We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Village Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhof Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Haus Motel(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Bear Condos(Mammoth Lakes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveller rating
646
360
114
59
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
360
114
59
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite barkwhitebark restaurantself parkingheavenly bedone bedroom suiteglass of champagnestarbucks coffeeresort feemini kitchenice makerstove tophotel is beautifulkids clubgas fireplaceshuttle serviceflights of stairspull out sofa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
604 - 609 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

All was great, especially liked the food from the Whitebark (room service). Their salmon dishes are excellent. Taco Tuesday can slow them down a bit but just give them 15 minutes extra. & all will be fine.

They do charge $25 daily resort fee but this covers unlimited Internet connections as well as self parking in their garage (it was like coming home each day).

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for the very thorough review. I am happy to read you had such a pleasant stay. Taco Tuesday is my favorite night! We look forward to your return!

Be Well!
Patrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We just returned from 4 nights at the Westin. We were bringing our dog and wanted to be in a location that allowed us to park our car and leave it - and that's just what we did. Our room on the 4th floor was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We had chosen to be "green" - no housekeeping service for the 2 nights in between and were provided with extra coffee and shampoo so that we would not need anything. Each day we picked a different location to take the dog out on hikes and all we needed to do was to walk down the steps. Between the trolley and buses that stopped in front of the hotel we could get anywhere. (please note that dogs must wear a simple muzzle on the City transit system, but there was no weight/size restriction). For dog lovers this is an excellent place to stay.

It was so nice to come back to such a clean, well maintained facility after hiking all day.
We also took advantage of the hotel's happy hour in the bar on several nights and actually ate in the bar one night. It was a very nice dinner. When we wanted to dine out, again it was a short walk to a good selection of alternatives, and several allowed dogs on site.
This was our first stay at this Westin and a great way to cool off from the Vegas heat. We plan on returning!

Room Tip: We were on the pool side and the view of the trees and mountains were lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 978lindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

978lindas, thank you for your very nice review. It would seem you were able to enjoy all Mammoth Lakes has to offer. I am happy to read you intent on returning. We all anxiously await your arrival.

Be Well!
Patrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We brought our pet, and of all the hotels we stayed in the 7 weeks we traveled 10,000 miles he felt right at home when we got to our suite. The room had a fireplace that gave a comfy feel to the room. There was a small kitchen that suited our needs just fine. They have 2 Jacuzzi's and they are kept up well. the hotel is just short walk to this little shopping village where we found some really good tasting corn fritters. The staff was very pleasant. The suite itself was nice size, clean, and up to date. Cant say enough good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: The king size suites are fairly priced and will give you a nice view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for your choosing the Westin Monache for your Mammoth hospitality needs. I am happy to read your dog felt right at home. Mammoth is a great destination for dogs and their owners. We all look forward to your return.

Be Well!
Patrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We usually stay at the Village and were a bit intimidated by the stairs in front of the Westin, but decided to try it. The accommodations were very comparable and I found the pool and hot tubs to be easier to access. In the morning they offer a shuttle to the bottom, but we ended up just walking down the steps- it was not as bad as it looks. We kept our equipment in the storage (the same level as you board the Gondola) overnight even though the Westin offers to store it. Much easier to deal with. Was not very impressed of the restaurant, but this is another review. Next time would just walk over to the Village for more choices. The staff was very friendly. Would not recommend if you are allergic to animals- there were a lot of dogs in the hotel.

Room Tip: if you want to be close to the pool, stay on the second floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank freemaee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for choosing the Westin Monache. I appreciate the very nice score and the kind words. I apologize for any issue you may have encountered with the Whitebark. We usually receive very nice comments concerning our restaurant. I just hired a new outlet manager so please come by the next time you are staying on property. I believe any issue would have been a onetime occurrence. Our goal is for you to leave feeling better than when you arrived. I agree the stairs look worse than they are, but it is nice you knew about the shuttle option. We all look forward to your return!

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Usually we stay off Main Street but tried the Westin to be close to the Village. I will say that the beds were extremely comfortable. And the people are really nice. Better than any Travelodge or Roadway Inn on Main. However I realize more and more as we travel and don't spend time in the room beyond sleeping what a waste it is to stay at some of these places that charge 4 different taxes (Occupancy Tax, Civic Fee, Tourism Assessment, Occupancy Tax-RSF) and a Resort Fee of $25 dollars a day when we do not use ANYTHING that comes with the resort fee.(Given we are there to be outdoors we don't use the pool, spa, business center, shuttle, not even the internet since we like to be off the grid on vacation). I wish there was a way that most places could make this optional, especially if you don't use anything. Needless to say you spend over $100 for two nights on a bunch of taxes and resort fees just to sleep.

Our fire place didn't work, which wasn't a huge deal because it was summer, but it still was chilly at night and would have been nice. Not a deal breaker, but we told the front desk when we checked in later that night and it was never fixed during our entire stay. Again not a deal breaker, but things like this you would think wouldn't happen for the price you are paying.

My last complaint is probably not going to appease the dog lovers out there. But this being a pet friendly hotel. There really is nothing worse than waking up to barking dogs. Again, we were up and out fairly early to enjoy all the Mammoth has to offer outdoors. But yapping dogs is arguably worse than a crying baby right next door when they stat about an hour before your alarm. So if you ever come here, make sure you ask if the people around you have requested a "heavenly pet bed" if they have, ask for a different room because it's miserable.

Long and Short, beds are good, location is good, staff was nice. But really over-rated for the price, taxes, and fees for what you are actually getting.

Room Tip: Get a High Floor, ASK if you can not be close to ANYONE that has a "Pet-Bed" request for their room. Unless you like barking dogs to wake you up.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

SarahT I am sorry to read you had a few difficulties; our intention is for your overall wellness to be renewed upon departure. I believe it is a big deal for your fire place not to work or for you to be given a reason if one is available. We did have a weekend where the system needed to be turned off because of a malfunction. If this was the timeframe you were on property this information should have been communicated to you. Otherwise, we have a very clear procedure for repairing defects brought to our attention. I truly apologize we were not able to satisfy your this request; a working fireplace absolutely adds to the experience. We are a doge friendly hotel, but we have strict rules on animals causing others to be disturbed. I am not sure if you called, and I again apologize you even needed to, but usually we can get the situation handled in a timely manner. It reads as if you are true outdoors people. Mammoth Lakes, CA is really a great place to enjoy all the outdoors has to offer. I am sorry your experience here wasn’t better, but I do thank you for your business and I hope we get the opportunity to show you a real Westin Branded Experience in the future.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews