We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I don't know the Westin Hotel Group at all though I recognized the Starwood group.
American relatives suggested we stop here on our way to Death Valley & Las Vegas.
It was so well worth it - lovely hotel in a picturesque setting not known on the European Tourist Trail.
Basically it's a Ski Resort out of season but so many other outdoor things to do in the Summer season if you wish.
For us it was a place to rest for the night and perfect - our room was of the highest quality in all areas including a kitchenette complete with Microwave/Miele Stovetop/Crockery etc/Fridge - well all you could possibly need. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool.
We chose a superior room with a den. This provided private Accomodation for a couple. Then the two teenagers required separate beds. The den had a double bed and the lounge a double sofa bed. We were a party of four.
I swam laps early morning in the large pool - perfect for a 'proper' swim. The Gym looked good too but no time to check it out.
I think the Hotel is dog friendly as I bumped into at least 3 dogs which not being a dog owner doesn't bother me as long as the fogs are trained!!
Shops/food outlets/Ralph Lauren outlet nearby - there is a complimentary shuttle service to them or nearby small Airports serving Yosemite.
Happy hour drinks & food also very good/reasonable.
We paid around 220$ for the night - probably double in the skiing season.
Loved it!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good - as per most other Hotels. Bathroom products seemed to suggest chosen with the environment or herbs in mind. Read the Hotel blurb if you wish to on this subject. We prefer to switch off lights when we go out, switch off a/c when we can etc. individuals need to be responsible too!!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSHUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write such a nice review. I hope you enjoyed Las Vegas and Death Valley. We are dog friendly, and Mammoth is a very dog friendly area. I hope this wasn't a 1 time stay, we all look forward to your next stay with us.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    332
    106
    54
    39
See reviews for
510
428
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a six hours drive to this hotel from Santa Barbara. We went straight to the restaurant after we checked in. Hostess is very cheerful and attentive. Food are good. This hotel is wonderful. Rooms are clean with great view. If you travel with family, I highly recommended you to book the two bedrooms suite, it comes with two separated bedrooms and a huge living room with sofa bed.
There's also a free trolley to go around the lakes nearby the hotel. (trip takes about 45 mins)
I wish I could stay longer, this is such a nice place to relax and recharge

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cactus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for writing this very nice review. Our goal at Westin is to ensure you leave feeling better than when you arrived. The fact you felt "relaxed and recharged" is really wonderful to read. We wished you had time to stay long too! This just means you have to come back and visit us soon!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

All was great, especially liked the food from the Whitebark (room service). Their salmon dishes are excellent. Taco Tuesday can slow them down a bit but just give them 15 minutes extra. & all will be fine.

They do charge $25 daily resort fee but this covers unlimited Internet connections as well as self parking in their garage (it was like coming home each day).

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for the very thorough review. I am happy to read you had such a pleasant stay. Taco Tuesday is my favorite night! We look forward to your return!

Be Well!
Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We just returned from 4 nights at the Westin. We were bringing our dog and wanted to be in a location that allowed us to park our car and leave it - and that's just what we did. Our room on the 4th floor was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We had chosen to be "green" - no housekeeping service for the 2 nights in between and were provided with extra coffee and shampoo so that we would not need anything. Each day we picked a different location to take the dog out on hikes and all we needed to do was to walk down the steps. Between the trolley and buses that stopped in front of the hotel we could get anywhere. (please note that dogs must wear a simple muzzle on the City transit system, but there was no weight/size restriction). For dog lovers this is an excellent place to stay.

It was so nice to come back to such a clean, well maintained facility after hiking all day.
We also took advantage of the hotel's happy hour in the bar on several nights and actually ate in the bar one night. It was a very nice dinner. When we wanted to dine out, again it was a short walk to a good selection of alternatives, and several allowed dogs on site.
This was our first stay at this Westin and a great way to cool off from the Vegas heat. We plan on returning!

Room Tip: We were on the pool side and the view of the trees and mountains were lovely.
See more room tips
Green Features: We chose the "green" alternative and didn't feel any hardship for doing so. We also greatly appreciate the hotel's stance on being completely non-smoking.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 978lindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
978lindas, thank you for your very nice review. It would seem you were able to enjoy all Mammoth Lakes has to offer. I am happy to read you intent on returning. We all anxiously await your arrival.

Be Well!
Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We brought our pet, and of all the hotels we stayed in the 7 weeks we traveled 10,000 miles he felt right at home when we got to our suite. The room had a fireplace that gave a comfy feel to the room. There was a small kitchen that suited our needs just fine. They have 2 Jacuzzi's and they are kept up well. the hotel is just short walk to this little shopping village where we found some really good tasting corn fritters. The staff was very pleasant. The suite itself was nice size, clean, and up to date. Cant say enough good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: The king size suites are fairly priced and will give you a nice view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very conscientious and if you choose to not have them change the linens they give you a $5 credit each day.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your choosing the Westin Monache for your Mammoth hospitality needs. I am happy to read your dog felt right at home. Mammoth is a great destination for dogs and their owners. We all look forward to your return.

Be Well!
Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills,CA
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We usually stay at the Village and were a bit intimidated by the stairs in front of the Westin, but decided to try it. The accommodations were very comparable and I found the pool and hot tubs to be easier to access. In the morning they offer a shuttle to the bottom, but we ended up just walking down the steps- it was not as bad as it looks. We kept our equipment in the storage (the same level as you board the Gondola) overnight even though the Westin offers to store it. Much easier to deal with. Was not very impressed of the restaurant, but this is another review. Next time would just walk over to the Village for more choices. The staff was very friendly. Would not recommend if you are allergic to animals- there were a lot of dogs in the hotel.

Room Tip: if you want to be close to the pool, stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freemaee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin Monache. I appreciate the very nice score and the kind words. I apologize for any issue you may have encountered with the Whitebark. We usually receive very nice comments concerning our restaurant. I just hired a new outlet manager so please come by the next time you are staying on property. I believe any issue would have been a onetime occurrence. Our goal is for you to leave feeling better than when you arrived. I agree the stairs look worse than they are, but it is nice you knew about the shuttle option. We all look forward to your return!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Usually we stay off Main Street but tried the Westin to be close to the Village. I will say that the beds were extremely comfortable. And the people are really nice. Better than any Travelodge or Roadway Inn on Main. However I realize more and more as we travel and don't spend time in the room beyond sleeping what a waste it is to stay at some of these places that charge 4 different taxes (Occupancy Tax, Civic Fee, Tourism Assessment, Occupancy Tax-RSF) and a Resort Fee of $25 dollars a day when we do not use ANYTHING that comes with the resort fee.(Given we are there to be outdoors we don't use the pool, spa, business center, shuttle, not even the internet since we like to be off the grid on vacation). I wish there was a way that most places could make this optional, especially if you don't use anything. Needless to say you spend over $100 for two nights on a bunch of taxes and resort fees just to sleep.

Our fire place didn't work, which wasn't a huge deal because it was summer, but it still was chilly at night and would have been nice. Not a deal breaker, but we told the front desk when we checked in later that night and it was never fixed during our entire stay. Again not a deal breaker, but things like this you would think wouldn't happen for the price you are paying.

My last complaint is probably not going to appease the dog lovers out there. But this being a pet friendly hotel. There really is nothing worse than waking up to barking dogs. Again, we were up and out fairly early to enjoy all the Mammoth has to offer outdoors. But yapping dogs is arguably worse than a crying baby right next door when they stat about an hour before your alarm. So if you ever come here, make sure you ask if the people around you have requested a "heavenly pet bed" if they have, ask for a different room because it's miserable.

Long and Short, beds are good, location is good, staff was nice. But really over-rated for the price, taxes, and fees for what you are actually getting.

Room Tip: Get a High Floor, ASK if you can not be close to ANYONE that has a "Pet-Bed" request for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
SarahT I am sorry to read you had a few difficulties; our intention is for your overall wellness to be renewed upon departure. I believe it is a big deal for your fire place not to work or for you to be given a reason if one is available. We did have a weekend where the system needed to be turned off because of a malfunction. If this was the timeframe you were on property this information should have been communicated to you. Otherwise, we have a very clear procedure for repairing defects brought to our attention. I truly apologize we were not able to satisfy your this request; a working fireplace absolutely adds to the experience. We are a doge friendly hotel, but we have strict rules on animals causing others to be disturbed. I am not sure if you called, and I again apologize you even needed to, but usually we can get the situation handled in a timely manner. It reads as if you are true outdoors people. Mammoth Lakes, CA is really a great place to enjoy all the outdoors has to offer. I am sorry your experience here wasn’t better, but I do thank you for your business and I hope we get the opportunity to show you a real Westin Branded Experience in the future.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
821 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing