We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a refund. Didn't get any sleep. TOO MUCH NOISE”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I should've listened to the reviews. I booked this hotel thinking, "How bad could it be?" after reading the reviews. Apparently, I didn't read the reviews closely enough to realize they do not have AC. But so many of the properties in Mammoth do NOT have AC (this includes some of the pricer resorts), that I thought it'd be okay. Also, the forecasted low was 49 degrees, so we figured we'd be fine.

OH NO. That room NEVER cooled down. We did have a screen on the window (many of the reviews say there is no screen, but we had one). It was hot and muggy in there, despite a 50 degree night.

Now that we have that covered, let's get down to the details -

The good:
-Rooms are tastefully decorated
-Covered underground parking
-Within easy walking distance to restaurants.

The bad:
- Tiny pillows. They are the size of those decorative pillows you'd put on your couch. You will have a stiff neck in the morning.

- The breakfast area is complete chaos. Waffle maker totally messy with gobs of batter strewn everywhere. Kids running around. Dirty tables and overflowing garbage cans. GROSS.

The ugly:
THE NOISE. OMG. First, we were placed in a room facing the street. A very BUSY street. I have stayed in hotels in MANHATTAN that were quieter than this. For a small resort town, that road is BUSY. Add in the fact that you MUST keep your window open to attempt to cool down the room, and it makes for a long, LOUD night.

Second, we were on the first floor. You will hear your upstairs neighbors EVERY MOVE. There is no insulation. Our LOVELY upstairs neighbors sounded like a heard of elephants ALL.NIGHT.LONG. We had to call the front desk about 6-7 times to complain! The noise never stopped.

Third, at midnight, a hotel employee decides to chain up a lawnmower to a trailer right below our room. CLANG CLANG CLANG for about another hour. I even yelled at him to stop and told him it was MIDNIGHT! Again, called the front desk and they didn't do squat about it.

Never AGAIN! NEVER! Do not book this hotel. You will not get any sleep.

Also, the lame excuse this hotel uses to respond to guests on TripAdvisor regarding not having AC - "It's not stated as an amenity." Nope. Sorry. It's 2014, not 1974. It's expected these days, just like having a color TV. GET SOME AC OR CLEARLY STATE THAT YOU DO NOT HAVE IT ON YOUR WEBSITE.

Room Tip: Top floor and do not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwlYaDoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

We apologize for the several inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. Your reviews are of great help to our hotel specially our breakfast service. This review lets us know what we need to improve. We are very sorry we disappointed you during your stay. Our hope is that next time you are in town you try us again and we hope that we exceed your expectations. We appreciate you taking that time to leave us a review. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed one night on our journey seeing California. Found staff to be friendly and courteous upon check in. Room was clean and surprisingly comfortable with standard room amenities. Rather good continental breakfast. No hassle checkout.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

It’s amazing hearing back from our guest how much they enjoyed our staff and their stay with us! The whole staff genuinely cares about the comfort and stay of our guests. We look forward to your return and stay with us again in Mammoth Lakes. And thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback on Tripadvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It's on Main Street so it's easy to find and easy to get around. The outlet mall and several restaurants are within easy walking distance. Refrigerator in room was nice as it had a separate freezer compartment with its own door. Comfortable room, clean, and now they have screens on windows. Breakfast was better than average for a hotel. Nice variety which is replenished but don't wait till last minute. Fresh cookies at the front desk when we arrived, yum.

Room Tip: A little noisy on the street side when windows were open but by the time you go to bed, it's fai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvURPets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear LuvURPets,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service, breakfast and our comfortable rooms. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Mammoth Lakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Too expensive for the quality offered, so far the worst quality inn we stayed at. We stayed at this hotel with 2 rooms at the end of July 2014, immediately we noticed the poor state of maintenance of the hotel, water seeping trough ceiling cracks in the parking garage, and in front of the main entrance, although it was dry and there was no snow thawing. The bed and bathroom were clean, but something big had been taken off the wall and there had not been any form of touching up since. The next morning the breakfast was messy, jam was presented in open dishes at the counter, there were no knives available so if you wanted to spread some butter on your toast you could choose between a spoon or a fork to do so.
Though the breakfast bufet table was a mess, the personnel was sitting in the room next to it chatting... Everywhere you can see a lot of wear and tear. It is obvious that this hotel's mangement has no feeling for quality and it would be a good thing if the Quality Inn Franchise organisation would send out inspectors every now and then, hotel like this give them a baf name. I would suggest to tear it down, rebuild it and find a better nanagement.

Room Tip: I would choose an other hotel if you want a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are constantly making improvements and upgrades to the property. We do apologize if the waffle toppings were mistaken by you as jam, since we have jam in single serve packages. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The recently remodeled rooms were nicely done, had comfortable beds, and were clean. As mentioned in multiple reviews, there is no air conditioning. I researched before I booked and found few hotels in the area have air conditioning, and certainly none in this price range. For the price, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raj C, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Thomas057,
All our staff here at Quality Inn appreciates all your kind words, its always nice to hear. We cannot agree more about the hotel and the air condition vs value as compared to other hotels in the area.
We are so glad we were able to accommodate you and hope to continue to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A lot of Tripadvisor comments about the lack of a/c, and they are right on. Even though the outside temp was cool and hotel-provided fan was great, the room still felt stuffy. The window had no screen, so we were hesitant to leave it open but eventually did and just left the curtains closed to hopefully keep the bugs out. This worked and the incoming cool air resulted in a comfortable night's sleep. If the hotel would just put screens on the windows, guests would be much happier. Aside from this, the hotel is great with one of the biggest, nicest hot tubs we have even seen and an excellent hot breakfast. The staff is very friendly and provides great hot cookies for an evening snack. Our room had a large counter with two sinks in the bathroom, which was especially nice. If you can get by without a/c, you'll enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya-B78, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Good Afternoon Dan A,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Quality Inn Mammoth Lakes.

We appreciate the feedback and want you to know it has not gone unheard.

We listen to our guests and put every effort into making our property better for everyone.

With that being said, I hope you continue to stay with us while in Mammoth and allow us to provide excellent service and of course, fresh hot cookies during your stay.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was the worse accommodation we had on our recent trip to the US.
The air-conditioning was not functioning in the rooms which led to a very poor night's sleep.
The breakfast service was very poor, with the staff not able to supply water hot enough to make a cup of tea.
Mammoth is great, but the hotel is far from great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya-B78, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Good Afternoon Sam M,

I am sorry to hear that your recent stay at Quality Inn did not meet your expectations. One of your primary complaint was due to the lack of air conditioning (a/c). We do not advertise that we have air conditioning so I apologize if this was an assumption or expectation that was not met.

With regards to the hot water, I apologize the temperature was not to your satisfaction. We strive to provide the best service and accommodations possible.

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve all aspects of our property.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.1 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
Rodeway Inn dba Wildwood Inn
#27 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 3537 Main St., Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £69 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn near Mammoth Mountain Ski Resort hotel in CaliforniaThe Quality Inn® near Mammoth Mountain Ski Resort hotel is conveniently located just four miles from Mammoth Mountain Ski Area, with nearby shuttle to and from the resort every 30 minutes during the ski season.This Mammoth Lakes, CA hotel is driving distance to area attractions, including:The Devils Postpile National MonumentMono LakeYosemite National ParkConvict LakeLookout Mountain LoopThe hotel is also close to Bodie State Historic Park, Mammoth Rock and the Hot Creek State Fish Hatchery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Quality Inn Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing