We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel in good location”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We booked this hotel as it had two bedroom suites which was better for us than two rooms. The suite was fantastic with two large bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen and very nice living area. The hotel is located close to the ski lift and a nice shopping area with several good restaurants. Mammoth Lakes is a great place to visit with some wonderful walks and spectacular scenery. Not cheap and the annoying habit of adding "extras" such as 'occupancy tax' ($49) and 'resort service fee' ($25), soon racks up the final bill. Overall a very good hotel if a little pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gundogjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you gundogjh, I am glad you enjoyed your Westin experience. As you mentioned, the property is very close to the Village, Canyon Ski Lodge, and many local restaurants & pubs. I am not sure what site you used to book your reservation, but you are correct many do not detail the total you will pay once the final bill is generated. The best rate will always be offered on the Westin site, we have a best rate guarantee, and the fees and taxes are defined on the site as well as in your confirmation letter. I really appreciate your business and the time you spent reviewing the property. Please come back and see us again; we anxiously await your return!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    332
    106
    54
    39
See reviews for
510
428
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here recently, this was my second summer trip to Mammoth and really enjoyed staying here both times as it's walking distance to town, and there's a trolley stand downstairs if you prefer the trolley to get around Mammoth. It's also a dog-friendly place, so even your pet can have the experience of a heavenly bed. The rooms are spacious and have a kitchen with refrigerator, stove, and sink. The bathroom lacks counter space, though, so if you're like me with lots of lotions and potions, there isn't a place to put them. Also, the hair dryer is just 'ok' but I have really long hair, if you're not particular about it, you'll be alright. Mine didn't work but I got a replacement for it right away. The happy hour/lounge is great, and the pool area is a lot of fun for the kids, with one large pool and two smaller jacuzzi-type pools. Even though the air quality was poor because of the fires not too far away, the stay was enjoyable. My only complaints are that the gym, which only has ellipticals, treadmills and 2 stationary bikes and a handful of dumbbells, didn't have cups for the water any of the times that I worked out. They do provide ear buds for your workout, which is great, but those tended to run out as well. Also, the internet didn't work the entire time I stayed (was a 5-night stay). Not sure why, but I didn't complain, as I spent most of my time outdoors but it is a convenience that many of us expect. Aside from a minor billing snafu that was resolved after two phone calls on my part, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel is fantastic and very well located. I stayed for one night (very pricey) on 8/10 and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was gorgeous (1 bedroom suite) with a little kitchen area, separate bedroom, small deck over looking the pool, dining space and living space with TV and fire place.
They offer laundry service, room service, etc and the pool looked very inviting as well. Staff was very helpful and accommodating as well. Wish I could have stayed the 2nd night as well, but at over $300 a night, I just couldn't do it to my wallet!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We didn't book... we drove up and they had a room. It was a really lovely room, nice view, huge comfy beds, and great exercise facilities. Staff were helpful the next in directing us to activities. Mammoth mountain is fantastic in the summer, so much to do and a great buzz... and this hotel is a great place to take it all in. Would've loved to have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyinhgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I can't say anything bad. It's a really good hotel and considering the price is excellent.

We only stayed over night as part of our honeymoon as we had driven from Vegas heading through Yosemite to San Francisco.

Really wish we had stayed longer. Lovely area and lovely people. Really nice hotel.

Loved it. Well done Westin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fkaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel is in the middle of everything. You can see the gondola from the restaurant and walk to the Plaza across the street for everything you might need. The hotel seems to be pretty doggy friendly as there were quite a few while we were there. There was a dedicated kids activity room that looked fun. The small conference rooms were beautiful and could be used for a special occasion. We used the outdoor hot tubs - there is one very hot and one not so hot in addition to a luke warm swimming pool. All of these are located on a nice patio in a spectacular mountain setting. We used the fitness room which is nice with a TV and individual equipment TV's. It has a nice open feel; looks out on the pool patio. The rooms are spacious and very nice. There isn't a bad room. The view from every room is going to be mountain woodland.

Room Tip: The view from every room is mountain woodland. The higher up, the more landscape you see. Some of th...
See more room tips
Green Features: I appreciated the practice of not automatically laundering sheets and bath towels every day when the same guest is staying (you make the choice on that, not the hotel). Rooms have fridges so you can get doggie bags and not waste meals that are a little too much.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodiefool_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Love this resort! The hotel itself is beautiful. Clean, good sized rooms. The room had a small kitchen, with a stove, microwave, and fridge. Friendly staff. The concierge gave us lots of helpful tips. We wanted to take a short hike, and he suggested McLeod lake, which is breathtaking! There are lots of great restaurants nearby. Great little vacation town! We were also given a free upgrade to a Junior Suite, which was lovely. Overall, it was a really enjoyable experience, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
821 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing