We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ride, better view”

Eleven53 Interpretive Center
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great ride, better view”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

What an amazing opportunity! My family and I rode the gondola to the top for fun. Since we went tubing at Woolly's Tube Park earlier that day, the gondola was free for our kids. We just had to pay for the adults. It was so much fun to go up the mountain and see all the skiers and boarders. Especially fun to see the jump off the ramps. Once at the top, the interpretive center was pretty basic. Viewing tubes pointed out surrounding peaks. None of the video screens were on. 11,000 ft made us light-headed, so we had a snack from the snack bar and then went outside to take some pictures.

The center was disappointing, but the ride and view made it worth the trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spaek68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Go Get On Top”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Panorama gondola to the top of Mammoth Mountain and take a few minutes to check out the interpretive center. Poster displays and viewing tubes are set up to orient you to the many high peaks along the crest of the Sierra Nevada. Views to Yosemite, Devil's Postpile and south to the high country around Sequoia. They have a cafe up here also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Give you a general idea of area”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nothing to wow you here, but you will learn some interesting facts about the surrounding area which is beautiful. Spend a few minutes learning about the Sierras and enjoy the amazing views.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, Ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Info!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were there on a Saturday, and the volunteer docent who was there with info on the location was an absolute encyclopedia of knowledge! No matter what the question was, he had tons of info, and usually slides and pics to go with it! Really nice place to just walk around, but you must talk to the docent!! (I think his name was Phil...but I'm not sure...)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sugarpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top of the Sierra Interpretive Center + Devils Postpile/Rainbow Falls”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Combine these two to make a perfect day enjoying some of the best of the Eastern Sierra Nevadas. If you don't mind getting an early start, I recommend doing the Reds Meadown/Devil's Postpile/Rainbow Falls in the morning and the Top of the Sierra Interpretive Center in the afternoon. If you combine the two, you will get to see a beautiful alpine meadow, a hexagonal columnar lava flow, a 100 foot waterfall, ride a gondola and a 400 mile view of the Eastern Sierra Nevadas and still have time to go fishing or play a round of golf.

Tips:
The hike to the falls traverses a burned out area of the forest and is exposed to the elements, so remember to bring water and apply sunscreen.
Driving down to the Postpile during the shuttle season (summer) is restricted to disabled, visitors to red's meadow resort and campers. Park at the Adventure Center (where you can take the Panorama Gondola to the Top of the Sierra)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Berkeley_Trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eleven53 Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Eleven53 Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing