We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Monica, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect Room”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Right in a fab, central location, the hotel is a pleasure from the start. Great mountain art references throughout the property. We were pleasantly surprised at each turn. Our first room was a bit dark( facing into a tree grove) , so the staff quickly moved us up 3 floors to the top of the tree-line. Absolutely lovely! Great bed, well appointed kitchenette, lovely lounging nook by the window which happily opened for fresh mountain air. The restaurantI has a great dining room. I had a cauliflower steak. Good, but the dessert, a valrhona chocolate mousse, was really really yummy. We lucked out with an off season rate. Our 169. a night room goes for 700. high season. Easy luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We recognize feedback as a tool and use it to make the necessary adjustment to improve our service and accommodations. We are proud to be a Westin hotel! It is our mission to offer Renewing, Instinctive and Personal service to every guest, every time they visit this property. I am happy to read you had such a nice stay, and the staff was able to assist you promptly and effectively. I am also a huge fan of the chocolate mousse. Actually, I am a big fan of all dessert and all the offerings at Whitebark hit the spot. We just hired a new pastry chef so next time you are staying on property we should have a new and even better selection.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    321
    101
    53
    34
See reviews for
490
420
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were extremely impressed with the level of customer service as well as the amenities at this price point. The front desk and concierge were both extremely helpful in answering our questions about the hotel and Mammoth Lakes and making sure that we were satisfied with our stay.

The rooms are well appointed and include kitchenettes with no detail left out. Extra touches include assistance planning your morning run (Mammoth Lakes has great jogging and bike paths), available onsite childcare and free valet and self parking. Of course, this is a Westin, so the beds are extremely comfortable and all of the typical 4 star amenities are there.

This property was a steal at $200/night (inc. tax and the $25 resort fee).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are proud to be a Westin, and thank you very much for your feedback. It is our mission to offer Renewing, Instinctive and Personal service to every guest, every time they visit this property. I am happy to read you had such a positive experience with our staff; they are great people. I look forward to your next visit!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My dogs and I stayed here for a long weekend in September. We have never been to a more dog friendly and dog populated hotel. There were dogs everywhere. Nobody seemed to mind and the dogs got along very well.
The room was typical Westin. Very nicely appointed, with a small fridge, two burner stove, sink and micro. Plus utensils.

We stayed on the 6th floor of seven. That is a lot of elevator time / waiting for elevators with dogs. There are only two elevators for the property. The place was pretty full when we were there and it could be challenging for pets to get all the way outside to do their business or deal with lots of people and other dogs in fairly confined spaces.

If you are traveling with pets you might want to be on a lower floor.

Room Tip: Is it worth it to pay for a pool view room? Not from the 6th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Mammoth Lakes, CA should be the dog capital of the world. It is amazing all of the different breeds and amount of dogs in this area; it makes it even more of a special place. I appreciate you choosing the Westin Monache; I hope we can accommodate you the next time you are in the area. Thank you for your business!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We got one of the small rooms, but it was quite pleasant and plenty of space for the two of us. The bed was a bit soft for our standards, but otherwise everything was perfect. The room and the bathroom was very clean and everything was VERY well supplied! The staff was friendly and check in/out was a breeze.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank You Kristine for your very nice comments. I appreciate you choosing the Westin Monache for you accommodations in Mammoth Lakes. I apologize for the firmness issue with your bed. The heavenly bed has a pillow top and if your preference is for a more firm mattress it will feel too soft. I am happy to read you encountered very engaged staff; they take a lot of pride in their work and thoroughly enjoy meeting and interacting with our guests. It would appear you received a true Westin experience; I hope we will see you back in the not too distant future.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We visited Mammoth Lakes on a trip from Yosemite to Las Vegas. It was a great stopping point, and this was a great hotel choice. We were there in summer during forest fires, so the air was hazy all around. But the hotel is in a great location for walking right out an into a little shopping and dining area. There was live music that night, and we ate outside.

We were given a suite upgrade, and the room was really nice. It looked like new! There was a king bed in the bedroom and a pull-out sofa in the living room. There was a good sized kitchen as well. The bathroom was large.

We were very happy with this hotel, and we would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikipa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you Kikipa73. If you are visiting Yosemite from an Eastern Gateway Destination we are the perfect place to stay. In addition, I would put the beauty, skiing, hiking trails and biking opportunities of the Mammoth Mountain and Lakes Basin up against anything in North America. Thank you for your nice comments. We strive to offer a renewing experience during your time with us, while instinctively ensuring your needs are met. The village across the street is open all year, and has a vibrant summer programming event calendar. Thank you for your business, and we look forward to your return for another relaxing stay.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We don't normally stay at hotels this nice, but we were here "off-season" and felt like treating ourselves. We got a good rate for a room that comfortable slept four of us and enjoyed the very comfortable beds, the great location, a great view, exceptionally clean and well-maintained facilities (including pool/spa), etc. I'd love to come here during the winter to ski, but not sure we could afford to come and full peak-season rates. But I'm going to look into the possibility now that I see how pleasant it would be . . . .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you Larry for your very nice comments! We are proud to be a Westin hotel and I am happy to read you had a truly enjoyable experience. It is our mission to offer Renewing, Instinctive and Personal service to every guest, every time they visit this property. It was our treat to have you and your family as guest in our hotel. We would love to see you back during the winter months to enjoy Ski Magazines top rated California ski destination.

Thank You!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

The rooms were very clean. Modern furnishings with nice art work. Lovey pool and spa. Great location with several dining options. Robes kitchen with all the amenities. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlenelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you Darlene Lynn, we pride ourselves on clean rooms and Westin service. I appreciate you taking the time to review our property. I hope you find more time to visit us again in the future.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
795 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing