We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Mammoth to be sure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Mammoth to be sure!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We loved the staff's smiles and attentiveness but the room was the cherry on top. We booked a studio with a kitchen and loved it. With a table for 2 and a granite covered counter, small fridge and stove it would have be perfect for a longer stay. The only issues I noticed with cooking was there is no garbage disposal and with carpeting in the kitchen area, that presents a problem with spills. But, I enjoyed the complementary Starbucks coffee pods and maker. I would highly recommend it for a weekend stay & simple meal making. Or, if your up for a great meal and skipping the cooking, the restaurant downstairs is fantastic!

The only real negative we encountered was spotty wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: I would a high floor room for a better view and a smaller room if you plan to eat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank married&inlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you Married&inlove, I really applaud your heading! We try to provide the most renewing, personal & instinctive Westin experience for all of our guests. The staff really goes out of their way to ensure they provide exceptional service and quality recommendations. The restaurant just got even better! Our new Executive Chef has arrived and has personalized the menu. Thank you for choosing the Westin and we look forward to your return!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    321
    100
    53
    33
See reviews for
490
418
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

My family got a two bedroom suite (this is the standard one not the luxury) at the end of the summer in late August. The room was nicer than expected. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you would want. You just have the run to the nearby supermarket which the resort provides a shuttle for.

The location was great, close to the village where they have tons of different restaurants even a decent Japanese sushi restaurant. Getting to the different hiking locations was easy using the free Mammoth city bus. However, we found the Resort shuttle more convenient and building a good relationship with the Resort shuttle driver was useful (with tips haha). If they weren't busy, they would do a drop off and pick up further out than what they would usually do.

All in all, this was a good relatively low cost trip with a lot of hiking and family cooking & bonding in a nice resort. I am rating this resort a "very good" instead of an "excellent" because I've been to resorts that are much nicer. Also, our shower drain was clogged up when we initially arrived so we had to call someone up.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you Jason, I appreciate you bringing your family all the way from MA. We are proud to be a Westin Hotel and our mission is to have you and your guests feeling better at departure than when you arrived. I apologize for the clogged drain; we should have caught that during the cleaning process. I will bring this issue to our housekeeping manager. I hope you and your family return to the area and the property, we would all enjoy seeing everyone again!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We were greeted on our arrival by the car park valet.
We were given an upgrade to a beautiful seventh floor
Suite and had delicious steak dInner in the bar area.
Our car was promptly delivered the next morning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rudycootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you Rudycootie, I am happy to read all of our services were timely and professional. We have recently hired a new executive chef; I will ensure he sees the comment about the steak. At Westin we strive to provide personal, instinctive and renewing service. Thank you for your business and please return in the not too distant future.

Thank you
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My hubby and I stayed here after a drive through Yosemite after coming from Bass Lake. This hotel is centrally located to everything in town and there is a ski lift outside the front door. I would think skiers would love that part - we weren't there to ski. We got in late and order some room service which was really good (as far as room service goes). Our room was spectacular and had a view of the mountains and ski lift. It had a full kitchen and stocked with everything you could possibly need while in the kitchen. Not to mention the in-room coffee pot with Starbucks coffee (YAY!). Did I mention the gas fireplace? Yup - nice way to warm up.

Bed was very comfy (extra pillows in the closet), nice flat screen TV and bathroom was stocked with extra towels. Our stay was amazing and we can't wait to go back. Already planning our next trip!!!

Oh and before we left we had breakfast in the restaurant - super yummy! Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you GInger, I am really excited to read you are already planning your next trip. The staff truly enjoys seeing familiar faces and helping continue to enjoy all the area has to offer. The gondola is perfect for skiing, and it is open on special events during the summer as well. It is the perfect way to get to canyon lodge. I am happy you enjoyed the heavenly bed and heavenly bathroom; these amenities set Westin apart from other hotel brands.

See you on your return, Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a pleasant enough mountain hotel but beware they appear to have a no refund policy. We booked for five nights but needed to check out one day early. Even though we had asked for an accepted an upgraded room at check in and had informed them at that time that we would be checking out one day early we were not given any refund. If this is the policy of Westin then we will not be staying in one of their hotels again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyReflect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Andy, Westin and this hotel have a cancellation policy, a refund policy and will work very closely with the guest to ensure they understand their reservation. Each reservation has a different policy depending on the type you chose. Some rates are discounted because they are non-refundable, while other rates allow for you to cancel or change with no restrictions. All Westins provide a wide range of rate options and packages so you the guest can build the type of experience you desire. I would explain your particular rate with more detail but the anonimity of this process makes it difficult. If you were not given a proper explaination, please call the property and we can research your specific reservation. I apologize this issue was not explained with more clkarity while you were on property.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

On arrival we were offered a glass of champagne! Our room was lovely, with a seating area and a kitchen area, all spotless and lovely and modern. Bathroom was really spacious, great hot and powerful shower complete with fluffy robes. Hot tub was HOT ! With a nice pool alongside. This hotel is in a lovely location, secure underground parking and right in the 'village'. Nice restaurants nearby, check out the Smokeyard BBQ (see my review) for great food. This hotel has a real emphasis on health and wellbeing, check out the 'healthy' water bowl in reception with cucumber and herbs, very refreshing, room also includes complimentary Starbucks coffee and water. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing break. The only thing lacking is a spa with massage and treatments.

Room Tip: Don't be scared to discuss the possibility of a reduced rate, I did and it worked!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very health and Eco conscious. Try the healthy water in reception and same the relaxing complimentary toiletries
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison0706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We are proud to be a Westin hotel, and thank you for your nice comments. We strive to offer a renewing experience during your time with us, while instinctively ensuring your needs are met. A main pillar or the Westin brand is well-being, the water in the lobby, our Superfoods section in Whitebark, plus the Heavenly Bed and shower were designed to ensure you depart feeling better than when you arrived. The village across the street is open all year, and has a vibrant summer programming event calendar. Thank you for your business, we look forward to your return.

Thanks Again!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent one night while driving back home from Yosemite. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms are large. We enjoyed the kitchenette and the comfortable beds. No complaints at all from us.

We had hoped to walk to an area that had restaurants. The center across the street was mostly closed and I think caters more to travelers that are in the area during ski season.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for the very nice comments. I appreciate the time you spent reviewing this property. As a Westin it is a goal of ours to have you feeling refreshed upon departure. To offer a renewing experience while you are on property, while instinctively trying to ensure your needs. The village across the street is open all year, and has a vibrant summer programming event calendar. September is traditionally a slower month for the Mammoth Lakes region; you are right the energy level, offerings and population rises during the winter months. Please come and join us again; we truly appreciate your business.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
795 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing