We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Ledyard, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting, friendly staff”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent a wonderful week at Tamarack Lodge. What a gorgeous, peaceful setting! We walked out of our cabin each morning and were greeted by shimmering lakes and snow-capped mountains. The cabins were clean and comfortable. The kitchenette was a handy feature for late night snacks and picnic preparation. The continental breakfast was beautifully set up in the main lodge and was a great way to start the day. The staff was so friendly and efficient, always greeting us with a smile. We rented bikes and rode the bike path, so fun! We enjoyed several hikes on the nearby trails. Fabulous scenery everywhere you turn. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    110
    31
    18
    20
See reviews for
108
186
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The setting is perfect, on the edge of quiet Twin Lakes just a few miles out of Mammoth Lakes, CA. You can reserve nice rooms inside the well-maintained lodge (think 1930's hunting lodge) or in one of the cabins outside--we've stayed in both. (This is our 3rd or 4th visit.) The staff is courteous and energetic, and were helpful to us in every way possible--even allowing us to change a reservation once when an emergency arose. Perhaps the most outstanding feature is the food. The menu and quality of the food at their Lakefront Restaurant is truly gourmet, from the steaks to the fish to the venison!They are open all four seasons. I'd advise making reservations a few months early.

Room Tip: We had a large quiet corner room in the Lodge, which was great. However, a very large family might p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The Tamarack Lodge is situated at the entrance of the Twin Lakes Campground. We decided to camp for two night, then stay in the lodge for our last night. The location is absolutely idyllic, with the lodge overlooking a beautiful lake. The rooms are quaint, bed-and-breakfast. The lodge has the aura of a beautiful log cabin, furnished with a fireplace, a lobby that takes you back to the old west. I suppose it goes get hot very often at Mammoth, but the evening we stayed, it was unusually uncomfortable, and there is no air conditioner in the room (two heaters, but no A/C.)

The guys at the desk were awesome. When I voiced a complaint, they said their policy is to make the customer happy. I was very pleased with this statement, and they made it happen.

Overall, a good experience, and the price is comparable to other hotels in this resort town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I just got back from a week's stay in a cabin at Tamarack Lodge. This place is amazing! It sits right on Twin Lakes, where you can fish, rent a canoe, or just read a book on the shore while gazing at the waterfall in the distance and watching the quaking aspen. If you want a larger lake for boating or swimming, lovely Lake Mary is very close by. At night, you hear the wind in the trees (caveat: we were there in the summer when it's warm enough to have windows open at night!). Tamarack is situated in the most peaceful spot. But the accommodations are far from funky - Tamarack is a luxury resort. There are Aveda bath products, Serta Perfect Sleeper mattresses, and the Lakeside Restaurant, which to our mind is the best restaurant in the area. We ate there twice during our stay. Chef Bobby Brown uses local ingredients and combines flavors for the most delicious meals. We live in the LA area and eat out a lot, and the Lakeside's food would stand its ground in LA or anywhere people appreciate fine cuisine. Tamarack staff are warm, friendly, and very accommodating. Our cabin (I won't give away the number because then the secret's out!) was adorable - a newly renovated studio cabin with pine floors, "cabin-y" decor, ceiling fan, and a great utility kitchen with microwave, coffeemaker, minifridge, stove, oven, and table for two next to a picture window with a view of the lake and mountains. There was also a deck with two chairs overlooking the lake. There are also one- to three-bedroom cabins that are as nice as houses, and all have decks as well. You can rent bikes, kayaks, or canoes right on the premises and there's a great bike path nearby as well as the adjacent campgrounds and lakes to explore. People think of Mammoth as a place to ski in the winter and it's certainly that, but if you feel "the mountains are calling" (a quote from John Muir that appears on the sign welcoming you to Mammoth) and summer isn't complete without spending some of it near a mountain lake, Tamarack is the place to stay. Rates are reasonable, and lots of hiking, biking, fishing, and recreation, not to mention the less-populated end of Yosemite, are within driving distance. Tamarack is a great home base for exploring the area. We will definitely be back - in fact, we've already booked for next year! An excellent place if you want a mountain cabin that's not funky or musty and has all the modern conveniences and amenities like Aveda bath products and an excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to recommend a cabin - that's how we found ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonlady70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The first time we visited this placed i fell in love promised i would stay there the next time we visit Mammoth, so we did. The cabins are dirty, no furniture to put one piece of clothe in it. The bathroom are disgusting. The employees in the front desk are untrained, un polite and will disclose your personal information to others. We were harassed and threatened by strangers because the person at the front desk forgot to make a note we were staying an extra night, information we had provided when we checked in and repeated again and again. they failed to protect us as guest, we were exposed to what could have been a dangerous situation. To protect ourselves we left and went to a different hotel. What it was meant to be a relaxing vacation turned into a frightening and stressful experience. Check other places before yo go there, the lake location is nice but be careful what you wish for.

Room Tip: For the price of these cabins there are many hotels and lodges in the area that offers quality and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveleditor52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was a last minute booking on our part and while we had travelled to Mammoth many times before, had not stayed or explored this area much. My hubby and I were pleasantly surprised to find the studio cabin to be exactly as portrayed on the Tamarack website. Dog's are welcome here which was great as we travel with at least one of our dog's. I found the staff extremely helpful and always willing to share information and assist in many different ways. We rented the onsite kayak's which turned out to be alot of fun and we could even take our dog with us. The cabin was fully stocked and very comfortable. I would not hesitate to come back to this resort and also recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Read all the descriptions of all the rooms to help you select the one you need. The studio room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaTravelerNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

You can't beat the location for this lodge, right on beautiful Twin Lakes in the Mammoth Lakes area…complete with a gorgeous waterfall as a backdrop. There are great biking and hiking trails right at your doorstep…or cabinstep as it pertains here. The restaurant is first rate…and the prices reflect that. However the breakfast that was included in the $20 "resort" fee was minimal and uninspired. Not sure what else that resort fee provided us, there were no horseshoe or fire pits or ping pong tables…not even little places to sit along the lake. As for the cabins themselves—calling these cabins "historic" is another name for "we haven't paid any attention to these cabins for over a decade". The upholstery is tired, there is very limited storage space, the kitchen space is cramped…the bathroom has hardly any place to put toiletries. They did include a hair dryer, but of course there was no outlet in the bathroom! The patio included 2 uncomfortable chairs and a sappy redwood stump as a table. I had to beg for an umbrella so we could sit outside in the afternoon in some shade after our hike, but they were in short supply and available only on a first come basis. Take some advice from Evergreen Lodge in Groveland Tamarack, and put a little "love" into the details. It would make a world of difference.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khutton56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
797 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
820 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
425 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Property: Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing