We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 *”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Lothian
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“5 *”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

On arrival we were offered a glass of champagne! Our room was lovely, with a seating area and a kitchen area, all spotless and lovely and modern. Bathroom was really spacious, great hot and powerful shower complete with fluffy robes. Hot tub was HOT ! With a nice pool alongside. This hotel is in a lovely location, secure underground parking and right in the 'village'. Nice restaurants nearby, check out the Smokeyard BBQ (see my review) for great food. This hotel has a real emphasis on health and wellbeing, check out the 'healthy' water bowl in reception with cucumber and herbs, very refreshing, room also includes complimentary Starbucks coffee and water. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing break. The only thing lacking is a spa with massage and treatments.

Room Tip: Don't be scared to discuss the possibility of a reduced rate, I did and it worked!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very health and Eco conscious. Try the healthy water in reception and same the relaxing complimentary toiletries
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are proud to be a Westin hotel, and thank you for your nice comments. We strive to offer a renewing experience during your time with us, while instinctively ensuring your needs are met. A main pillar or the Westin brand is well-being, the water in the lobby, our Superfoods section in Whitebark, plus the Heavenly Bed and shower were designed to ensure you depart feeling better than when you arrived. The village across the street is open all year, and has a vibrant summer programming event calendar. Thank you for your business, we look forward to your return.

Thanks Again!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    319
    94
    49
    29
See reviews for
479
410
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent one night while driving back home from Yosemite. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are large. We enjoyed the kitchenette and the comfortable beds. No complaints at all from us.

We had hoped to walk to an area that had restaurants. The center across the street was mostly closed and I think caters more to travelers that are in the area during ski season.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for the very nice comments. I appreciate the time you spent reviewing this property. As a Westin it is a goal of ours to have you feeling refreshed upon departure. To offer a renewing experience while you are on property, while instinctively trying to ensure your needs. The village across the street is open all year, and has a vibrant summer programming event calendar. September is traditionally a slower month for the Mammoth Lakes region; you are right the energy level, offerings and population rises during the winter months. Please come and join us again; we truly appreciate your business.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Right in a fab, central location, the hotel is a pleasure from the start. Great mountain art references throughout the property. We were pleasantly surprised at each turn. Our first room was a bit dark( facing into a tree grove) , so the staff quickly moved us up 3 floors to the top of the tree-line. Absolutely lovely! Great bed, well appointed kitchenette, lovely lounging nook by the window which happily opened for fresh mountain air. The restaurantI has a great dining room. I had a cauliflower steak. Good, but the dessert, a valrhona chocolate mousse, was really really yummy. We lucked out with an off season rate. Our 169. a night room goes for 700. high season. Easy luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We recognize feedback as a tool and use it to make the necessary adjustment to improve our service and accommodations. We are proud to be a Westin hotel! It is our mission to offer Renewing, Instinctive and Personal service to every guest, every time they visit this property. I am happy to read you had such a nice stay, and the staff was able to assist you promptly and effectively. I am also a huge fan of the chocolate mousse. Actually, I am a big fan of all dessert and all the offerings at Whitebark hit the spot. We just hired a new pastry chef so next time you are staying on property we should have a new and even better selection.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were extremely impressed with the level of customer service as well as the amenities at this price point. The front desk and concierge were both extremely helpful in answering our questions about the hotel and Mammoth Lakes and making sure that we were satisfied with our stay.

The rooms are well appointed and include kitchenettes with no detail left out. Extra touches include assistance planning your morning run (Mammoth Lakes has great jogging and bike paths), available onsite childcare and free valet and self parking. Of course, this is a Westin, so the beds are extremely comfortable and all of the typical 4 star amenities are there.

This property was a steal at $200/night (inc. tax and the $25 resort fee).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are proud to be a Westin, and thank you very much for your feedback. It is our mission to offer Renewing, Instinctive and Personal service to every guest, every time they visit this property. I am happy to read you had such a positive experience with our staff; they are great people. I look forward to your next visit!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My dogs and I stayed here for a long weekend in September. We have never been to a more dog friendly and dog populated hotel. There were dogs everywhere. Nobody seemed to mind and the dogs got along very well.
The room was typical Westin. Very nicely appointed, with a small fridge, two burner stove, sink and micro. Plus utensils.

We stayed on the 6th floor of seven. That is a lot of elevator time / waiting for elevators with dogs. There are only two elevators for the property. The place was pretty full when we were there and it could be challenging for pets to get all the way outside to do their business or deal with lots of people and other dogs in fairly confined spaces.

If you are traveling with pets you might want to be on a lower floor.

Room Tip: Is it worth it to pay for a pool view room? Not from the 6th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Mammoth Lakes, CA should be the dog capital of the world. It is amazing all of the different breeds and amount of dogs in this area; it makes it even more of a special place. I appreciate you choosing the Westin Monache; I hope we can accommodate you the next time you are in the area. Thank you for your business!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We got one of the small rooms, but it was quite pleasant and plenty of space for the two of us. The bed was a bit soft for our standards, but otherwise everything was perfect. The room and the bathroom was very clean and everything was VERY well supplied! The staff was friendly and check in/out was a breeze.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank You Kristine for your very nice comments. I appreciate you choosing the Westin Monache for you accommodations in Mammoth Lakes. I apologize for the firmness issue with your bed. The heavenly bed has a pillow top and if your preference is for a more firm mattress it will feel too soft. I am happy to read you encountered very engaged staff; they take a lot of pride in their work and thoroughly enjoy meeting and interacting with our guests. It would appear you received a true Westin experience; I hope we will see you back in the not too distant future.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We visited Mammoth Lakes on a trip from Yosemite to Las Vegas. It was a great stopping point, and this was a great hotel choice. We were there in summer during forest fires, so the air was hazy all around. But the hotel is in a great location for walking right out an into a little shopping and dining area. There was live music that night, and we ate outside.

We were given a suite upgrade, and the room was really nice. It looked like new! There was a king bed in the bedroom and a pull-out sofa in the living room. There was a good sized kitchen as well. The bathroom was large.

We were very happy with this hotel, and we would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikipa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you Kikipa73. If you are visiting Yosemite from an Eastern Gateway Destination we are the perfect place to stay. In addition, I would put the beauty, skiing, hiking trails and biking opportunities of the Mammoth Mountain and Lakes Basin up against anything in North America. Thank you for your nice comments. We strive to offer a renewing experience during your time with us, while instinctively ensuring your needs are met. The village across the street is open all year, and has a vibrant summer programming event calendar. Thank you for your business, and we look forward to your return for another relaxing stay.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
787 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing