We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Truly wonderful place to stay, among the pines around Mammoth Lakes.
Great staff, beautiful room, and superb restaurant.
Would go back there in a heartbeat.
Surrounded by stunning scenery and some great outdoor activities.

Room Tip: If your budget can stretch to it try the Top of the Lodge room....well, I say room, it's more li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was our first visit to the Tamarack Lodge and we will definately be back. The hotel, although built in 1924 and quite rustic, is very comfortable, clean and cozy. We stayed in a room in the lodge with it's own bathroom (some of the rooms have bathrooms down the hall) overlooking the lake. All knotty pine interior with walls and floors that aren't exactly plumb, but the feel of the room and the lodge was very homey and very comfortable. The bar area was very small, but we took our drinks out to the front porch where there are several adirondack chairs and just enjoyed the view and smell of the trees and the outdoors. Didn't have time to enjoy some of the activities at the lake or eat in the dining room, but we plan to do that next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank smittyman269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have enjoyed the Tamarack Lodge more than once. If you're looking for glamour, chrome and glass, go somewhere else. If gorgeous mountain lakes, alpine terrain, hiking, biking and just plain relaxing sound good to you, than you owe yourself a summer stay at the Tamarack Lodge. We love the rustic cabins and greeted each day sitting on the front porch drinking our coffee as the world around us filled with the sights scents and sounds of nature and life. We are dreaming of our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeoffreyS431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Tamarack Lodge was fantastic - service, location & our cabin was great! Highly recommend and we will come back again. 1st time to visit Mammoth in the summer & it was an awesome experience for our family. Very comfortable and close to Village and right on the trails and Twin Lakes. Perfect mountain getaway!

Room Tip: Our cabin was very close to the lake with great lake & mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We brought are two Bassett Hounds with us. Are cabin was super clean. The staff was very friendly, house keeping was outstanding. WIFI always worked. The stay was very expensive, it was 30 dollars extra per dog per day. I have to say I would pay the price all over again it was worth it.
Fremont, CA

Room Tip: Cabin 19 very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Gracie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our welcoming staff and clean facilities. Please say hello when you return to beautiful Mammoth Lakes!

Best regards,

Roy Moyer
Tamarack General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This lodge was very nice, and the staff was awesome. We originally reserved a 2 bedroom in the lodge building, but with an elderly traveller, we weren't able to navigate the stairs (remember, this place was built in the 20's). The staff was GREAT -- moved us to a nice 2 bedroom cabin. The place was wonderful -- great view, nice deck to sit on, very nice and clean. The staff at the front desk went above and beyond to make our stay nice. A special shout out to Anthony for finding us a t-shirt in a certain size and for holding it at the front desk. These folks are really top notch and the hotel is a must do.

Room Tip: The cabins are great. Very roomy with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Bill,

Thank you so much for sharing your great experience - our staff will be delighted that you had such a great time and they were so accommodating. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
Tamarack General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed in one of Tamarack's studio cabins in June this year. it was very comfortable and clean. There was a view of the lakes, a mini kitchen with all that is needed for meal making or just coffee. There is WiFi so you can stay connected.The bath came with high end toiletries, and soft white towels. This cabin is rustic and delightful after a day of high altitude hiking and fishing and much better than a night in the camp grounds. I also walked through the rooms in the main lodge. They offer different accommodations: single rooms with bath sharing down the hall to private rooms with bath. I preferred the cabin, but the rooms were just as nice and comfortable.The pricing is "spendy" but remember you are in the mountains on a lake with a view. It's worth it. Stay and enjoy the High Sierra experience. The employees of the Lodge were super helpful. The place has charm and history.

Room Tip: Go for the cabins, but stay in the Lodge rooms facing the lake it that be your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, General Manager at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear William,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am very happy that you enjoyed our cabin escape and outdoor adventures. Please join us again! If you enjoy vacationing in the off season, we have some terrific Fall Packages. Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Roy Moyer
Tamarack General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
2.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
854 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,477 reviews
2.4 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
857 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
453 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack Lodge and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Address: 163 Twin Lakes Road, Lake Mary Rd., Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: £84 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack Lodge and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tamarack Lodge and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Resort Mammoth Lakes
Tamarack Lodge Mammoth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing