We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We live in Southern California. So, a trip up to Mammoth to visit the snow (with our bulldog) was something we very much wanted. I think the Westin here is an excellent hotel that commendably takes dogs. Of which, there were quite a few there during our weekend snow visit. And it actually made it communal. Friendly dog owners of like mind. We are not skiers in anyway. But we didm''t drive there for that. It was for a winter experience - we went during Thanksgiving last year (I know, I know, this review is late). The Westin is beautiful. The staff was extremely pleasant. The hotel is up on a hill with a long (and sometimes icy) stairway down to the village.

One thing to note, we seemed to drive a lot more than I would've thought. Walking down to the village was okay but getting to a grocery store, unique restaurant, etc., required your car. I know this is a ski destination and perhaps most aren't even thinking along the same lines, but I just had a feeling that everything was closer to the hotel.

The room was extremely nice and clean. Felt like an executive condo. Would we stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishgod1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for your very informative review. We do have a very nice location and the Village is directly across the street. This area is a newer part of Mammoth Lakes, so there is a lot of the older destinations in the heart of the city. From the Westin to the Old Mammoth corridor is about 1 mile; part of our Resort Fee is free shuttle service to that part of the community. Thank you for staying at the Westin and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

In early May, my wife and I had a wonderful stay at this well appointed luxury hotel. From here we went to explore Mammoth Lake and Yosemite.

As a SPG Starwood Member, we were upgraded to a 1bd suite in the 6th fl with spectacular views of the Mountain Center Village right below and the magnificent mountain ranges yonder! The hotel has a 24-hr fitness facility; a nice OUTDOOR pool area, and an excellent restaurant bar (Whitebark) off the lobby. Our 1-br suite comes with a good size living room, a fireplace, a balcony, a kitchennette; a br with a king bed and large window. The views from our unit are truly spectacular! There is in-room FREE wifi. The bathroom is small, though adequate. The shower above the tub come with a sky shower head as well as a handheld. Excellent!

The attractive, small mountain center village is located a few flights of stairs down, across the street, where there are several restaurants and bars, shops, Starbucks... It's also where the base gondola platform is to the Mammoth Ski Area. The gondola is closed for the season early May, but there's still FREE shuttle to/from the hotel/ski area.

The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient. We had a speedy and pleasant check-in and check-out. They gave us recommendations of and directions to the ski area, hiking trails around the upper lakes; nice places in town for dining, happy hours, shopping...! We enjoyed ourselves in Mammoth Lake area and well beyond to Yosemite.

OUR ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCES

My wife and and I had lots of fun hiking slowly around the beautiful Twin Lakes, and around the gorgeous, larger Mary Lake at a higher altitude, where the lake was still mostly frozen. We saw quite a few people including some kids fishing happily along the shorelines where the lake had started thawing.

We enjoyed our happy hours and dinners at our hotel's Whitebark Restaurant and Lounge; Smokeyard BBQ & Chop...in the nice mountain village center; shopping in the Luxury Outlet Plaza. The tasty soup, sandwich and the breads from the iconic Erik Schat Bakkery were quite memorable, too. My wife picked up quite a few bargains at the Luxury Outlet Plaza, while I was happily checking out the charming Black Vevet Café and a nice bar!

Yosemite? Magnificent! Indescribeable! Go experience yourself!

Our WISH LIST for the MANAGEMENT

1. Wish there was an INDOOR pool

2. Wish there was a SHOWER STALL instead of a tub

3. Wish there was a paved path leading into the gondola base village center, in addition to the flights of stairs!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterskis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

This is a very well written, informative review. Thank you for your time and effort, I believe a lot of people will benefit from your insight. Early is a great time to be in Mammoth Lakes! Almost all of the Spring/Summer amenities are open and accessible. There is a paved path to the gondola other than the stairs. The side walk along the street leads right there. This path is much more user friendly if you don’t mind taking a few more minutes. I hope you return to the property for additional Sierra Nevada getaways.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a wonderful hotel that has lots to offer a guest, whether it's for one night or a week long stay. We stayed only 1 night. Greeted with champagne upon check-in at the front desk. Beautifully appointed rooms; very spacious with full kitchen & fireplace. Walking distance to ski lift. Beautiful outdoor swimming pool and lounging area. Close to shopping and additional dining. Smaller intimate hotel in a rustic wooded setting. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brucesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for choosing the Westin Monache; we all wish you could have stayed longer too! Thank you for staying with us on you last visit, and please don’t wait too long to come back!


Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Westin, we had an upgrade to a suite which had lots of space & was nicely furnished. Location is great for walking to the Village & they ran a shuttle to Main Lodge for skiing - unfortunately for us we went a bit late in the season so their Gondola wasn't running. Staff were very helpful & we really enjoyed the heated Jacuzzi & Pool!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ataylor03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for Choosing the Westin Monache. Mammoth is such a wonderful destination for skiing, hiking, biking and fishing. The Canyon gondola is usually closed by mid-April. It feeds Canyon Lodge and they close that once the snow pack gets too low. We all look forward to seeing again real soon!


Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I checked in in late April and got upgraded to a one bedroom suite. Location is perfect - it's closer to the mountain side and right next to the Lodge so it's very convenient. Vons, restaurants, and downtown is just 2-3 miles nearby so you get easy access to downtown areas but at the same time you got the quiet life near the mountain area.

Bottom line is if I ever go back to the area, I will stay at this hotel again.

Only thing is the complimentary breakfast is a bit too light.

Room Tip: definitely the room with kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NilesHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you NIlesho, I look forward to your next visit. Thank you for choosing the Westin Monache and for detailing many of the finer points. Our goal is to ensure you enjoy yourself while on-property through offerings that enhance your overall well-being. We all look forward to your return!

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is excellent in trying to accomodate our needs. Clean place, friendly staff, Great pools and very importantly dog friendly. Great location with the village just across the street. And they have a gondola that brings you up to the Mammoth lake ski.

The down side is room is a bit small. They also lack a spa, so the girls have to go across the street to the village to do that. The fitness center is just average.

The very poor experience is the staff at the Mammoth ski resorts rental. Highly not recommending them if you have other alternatives like Tahoe, Vail, Aspen, Wolf Creek, Durango.

Room Tip: The higher floors are queiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DG0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thank you for choosing the Westin for your hospitality needs while in Mammoth Lakes. I really appreciate you recognizing the staff. They are all very passionate about this property and want to ensure you have a wonderful Westin branded experience. I am sorry you had such a bad experience with the mountain; I usually hear complimentary remarks about their service. We all thank you for your recent stay and hope it's too long before you return.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for Easter the hotel room was fabulous, modern & spacious, pool was great and the location was superb. My only complaint is that the wireless internet was really poor, connection dropped all the time ( on 4 different devices so not a hardware problem) and the speed was terrible. We moved on the Venetian in Vegas and the speed was at least 10x there so it's obviously not a problem with big hotels.

The Westin is a great hotel though and that was a minor gripe. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Burtonvapor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks you for taking the time to provide this feedback. I really appreciate the very nice review and I apologize for your internet experience. Internet was actually out #1 problem until November 2013. We had a new system installed with 200 megs and the complaints stopped. I don’t understand why your connection was not responding but I sympathetic; we all rely so heavily on devices. I really like the “Highly Recommend” statement. I hope you have plans to return in the near future.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
864 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,500 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £168 - £795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing