We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible sofa bed! VERTICAL!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible sofa bed! VERTICAL!!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Our friends booked a deluxe one bedroom cabin (sleeps four) with a king size bed and a sofa bed, we agreed sleeping on the sofa bed because we're not picky, but the sofa bed is only good if you like to sleep on a vertical position!!! HORRIBLE! I regret not taking a picture! We ended up sleeping on the floor over the blankets that we brought. The kitchen is poorly equipped.... The only thing I like about this place is the location... Even tho you have to walk to your cabin with heavy luggage on the slippery icy ground...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Daniela B-

Thank you very much for your review. I am disappointed to hear that you were so uncomfortable on our sofa bed. We have inspected each of the sofa beds in our deluxe 1 bedroom cabins and have determined that a couple of them could certainly use some attention. For this reason, we have decided to replace each of their mattresses. Without your valuable feedback, we might not have known about this serious issue. Thank You!

Also, I am sorry to hear that you thought our kitchen was poorly equipped. We do our best to provide basic cookware and utensils in all of our cabins, and next time, if you find that there is something you need, do not hesitate to contact us at the front desk so that we might be able to bring it to your cabin.

And lastly, I am sorry to hear that you had to carry your heavy luggage to your cabin over icy ground. This season, so far, we have experienced abnormally warm temperatures, which causes the pathways around the cabins to constantly freeze and thaw. This being said, safety is our number one priority and we are always spreading cinders and doing whatever it takes to ensure our guests’ safety and sure footing. Also, our staff at Tamarack Lodge is here from 7AM-11PM daily, and we are always eager to help our guests get to their cabins with all of their belongings. We have several vehicles that are able to drive anywhere on the property year-round. It is always our pleasure to assist our guests by getting them to their cabins quickly, hassle-free, and in one trip.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    109
    30
    17
    20
See reviews for
104
182
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Palma, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

From the minute we checked in until we pulled away, every staff member here did what they could to make our stay more enjoyable. For example, they brought us a small flat screen with a DVD player the minute we got there as requested, squeezed us in for dinner when we didn't have a reservation, and brought us some house bread to munch on for after dinner since we got there late and hadn't had the time to get to the store yet. The food and service at the restaurant there was also amazing. Out waitress was very friendly and gave us some helpful tips for the weekend. Our room was clean and decorated and had everything we needed. My wife and I left this place invigorated and feeling like we definitely got our money's worth. No need to look any further. We stayed in a studio cabin and had a blast. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillrose3092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This place was really nice. The cabin (deluxe one bedroom) was like typical hotel suite but not connected to any other rooms, and without the long hallway to get there. We did have a view of the lake, as promised, but with other cabins between us and the lake. I figure it's because the deluxe cabins are newer, and hence, higher up on the hill: behind the older, original, rustic cabins. We had our own porch on the cabin, a gas fireplace (although I kind of wished we had a wood burning one - it seemed like some cabins there had wood fireplaces, although probably the rustic ones), dining table, sofa, chair, full kitchen that was stocked. There was no tv as advertised but the front desk gave us a tv with a dvd player and let us rent some dvds from them. The guys at the front desk seemed to really love their job and were super helpful. The restaurant was delicious! Pricey, but worth it.

Room Tip: Deluxe cabins - more like a hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stopped on our way to Yosemite. Our room was on the top floor, and the view of the lake--and the enormous-looking stars at night--were breathtaking. Idyllic location. The staff is WONDERFUL and very helpful about the most efficient ways to experience the paradise that is Mammoth Lakes. Oh, and the restaurant: WORLD CLASS. Unique, innovative, excellent dishes with lovely presentations. LOVED it, and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park, California, United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent two days at Tamarack Lodge, Cabin 20, in the middle of October 2013. Overall, it was a very nice visit which we enjoyed very much. The cabin had been renovated and was in decent condition but needed some maintenance. For example, two electrical outlets, one in the bathroom and one in the kitchen, were worn out and the appliance plugged into the outlet would go off if you wiggled the plug. The shower head would also come off in your hand if you tried to adjust it, but could be pushed back on.

This is just an aside, but why do they still put bathtubs in hotel rooms? Why not just put a shower stall? It would be easier to get in and out of and safer.

The cabin was square, with the bedroom and a small sitting area on one side, and the kitchen and bath on the other side. There was a wood Franklin style stove on the far side for which wood and kindling was provided. The draft was blocked in the stove, but I could keep the fire going by leaving the door ajar. The size of the cabin was more than adequate.

We also had dinner in their Lakefront Restaurant and it was a nice experience. The service was excellent - the waitress even suggested a lower cost bottle of wine which she though we'd enjoy more than the one we selected. The food was excellent.

My major complaint was breakfast. They charge $20 per night for the breakfast, a breakfast which is much worse than what you'd get in a Holiday Inn or Marriott Courtyard. The breakfast consisted of a selection of four cereals, two of which were kids sugar cereals, and frozen bagels. No scrambled eggs, no bacon, no sausage, no grits (okay, I'm a southern boy), no yogurt, no fruit, and no decaf coffee. And everything served was refrigerated or frozen. Surely they could have brought in one kitchen staff and cooked up some eggs and bacon. I'm not asking for a luxury breakfast, just something like you'd get in a cheap hotel.

The staff was polite and helpful. Overall it was a good experience but I wish they would let you opt out of breakfast and not have to pay $20/night for that very poor spread.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I were there in August with our dog and loved the studio cabin we stayed in. We both agreed that it would be great to stay in a larger cabin with big porch, but the one drawback is the price. It is a touch expensive... The service and staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and the cabin was clean and quaint. It is a great home base for biking, hiking, kayaking, and fishing. I love that it is dog friendly, too. I would definitely stay here again, maybe next time with friends in a larger cabin.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christianne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were on our way to Yosemite when we stopped at Mammoth Lakes Welcome Center and I found the brochure for Tamarack Lodge. I called and the desk receptionist, Anthony, told me they had rooms available. We drove out to view, immediately fell in love with the view. Anthony efficiently arranged our accommodations treating us like old friends. He provided us with a rustic cabin, which was anything but rustic. It was outstanding with a spectacular view! The entire staff was most courteous and helpful throughout our too short stay. We will never stay anywhere but this gem when we return to this area. Absolutely a "ten" on our list.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Property: Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd. (off Rte. 203), Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing