We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Mammoth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 September 2009

Our family of 2 adults, 2 teens and 1 dog stayed in a 2 bedroom unit at the Westin Monache over Labor Day Weekend. The resort is a condo hotel and the 2 bedroom unit was spacious, very comfortable and furnished in a pleasant contemporary styling. There is a 3 level underground parking garage, which would be great during times when the snow and ice come outside.

The Westin Heavenly Beds were awesome and allowed for a great nights sleep. There was a king bed in each bedroom and a comfortable queen sofa bed in the living room. A total of 6 persons easily could sleep in the unit. The 2 bedrooms are at the end of each hallway and therefore are extremely quiet. We did not hear any neighbors during our entire stay. Plenty of closet space and 3 flat screen TVs throughout the unit. The 2 bedroom unit had a fully stocked kitchen from which we cooked breakfast each morning ... be aware that any smaller unit will only have a kitchenette.

Bathrooms are contemporary and very nicely maintained. The master bath had a separate glassed-in shower and soaking tub. The second bath had a tub/shower combination. The 2 bedroom units are the only rooms with 2 bathrooms and this comes in handy on busy mornings with a family of 4. Only suggestion is that more towel racks need to be installed in the bathrooms (one each is insufficient). But water pressure is great and the tub was large for relaxing.

The condo hotel is situated on a hillside overlooking the new Mammoth Village. The concept is supposed to be like Whistler Village in British Columbia, but it still has a long way to go. About half of the ground floor retail space was vacant due to the poor economy. In winter, the Village Gondola would be a convenient way to access the ski area without having to drive, but there is a long flight of stairs from the hotel down to the street level in order to access the Gondola building. Could be very exhausting as other posters have mentioned previously.

Check in was smooth and staff were quite friendly and welcoming. Staff could be a bit better informed about Mammoth Lake activities and amenities however. For example, the shuttle bus to the Devils Postpile could be caught just outside of the hotel in the Village. We were told we had to park up at the Main Lodge up the mountain and shuttle from there. Lost about an hour's time hassling parking because of that. Likewise, we were told that dogs had to be muzzled on the trail. No such policy we came to find out once we were on our hike to the Devils Postpile.

The Westin accepts pets and having our dog with us was one of the reasons we decided to stay here. Despite accepting dogs, the hotel carpets, rooms and common areas were maintained in an excellent condition. Those who are not dog lovers would do better staying somewhere else even though the rooms are extremely clean and in top condition. The Westin provided a doggy bed, water dish and bowl and floor mat. Plenty of woodsy areas out of doors to walk our dog. Plastic poop bags are available throughout the Village, so the dog friendly atmosphere of Mammoth obviously carries forward to the Westin.

The outdoor pool was too cool to swim in, but the two spas were comfortable to relax in. Also tried the gym one night, but thought it was too small and the one step machine and one elliptical machine were not functioning. There were 4 treadmills and a recumbent bike, along with a single stacked weight machine that had 3 stations around it (sort of a home gym set up that would be insufficient if the gym were busy). After that, decided to hike and bike for exercise in the great outdoors of the Sierras instead.

We did not dine in the restaurant as the entree prices were in the $18-$30 range. We had great dinners at Josh Slocums, Angels and Perry's Pizza instead. Outside of the Mammoth Village area, the town has not really changed much as far as we saw (after a 10 year absence). The Westin is just about the nicest hotel you will find in the area and I would highly recommend staying here if you can afford it and don't mind the pet friendliness of the resort. We are picky and would definitely stay here for the ski season.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasminedogLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

973 - 979 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2009

We had a one night stopover at the Westin on our way from Yosemite to Death Valley. The hotel is just 5 minutes from the highway so a good location for a stopover.

Mammoth Lakes is a typical wintersports village, fairly quiet in the summer.

The room was excellent - a bit small (we had a 1 bedroom room suite) - but large enough for us. If you are planning to stay here with kids you'll probably need the 2 bedroom suite. Everything looked new and the kitchen was excellent.

The restaurant looked very nice but the food was quite pricey and this being one of the rare opportunities where we had a kitchen during our holiday we decided to shop at the nearby Vons supermarket and cook ourselves.

The hotel has a nice swimming pool which we tried and enjoyed. Unfortunately we didn't have time to explore Mammoth Lakes further or hike in the surrounding mountains/nature.

A nice stay and would recommend - strategically located for a stopover between Yosemite and Death Valley.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

The Westin is a luxury hotel/condo which is beautifully maintained. Most rooms have a kitchen but we preferred to eat out - we are on vacation!!

The restaurant was good (we only ate breakfast there) but expensive. The service staff were not efficient, however, and there were not enough of them to properly do their jobs.

A word of caution when checking in: the rooms(actually condos) are automatically assigned to guests by a computer system. If the condo owner has put the specific unit into the rental pool, the units which have been rented the least, get assigned out first to guests. As a result, a guest might be assigned a very undesirable room (i.e., looking into a walkway instead of over the beautiful mountains, or over the entry way of the main building). So, I advise checking out the room first before accepting it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristyLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The location at the base of the mountain, walking distance to The Village at Mammoth is perfect. The rooms are spacious and have small kitchens, plasma TV's and amazing views. The pool and hot tub are set at the base of the mountain and have beautiful views.

Highly recommended. Oh, pet friendly too!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLRamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I am so glad we stayed at the Westin! The hotel is in a great location, very clean, new, nice rooms--it's the total package. You will not be disappointed. We stayed in the off-season for skiing and had a great time, without the crowds.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montiesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Though there were a couple things that didn't go well. First is the failure to refund a charge they said they would (just checked my CC, still hasn't show up 3 weeks later). The charges that they don't put on the online reservation are disconcerting. Be prepared to pay an additional amount at check out. Maybe I missed it during the online reservation, but if I did, it wasn't made obvious. They definitely didn't indicate an estimated subtotal with the taxes. The person I talked to about it couldn't explain what the "Fees" were for, the reservation only indicates taxes. I think there is some kind of strange pass the buck to the customer because it's a condo and resort and the city or county wants to get their cut.

The big shocker was the number of dogs. If you have allergies, ask them if they have a pet free floor. The elevator with tail wagging dog might affect you more than us.

The valet up front wouldn't point us to a baggage cart when asked directly for it... "so you DO want baggage service?" "no I just want the cart thank you"

Overall the facilities are very nice, nice room. Big entry/kitchen in the studio we stayed in with room for setting down extra stuff.

Pool didn't seem to have enough chairs for a busy weekend. But we didn't ask for more.

Oh and the restaurant was pretty good. They let my glass of wine sit on the bar for 20 minutes (we watched it from the table), but they did comp the glass at least.

The Best Western in town is an ex-Holiday Inn or Marriott building. We stayed there before change in ownership and liked that facility. If you're looking for a value, probably better off there. If looking for a nice place to stay, and don't mind the extra cost, Monache is worth being close to the mtn for the biking, etc. The views are pretty nice on the upper floors.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank munge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We decided to cut short our terrible stay in Yosemite and spend some time in the Mammoth Lakes area. The Westin was reviewed very well, so we decided to stay there for 2 nights. I booked a 2 bedroom suite on Expedia as the rate was cheaper. After a stunning, but tiring 5 hour drive through Yosemite, we arrived in the midst of luxury. The two bedroom suite had ample room with a fully stacked kitchen. Each room had a flat screen television. We had a nice view from the balcony, however it was mostly of the village shops. Room service was expensive and the food was ordinary.
My kids loved the outdoor pool, however this was a bit too cold for me. The staff were very nice and helpful. Parking was very easy in the hotel basement. My cell phone did not have any reception, so I was relieved that phone calls from the hotel were free. Driving to the various sites (Gondola, Mono Lake etc) was easy.
Overall we had a very relaxing experience. Of all the hotels we stayed in our 2 week stay in California, my children liked this the best.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aakm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
866 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £153 - £642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing