We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING STAY AT SIERRA NEVADA RESORT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING STAY AT SIERRA NEVADA RESORT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Sierra Nevada Resort in Mammoth Lakes, California is an amazing property! I stayed here for an entire month, and enjoyed every minute of it. I had the chance to stay in their Chalet Apartments, a one bedroom unit, with a wood burning stove and full kitchen. It was also an 'upper' with nice sliding glass doors on all sides of the unit, (mine faced the mountain side), which was great to let in the fresh mountain air. I also stayed in one of the fireside suites which is also a fantastic room, with a gas fireplace, flat screen tv, very comfortable king sized bed, large bathroom, with glass shower, and tub, and also an efficiency kitchen. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful, and SAMMY (front desk mgr) and BRENT (gm) were awesome in facilitating our needs (we were there on a work assignment). They were also very flexible with allowing our group to use the facilitites after hours on occasion which was nice as we were working odd hours. The HOT TUB IS AMAZING, great size, swimming pool nice. Rafters bar, on the premises was also great.

Room Tip: "upper fireplace suites" facing mountains, and the 1 bedroom chalets
See more room tips
Green Features: "they recycle on the property, linens upon request"
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heark65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    196
    84
    30
    32
See reviews for
238
289
28
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This property is sorely in need of renovation. Carpet is worn, bathroom is battered, decor is dated. Would be overpriced at half the billed rate. Front desk swiped my credit card for "incidentals", which were not used, and promised that the charge would disappear after departure. A week later, the charge still shows on my credit card billing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredTom1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgingQueen, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your stay. I apologize if you were not fully informed about some of the rooms that we are in the process of renovating. We have completed the renovation of most of the property to be one of a couple of properties in Mammoth to have air conditioning in the renovated rooms and all of the in room amenities you would expect to have. The authorization shows as removed from your card. If I can assist in any way please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in a Fireplace Suite. It was a very spacious room with a great King bed and a separate seating area. The bathrooms are beautifully appointed with heated floors and many nice touches.

While it's not truly a resort, I found the property charming and perfectly suited for a Mammoth Lakes experience. Workers at the front desk were young but knowledgeable and eager to assist when it came to looking for local activities, restaurants etc.

Also, loved the pancakes, omelets and fruit at Rafters for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have to say I love this place! The lobby is awesome. I love the built in couch around the fireplace. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are beautifully appointed. I love the food at Rafters and also Jimmy's Taverna.

I've stayed twice and had a terrific experience both times. The first time was in a fireplace suite. The bed was amazing. I slept really well. The view from the room spectacular. The shower was a total hit with the family! The heated toilet seat a nice touch in the middle of winter.

The second time was just recently. I was there longer and made ample use of the lobby to hang out and have a few casual meetings. The hot tub was awesome. The grounds very nice. The staff super friendly and helpful.

All in all, a terrific place to stay in Mammoth. It's central with lots of places to walk to, easy parking, stuff for the kids (love the kids club!) and many wonderful touches. I highly recommend the Sierra Nevada Resort!

Room Tip: The fireplace suites are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My family and I stayed here for several days at the end of June. We came to Mammoth for some outdoor adventures with our mountain bikes.

This place is very charming with a hip vibe. We loved the decor. The lobby is very welcoming with a billiards table and comfy couches. It's connected to a small bar next to a great fireplace area with lots of places to sit.

There are lots of amenities here with the pool, hot tub, outdoor lawn games, miniature golf, laundry facilities, spa and even a kids club where your children can play video games or watch a movie with supervision while you spend a little personal time with your loved one.

The staff here was incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Matt who was there for us at both check-in and check-out. He gave me helpful information about biking around the town and getting up to Mammoth Mountain. He even hooked me up with passes for two free drinks at the bar and free miniature golf for the family.

The Sierra Nevada Lodge has a perfect location and fantastic rates. We had a lot of fun here and are looking forward to returning when it's snow season.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinemaniac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
336 reviews
335 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Well, I must admit this hotel has a nice lobby and bar, but that's it. Our room was simple, to say the least. The bed was OK, but the rest... Some untreated wood which is supposed to look rustic, but in fact it is just cheap.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forest falls
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were excited to stay at the hotel (will not call it a Resort) as it did get rated #2 hotel in Mammoth Lakes by Tripadvisor and the reviews were good. Our excitement was still with us when we walked into the lobby as it was very nice and lodge like. They had coffee, water, teas etc available and you could see their pool. All good..Matt the hotel assistant manager checked us in and was somewhat friendly-shared with us his move from LA and proceeded to check us in. We asked Matt if the rooms do have refrig/micro/coffee in the room as advertised and he paused for a second and said "yes". We also asked him if the hotel offers a discount for AAA or AARP-Matt (asst manager) said no, not when we are booked for the night..otherwise we honor it..Never heard such a thing before..either you do or you dont period!! We drove our car to the way back of the hotel (even early check in) to find our room nothing like the photo's or the descriptions of what the room we thought we were paying for. No refrig no micro, and only a tiny little coffee pot. The room smelt bad as soon as we open the door. We called Matt and told him we wanted a different room and put all of our things back into the car and went back up to the lobby. Now Matt has a little attitude going. Instead of him helping us right away..he makes us wait, and wait. Even the other people in line questioned him why we were not next as we were next in line. Sunny the sweet girl working the desk with Matt finally helped us get another room a few doors down the hall from the first room. Sunny was very helpful and felt bad about our 1st room. As we again unpack our car and go up stairs to our room..we see a small improvement as far as no smell. The room was warm and we realize it comes with no air conditioning-oh thats what the fan is for in the room..hmm. The room is very small, the light fixture between the beds was broken and you had to play with the button to get it working. The TV was all fuzzy and hubby had to scrap the paint off of cable to make it a clear picture. It was dusty on the headboards, the bathroom is very small..no counter space, the tub had this skid prevention matt down which looked dirty, Although we had a refrigerator in the room now..it never got cold enough to put anything in it. When we called for a new one, the maintenance guy Juan Carlos(who was very nice) told us they all are the same..they dont really get that cold. Whats the point of have a small refrigerator in your room if you cant keep 4 bottles of water cold. Have to say -we were staying 3 nights with our 2 grandkids in this room-we needed a refrigerator, micro, it was one of the main thing were looking for. So, the room was a night mare-if you have cell phones, computers, and need plug ins forget about it..not extra plug ins-you have to unplug things to plugs your things in to charge. We asked why are the rooms so different from the photos on their website and they said those pictures are from the new remolded rooms..and they are $20 more a night. Really? The only good thing I can say about this place is its kid friendly. Not the rooms but the play areas outside. But by far iths is not a resort..only thing resort about this place is the price you pay. We checked out the next day and actually found a better place across the street. For $20 more we were able to get a condo with 3bedrooms, 3 full baths, livingroom, full kitchen, heated pool, and yes, spa rooms. I feel Matt has no training to be a asst. manager, he did not help us in our dissatisfaction at all. Gave us the cold shoulder until the morning when we checked out. He even made several mistakes on our check out bill, that needed to be corrected. I will be calling Brent the head manager of this place to tell him what an awful experience we had here.

Room Tip: first I would say dont stay at all or Pay the extra for the newer rooms, have back up coolers, exten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joforgues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgingQueen, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I have reviewed with all of our staff your review of the property and offer my apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. I have personally discussed the items with each individual and assure you we have taken the necessary steps to make sure you and or someone else does not receive the same experience. I have sent you a separate direct email and again offer my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Property: Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing