We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel In Mammoth Lakes, CA.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous hotel In Mammoth Lakes, CA.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

It is a beautiful hotel in a great location.

Everyone in this hotel was extremely helpful especially Barbara M. (Front desk mgr). Our requests were answered quickly and with a gracious smile.

Management must run a "tight (friendly) ship."

The facilities are great, clean and very comfortable (naturally, it is an SPG bed). The room had a kitchenette, contemporary lighting, updated modern bathroom and a gas fireplace.

Everything in this resort is luxurious and the view is magnificent.

The town provides busing with bicycle carrying trailers.

I highly recommend staying at the Westin resort in Mammoth Lakes, CA., even when visiting Yosemite National Park.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cactusmanbati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 21 November 2014
Thank you for your recommendation and your nice comment concerning Barbara. She is a very dedicated employee. We all enjoy interacting with our guest, but Barbara is especially good at it. Please come and see us again!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    321
    101
    53
    35
See reviews for
492
420
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bardonia, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is lovely; the view from our room was spectacular.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Barbara M. at the front desk bent over backwards to meet our needs.
Just like other SPG hotels, the bed was comfortable and luxurious as was the room and bathroom.
We highly recommend this resort to anyone visiting Mammoth Lakes, CA.

From "The book lady"

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BookLady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin Monache. Also, thank you for mentioning the staff. They are very dedicated to this property and the area. They all work very hard to ensure you have a true Westin Branded experience. Barbara and all of the Front Desk attendants enjoy interacting with our guests, while ensuring your needs are met. “Book Lady” we all look forward to your next stay.

Be Well!
Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Upon arriving, I was hassled by the front desk staff member who wouldn't check me in because the reservation was under my married name but the credit card and Id was my maiden name. This has never been an issue at any other Westin property or hotel that I have stayed at. Finally he consulted another staff member and she gladly checked me in. Service was great and attentive on Saturday but went downhill from there. On Sunday and Monday, when I dialed the Westin Express number from the room it rang several times and nobody picked up. One time I was also put on hold for over 10 minutes and had to call again. I even was dropped off by a shuttle to the nearby Village on Sunday night and was told I could call to be picked up. I called 3 times before someone finally picked up the phone. It seemed like they were fully staffed on Saturday but had minimal staffing once the weekend guests checked out on Sunday morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMUGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
My apologies for the lack of service you experienced. The security issue you encountered is a Westin Brand Standard; we are not allowed to check-in any individual (same name) not on the reservation. However, there are things they could have done to help you while making the experience less frustrating. In addition, I have spoken to my Front Office Manager to research your telecommunication issue. Our Service Express department is the key guest communication department; we will make the proper adjustments.

My Apologies,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Our room had a fireplace, window lounge area ( large enough for our child to spread out on ) and a pull out sleeper sofa. We had one TV and a well stocked kitchenette. We chose the breakfast downstairs. We should have asked for the points instead and tried the crepe place in the building across outside called side door cafe. The "free" breakfast is juice/ coffee/tea/milk/hot chocolate for 3.50 each, and a plate with 3 small danish pastries OR toast, cold cereal in a plastic peel off container OR a small bowl of granola mix (milk / yogurt) priced at 15.00 each plate. The receipt details the costs and it's free with the coupon given during check in. The crepe place would have been more interesting. Our kids enjoyed the pool which thankfully had pool float noodles, boards, loungers, tables and umbrellas. The 2 large hot tubs were great during the cooler evenings. We liked the included robes and water bottles. The exercise room had a cold water bubbler, refridgerated towels, 2 TVs and each treadmill had it's own TV. Clean tranquil place with beautiful views and short walking distance to the village for snacks, starbucks, and restaurant / bars.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank for taking the time to provide this very detailed review. I am happy to read you all enjoyed your stay. The staff and I anxiously await your return.

Be Well,
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Staff friendly, one-room suite nice, but needed some refreshing. When we arrived our original room location was across the hall from the pool and the fitness center. When making our reservations several weeks earlier, the room was advertised with a mountain view. I had also requested a quiet location. We were put in a room on the fourth floor over the driveway, so not likely an improvement from the one across from the fitness center.

Cleanliness was another story. We had to request some basic amenities such as bottled water and shampoo. Stove top had not been cleaned from the prior occupant. It was unclear when the bed linens had last been cleaned.

Pet friendly hotel--in fact it almost looked like more dogs were staying at the hotel than guests. So, if you have allergies this would not be the location for you.

Guest beware--almost $64.00 per night for resort fees and other miscellaneous taxes!!

A side note: if you want a quiet location, check out the two tables on the patio outside the bar. Happy hour is still pricey, but it was nice to sit away from the noise and chaos of the restaurant.

We travel extensively, so this property overall was disappointing.

Room Tip: Request room on higher floor, less noise if you face away from village and over driveway in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I apologize for this experience. I am not sure what time you arrived or why the room scenario was not proper. We have no rooms across the hall from our Westin Fitness Studio. I assume you mean down the hall. We do take all request into consideration, but without knowing what time you checked in, I would assume we provide you a room that was vacant and ready. We are very busy over the summer so our options become limited. Our Resort Fee is $25 a night, It includes Wifi, valet parking, phone usage, and unlimited shuttle service to most destination throughout town. Taxes are based on your rate so not most stays will not reach a $64 charge. The Westin brand is Pet friendly and the town of Mammoth is extremely dog friendly; our summers do provide a hotel very welcoming to dogs.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Never having been to Mammoth, the Westin surprised us. A beautiful property. Rooms are very nice and HUGE, and of course very clean. Nicely appointed, too. Our room had a fireplace, nice big sofa, and a fantastic bathroom. Nice touch with the rain shower/handheld shower attachments. Location is right in the middle of Mammoth - just a short drive to Devil's Postpile.

We ate dinner in the Whitebark lounge - it was happy hour all night (Wednesday night), so we feasted on their appetizers at half price. Good truffle fries! Good salad! After getting them raw at first, good Kobe Sliders! And 22 ounce local draft beer at $5? WOW! Server Kenny was great. Always attentive and helpful.

$25 resort fee includes internet WiFi and self parking. That's a bit steep, but OK.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howie9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for this very nice review. I am happy the town and the property were able to positively surprise you. Kenny at the Whitebark is one of our best. Thank you for the business and we look forward to your next stay.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I don't know the Westin Hotel Group at all though I recognized the Starwood group.
American relatives suggested we stop here on our way to Death Valley & Las Vegas.
It was so well worth it - lovely hotel in a picturesque setting not known on the European Tourist Trail.
Basically it's a Ski Resort out of season but so many other outdoor things to do in the Summer season if you wish.
For us it was a place to rest for the night and perfect - our room was of the highest quality in all areas including a kitchenette complete with Microwave/Miele Stovetop/Crockery etc/Fridge - well all you could possibly need. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the pool.
We chose a superior room with a den. This provided private Accomodation for a couple. Then the two teenagers required separate beds. The den had a double bed and the lounge a double sofa bed. We were a party of four.
I swam laps early morning in the large pool - perfect for a 'proper' swim. The Gym looked good too but no time to check it out.
I think the Hotel is dog friendly as I bumped into at least 3 dogs which not being a dog owner doesn't bother me as long as the fogs are trained!!
Shops/food outlets/Ralph Lauren outlet nearby - there is a complimentary shuttle service to them or nearby small Airports serving Yosemite.
Happy hour drinks & food also very good/reasonable.
We paid around 220$ for the night - probably double in the skiing season.
Loved it!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good - as per most other Hotels. Bathroom products seemed to suggest chosen with the environment or herbs in mind. Read the Hotel blurb if you wish to on this subject. We prefer to switch off lights when we go out, switch off a/c when we can etc. individuals need to be responsible too!!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSHUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write such a nice review. I hope you enjoyed Las Vegas and Death Valley. We are dog friendly, and Mammoth is a very dog friendly area. I hope this wasn't a 1 time stay, we all look forward to your next stay with us.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
797 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,352 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing