We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Mammoth Lakes)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Springs Resort(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Mountain Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
US$289
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Creek Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edelweiss Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
252
115
34
19
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
115
34
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwin lakesstudio cabinlakefront restaurantcross country skiingshared bathroomnordic skicontinental breakfastlake viewbagelsrustic charmwinter wonderlandpaper towelseastern sierrabeautiful areagas fireplacerooms are smalleach morning
Filter
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We recently ran to mammoth on a wild hair after a storm dumped and this was one of the only places available within budget. Having never stayed here I hit the reviews and they were good enough that i booked a 1 Bedroom Deluxe cabin. I thought the lodge would be out of the way after getting there until i found out the orange line ran from the lodge to the village the 15th minute of ever hour, and picked up from the village to go back to the lodge on the hour. Overall, it was refreshing. Being out in the woods in a clean, cozy cabin with a nice fireplace and open floorplan was awesome. The room had no TV, forced us to hang out and chat which was also nice.

The staff was accommodating and very friendly, included continental breakfast was good enough for a pre-slope carb up (Various Cereals, Bagels, coffee, etc.). All in all, I will be staying here again and thoroughly enjoyed our experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OCVeloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed there Feb 24th for one night. Although this is not their best winter.. the service at this lodge is great. We ate at the restaurant also. It is pricey but definitely worth going to . the elk medallions were wonderfully tasty and cooked to perfection. the lobby area is rustic with a fire place going at night.

We stayed in the lodge.. the room definitely needs some updating..i.e electrical sockets are tricky and bathroom is very cramped ..but with the gorgeous scenery and tranquility....definitely worth going to .

Paul at the front desk is very pleasant helpful and very informative

Room Tip: worth paying extra for twin plus queen if there are just to of you. Lodge rooms are very small and with e extra twin bed... there will be a place to put your luggage... or you have no room if you just go for queen bed only
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This January we stayed at Tamarack Lodge which is surrounded by beautiful lakes and mountains.
Unfortunately, that was the only positive aspect I could come up with.
When we arrived all the appliances in our room were unplugged. No light and power. Consequently, we had to spend the first hour on the floor and under the bed, to first of all take care of the huge cable clutter and second, to arrange it all in a way that we could plug in a phone charger as well, which was quite challenging with only 3 outlets.
Being on the floor for that long, I've noticed how dusty and dirty the room actually was! Unbelievable!
And if that wasn't enough, the window in our room was broken, too. That and the hardly adjustable thermostat made it quite difficult to create a comfortable room temperature.
Room service was rather poor, one day not even provided at all.
The Lodge rooms with their shared bathrooms down the hall are supposed to create a sense of community and convenience since it's close to the restaurant and lobby area. But none of the washrooms were cleaned at all over the period of our stay and the toilet paper has not been stocked unless you asked for it! And again, unbelievable!
In addition to that, either liquor prices are ridiculously high or their complaint management very insufficient.
One afternoon (most places do apres-ski or happy hour during those hours), I ordered 2 drinks for which I finally paid almost $45! Seriously!? Especially after signing a bill that stated 'only' $25 after tip. Refering to the issue at check out, the receptionist assured us to bring it to the restaurant manager's attention since she would not have any insight into the restaurants files and would not be able to do anything at this point.
Writing down our contact information she promised to contact us the same day.
Not responding for days and leaving us with the feeling of being ignored completely, we finally received an apology and refund of the overcharge.
All in all, we left extremely disappointed and will certainly not return to Tamarack Lodge next time we will be in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andromeda1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

On the twin lakes,spectacular views, beautiful fresh air away from california congestion, and close to the lifts. The resort itself was rustic and had an old ambiance some might call it charm of a log cabin. Others may call it a spooky haunted feel. No you did not hear or see any ghosts. You could just sense the building had alot of history from the past.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScottLisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Tamarack Lodge has been in operation since 1924. I've been vacationing there for over 60 years. This place is paradise for me! So many memories of my childhood are wrapped up in the trees and hills and rowboats and cabins. Don't expect the lodge rooms and the "rustic" cabins to have the amenities of a Hilton Hotel—that's not what Tamarack is all about. If anything, I think they've gone a bit too far in the modernization plans, but that's OK. If you want to have a beautiful mountain experience, summer or winter, this is the place. Forget about the new and glitzy hotels and condos down in town—stay at Tamarack Lodge!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarlowRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews