We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort. A little pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
1 review
“Nice Resort. A little pricey”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My husband, nine year old son, and I stayed at the Westin Monache in Mammoth over Labor Day weekend. The Monache is a very nice resort with all of the amenities and centrally located to the village. It even allows dogs; which is a plus. The hotel is very clean and staff were very helpful. Unfortunately on top of their already pricey rates they charge an additional $25/night for valet parking & other misc amneties. I found that to be a bit steep. We ended up using our vehicle quite a bit and parked it ourselves and the only amenity we used was the hot tub and pool. I don't feel that they should impose a charge for stuff that we are not going to use. But besides that additional fee it was a wonderful hotel. We've been going up to Mammoth for many years and I think next time I'll just rent a condo like we have done so in the past. It comes out to about the same price (maybe even a little cheaper for a condo) but at least we get more than one room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapphire333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    319
    94
    49
    29
See reviews for
479
410
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Great place, except the room was too hot. The only way we could cool the room down was to turn the air conditioning on, and then it was blowing in our face.
Doona's/bedding as you would expect at a Westin Hotel, really cozy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room and hotel very modern, even had its own fireplace. Got the impression that it was only a few years old.
The hotel is in the newer part of town and unfortunately we were only there for the one night.
We didn't eat at The Westin, as we wanted to try some of the nice restaurants in town for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We were greeted by very friendly staff upon our arrival. We were put in a top floor nicely appointed room. It seemed rather noisy (mechanical equipment, etc.) during the day, however upon retiring for the night, it became a torture chamber. The mechanical noise turned out to be the main exhaust fan for the building. To make it worse, it had a constant rattling sound kind of like dripping water on a metal gutter. The refrigerator was running constant and was also very noisy. The air conditioning was so noisy that we had to turn it off and sleep in a 76 degree room. In the morning, when told of these problems, staff was very apologetic and offered a free breakfast. This was nice of them, but a partial refund would have been better. Lesson learned: CHECK you room carefully before accepting.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abledavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

My husband and I were in the middle of a move and needed a place to stay for a few days with our two dogs. We decided to make a semi vacation out of it since we had been so stressed. After researching hotels in the Mammoth area who allowed pets, we found that it would cost us as much to stay at the Motel 8 with our two dogs (because of the extra pet fees) as it would to stay at the Westin. The staff was incredibly friendly. Gave us dog beds and bowls for our two boys and told us of some amazing hikes in the area that were pet friendly. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and can't wait until we move back to California.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Went up for the Labor Day weekend with our 110lb pooch and everyone could not have been more helpful. Although they had run out of the dog heavenly beds, the suite/room was great. Good size, fireplace, kitchenette, etc. Underground parking will be solid attraction on a return trip when the snow flies! Had room service the first night as we were reluctant to explore the dog friendly options at that time. The food was great. As usual the Westin chain does not disappoint!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCALcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
244 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We had a fabulous time.
We got a phenomenal rate by calling Westin directly.
They offered to get the concierge to call us prior to the trip to book activities and he was extremely helpful and knowledgeable, with absolutely first class recommendations.
He also mentioned that it is a very dog-friendly hotel which is nice to know for future reference.
We asked for a quiet room and got one which overlooked the mountain. We didn't get awoken at night the entire time. I am glad we didn't get a room overlooking the pool and facing the other wing, or else we would have been forced to close the blinds and shut out the view.
Our room had a wonderful bay window with a seat cushion so you could lay and read books in the sunlight or just snooze.
As I skier, I would be concerned about having to negotiate all the steps to the gondola wearing ski boots but I was informed that they run the shuttle bus the short distance back-and-forth which would be perfect.
As has been well documented elsewhere, the rooms are very well kitted out with pots and pans, a variety of kitchen tools and appliances, including a dishwasher, blender and toaster. (Even our room which was the smallest floorplan).
When we arrived, the temperature plunged and they arranged for the pilot to be lit in the gas fireplace so we could have a fire.
We made a trip to Vons in the town center and stocked the fridge so we could prepare our own breakfasts each morning. If we had been better organized, we would probably have brought tea and coffee from home!
The only thing I would liked to have seen was a steam room or sauna to help clear a head cold but all in all, we had a fabulous time and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 92075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at the Monache Westin this past Labor Day weekend and had a splendid experience. This hotel is impeccable. The accomodations were luxurious and a blessing to come "home" to after a long day of hiking and sight-seeing. The furnishings were updated, new and modern and of course everything was impeccably clean. The Westin does not disappoint. The King bed was more than comfortable, and the one bedroom suite set-up made us feel like were were in a fancy apartment rather than a hotel. It was great.

One of the best things was that they provided free valet service and the staff was extremely friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel. The rates were even more reasonable than expected if you go to mammoth during the summer, which is obviously not their peak ski season.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stickie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
787 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
1.4 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing