We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay a few more bucks and get a clean room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Wish I'd looked at the reviews on this site first. The pool is drained, the spa is cold. They wouldn't clean the room. The first day they put the do not disturb sign on the room and blamed us. The next day we specifically asked for the room to be cleaned and they didn't. We left the next day. When we asked the front desk for information about the area they couldn't answer. They directed me to a poster for a pancake breakfast that was 2 weeks old. Then he was rude to another guest. When the guest walked out on him and he looked at us and said, "what's wrong with that joker?" The positives are it's the cheapest place in town (for very good reasons) and the breakfast is adequate. The room had 2 double beds and a double cot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siroli_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

I booked this place because it is one of the few places in Mammoth that take dogs. I wouldn't want my dog to stay here. It is VERY dated. The exterior is in need of some big time help. The pool is drained and closed. There is a spa but based on the overall property we were afraid to even get in. In fairness the room, although very dated, was clean but OMG somebody please help these folks into the 21st century. They advertise breakfast but when we went to the office for breakfast this morning the only had some remnants of cereals and some donuts that came from the day old bakery. PATHETIC! We opted for McDonald's down the street. The hair dryer was missing from the room as well. The sheets are thread bare and the mattress has a musty smell. There are lots of options in Mammoth so skip this place.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pat.kight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed there, we won't ever go there again, run down, nasty, tweakers upstairs, never went to sleep, they just walked around all night, place was in bad shape! The price was to high for the hotel, it should of been cheaper than $100 bucks, pool was empty, trash behind pool was gross!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Surfshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This place was terribly run down. Okay if you're not particular and looking for the best price in town. We were overcharged and told that the "regular" clerk was on vacation, so couldn't help us. Breakfast was tang, milk, tea or coffee. A couple of cereals, packaged oatmeal (no microwave, just hot water), powdered sugar doughnuts or chocolate chip cookies. Was quiet, but off season. Parking was very tight and not a lot of spaces. There was a microwave, refrigerator and hair dryer in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladyinkona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I chose this place because the pictures looked good and it seemed like a step up from where I usually stay. We got a call from the manager asking where we were. She was calling to tell us she was going to leave the room key on the outside of the door because she was going to go to bed. It's very typical for the motels and condos to do this in Mammoth Lakes, especially since most people arrive between 9pm and 2am.

Upon arrival, we found a BIG issue. Parking. There was no place to park. We ended parking on the street in the back due to lack of spots. The parking lot was also extremely tight, very difficult to maneuver in even with just a few cars.

When we got to the room, we had a hard time figuring out how to get the room open since the key is a put it close type rather than a put it in and pull out. This is a very neat idea, especially since the other hotels have an issue with the put in and pull out type freezing over and getting stuck because of ice getting stuck inside.

The inside of the room was spacious. The TV had DirectTV with plenty of channels to choose from. There was a fridge and microwave. Then comes the bad stuff. We found the walls were cracked, the chairs were missing support to keep your butt from sinking below the supports. When they painted the room, they were rather sloppy. They didn't even bother to take the picture frames off the wall because you could see paint on all sides of the frame. There was also paint on the plug of the coffee maker, which I thought was interesting.

The shower had plenty of hot water, but the fan did close to nothing to help evacuate the steam. When the room got all steamy, we noticed that someone had drawn a dick on the window. (Means they don't clean the window, in case the paint and dirt didn't give it away) The glass window was only single paned, providing a very cold breeze to be generated. The walls were very thin and since our room was right on the road, you could not only hear but also feel the cars' noises throughout the room. Upon more thorough inspection, we found that the supports holding up the roof on the outside of the building were definitely not up to code since pieces of the 4"x4" were notched out and it wasn't securely fastened

The continental breakfast could barely even be called a snack. There was hot coffee. for food they had cereal (which appeared to have been there a while), chocolate chip cookies (which weren't fresh), and donuts (which appeared to have been hostess ones from the grocery store). The WiFi didn't really work and quite frankly, I would just consider that the motel has no working WiFi.

Although the owner is very friendly, with all the other issues, this place was definitely over priced for it's value and I would choose to stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelN442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The owner is very very nice. I drove from new iersey staying at hotels across the country and the friendliness of the staff is what inspired me to write a review for them. For the price it was a great hotel. I didn't expect a 1300 sq ft room in top condition , only idiots should expect that when paying $70 for a room. My only complaint would be the rigid stairs right in front of the lobby door....they weren't very friendly for my dogs paws and its a pet friendly hotel. Maybe they should lay carpet on half of them. However it is in a ski town so the stairs Are meant for boots and such. I was so happy to have stayed at a cheap hotel that finally provided soap and shampoo. They even had a hot tub and the front desk guy was nice enough to make sure the temperature of it was perfect for us! Teeny tiny breakfast provided in the morning too. It was very clean and spacious for a cheap hotel in such an expensive place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Airuhka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Very inexpensive but very run-down place to sleep between days on the slopes. Very clean, though blankets and curtains had holes. It's a place to sleep (though that's tough on the very hard beds). Had a jacuzzi, but did not look clean enough to get in, shed behind the pool area piled with junk and trash. Bus stop to slopes right out front and the staff is very friendly. All furniture and the place itself is ramshackled or broken. Hair dryer, bedside clock, both didn't work. Sinks are in the room with tub and toilet in the enclosed bath.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the parking lot or the back, overlooking an apartment complex. Backside rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAChuck7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
457 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resor...
#24 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
#12 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
387 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn

Address: 3626 Main St., Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Econo Lodge Wildwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £45 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Wildwood Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Econolodge Mammoth Lakes
Econo Lodge Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing