want to leave anymore!
We travel quiet a bit every year and that a food outlet is memorable is rare, but The Stove will stay in our memory, so both thumbs up!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ccwestcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Food you can count on”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We always make a point to visit The Stove while visiting Mammoth. While the menu has changed with new owners the food is still delicious. They are now serving breakfast for dinner, which is always good for the kids, they prefer pancakes & waffles instead of mac n cheese or chicken fingers. Service was excellent as we got there when they opened for dinner at 5PM. Had the soup & burger, everything was delicious. The place started filling up with more diners as we were leaving. Good food you can always count on.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twinmom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast In Mammoth IMHO”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Love, love, love this place. It's been there forever and never fails to impress. The waitresses are all great, the food is always excellent. If you go during the Winter or Summer season, get there early -- it fills up quickly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good hearty food.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We went for dinner first and had a large party, so we tried a lot of the dishes. The Prime Rib dinner was massive since you get a salad or soup and sides. It was better cooked medium rare than medium. It's not Lawry's good, but we were pretty impressed with it. The Chix pot pie was also very good, but it's only a thick "cap" of crust with the filling being like a thick stew in a large bowl. It tasted very good, but would be better if it had a proper crust- at least around the top of the bowl; again, you get a salad or soup with all the entrees. The Chix fried steak, was also huge and tastey, but they don't pound the meat too much, so it's more steak like in texture- it just depends on how you like it. The kids dishes were also large, especially the burgers. We ended up having a ton of left overs, which were still good the next day for lunch.
We also went for breakfast, and got the Stove Special with french toast/bacon and waffles with blueberrys with sausage. Both were very good. We'll definitely be back to try other breakfast items.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yuaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stove Restaurant Country Cookin also viewed

 

Been to The Stove Restaurant Country Cookin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing