We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star for a cheap hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star for a cheap hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

The owner is very very nice. I drove from new iersey staying at hotels across the country and the friendliness of the staff is what inspired me to write a review for them. For the price it was a great hotel. I didn't expect a 1300 sq ft room in top condition , only idiots should expect that when paying $70 for a room. My only complaint would be the rigid stairs right in front of the lobby door....they weren't very friendly for my dogs paws and its a pet friendly hotel. Maybe they should lay carpet on half of them. However it is in a ski town so the stairs Are meant for boots and such. I was so happy to have stayed at a cheap hotel that finally provided soap and shampoo. They even had a hot tub and the front desk guy was nice enough to make sure the temperature of it was perfect for us! Teeny tiny breakfast provided in the morning too. It was very clean and spacious for a cheap hotel in such an expensive place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airuhka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    51
    69
    28
    49
See reviews for
44
91
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Very inexpensive but very run-down place to sleep between days on the slopes. Very clean, though blankets and curtains had holes. It's a place to sleep (though that's tough on the very hard beds). Had a jacuzzi, but did not look clean enough to get in, shed behind the pool area piled with junk and trash. Bus stop to slopes right out front and the staff is very friendly. All furniture and the place itself is ramshackled or broken. Hair dryer, bedside clock, both didn't work. Sinks are in the room with tub and toilet in the enclosed bath.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the parking lot or the back, overlooking an apartment complex. Backside rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAChuck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mammoth Lakes hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

I think this is a very basic hotels and has all the necessary items. There aren't very much to boast about. They have a very friendly staff and its in a convenient location close to the mountain. Great for last min reservations and it actually gets fully booked. Don't expect a printer to print anything or an office. Beds were old so not extremely comfy. I guess I would return if I wanted to save money and booked last min. No fitness center, no restaurant.. just hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

For $70 a night on the weekend, this place is a great deal. It is within walking distance of the Village. The large outdoor hot tub is great. Beyond this, the hotel will meet nothing beyond your basic needs (which is fine if that is all you're looking for!). The front desk staff lacked customer service skills. The breakfast was OK (some pastries, cereal, oatmeal and coffee) but I was rather turned off by the gallon of milk that sat on the counter all morning. The room was very small, but served its purpose of a place to sleep and shower. So basically, if you just need a place to crash while you enjoy Mammoth, this place will do just fine, but don't set your expectations too high!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

I booked a room here knowing i was going to be in and out and just there to hit the slopes. The room was decent sized, but the bathroom was... well, what you'd expect.

The air/heat unit was loud, but if you didn't keep it on, the room got stuffy pretty quick. It was clean enough, but the bed wasn't the most comfortable. BUT - the room just worked. It did it's job.

Why 2*? the front desk doesn't stay open late to check you in, but they'll leave a key out for you - which is a plus... but they will charge you as a no-show for the first night, which doesn't help those of us who collect the points. Probably not a big deal to most, but it was odd when I tried to contact customer service about it.

I'd stay again if i needed a place to stay - but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Third year of skiing and staying at this place. If you want an awesome place with the basics, this is that hotel. If you want bells and whistles, this is not your 'cup of tea'! Where can you be walking distance from The Village nightlife and Gondola? Where can you be equidistant to all of Mammoth Lakes on Main Street? Where else can you have a fantastic jacuzzi Apres Ski time every nite in the great outdoors? All this is here. Kenny always treats us right and makes it happen within reason. I have read the other reviews that are not as friendly and wonder what attitude was brought along when staying at Econlodge? Staying here for the basics gives us the opportunity to have more fun at other attractions and buy more stuff in town to spread out the wealth. You choose what is more important - I say 20k feet of vertical -- bah zing!

Room Tip: If you like the jacuzzi, get a room close on the ground floor or you freeze on your return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddanthony1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

I want to preface my review by saying we have stayed here many years during our ski vacations, multiple a year, without incident. I was suprise to come back to my hotel room after being out all day to find the house keeper had cleaned my room even thoug I had placed the do not disturb sign on my door. We then proceded to find items moved around and missing. My son's friend had put his personal articles, including wallet with money, and his ipod and some loose change on the side of the bed farthest from the door. When we returned we could not find any of the items. I asked the housekeeper, who happened to be cleaning the next room. She did not speak English well so I went to get the owners wife. We found the ipod on the pillow on the bed closest to the door, the wallet with money out of it, stuffed into my son's wallet on the table. Missing was 44 of 96 dollars. We presented this to the owners wife who informed us the cleaning lady was her mother. I stated I was not accusing the cleaning lady, but mearly informing her of the theft. I had also asked her why she had entered the room even though I had posted the do not disturb sign. She said it was not on the door, when in fact it was found hanging on the exact hook I had removed it from in the morning. Only one person would know where to replace it and only an employee would be such a person. She then said she would reemburse me the money since it happened on their property. We ended up staying the final night and in the am, I went to check out and the owner, who was her husband, refused to reemburse me the money. He said he had not charged me the pet fee, he would only reemburse half. I said I had booked the room with the pet clearly stated at time of booking. He had seen us with the pet at check in as well. I reminded him we are repeat customers and would not be returning if this could not be settled. He refused to reemburse me dispite me telling him I would have to report it as theft to the police and to Choice Hotels. He still refused. I will not be staying there again. It wasn't a great place to stay in the first place, pretty run down. Cold air comes in from beneathe the door, about an inch gap, always had to put a blanket to prevent the cold geting in. But the convenience to the ski area was good and they had not given me hastle about my pet prior to this. Beware. Too bad. Plenty of other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resor...
#25 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
0.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
#12 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
Address: 3626 Main St. (SR 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Wildwood Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Econolodge Mammoth Lakes
Econo Lodge Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing