We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overnight stop”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here of one night on our way from Las Vegas to San Francisco. It is an interesting hive of activity after driving through the emptiness of Death Valley. The hotel is like a lodge and the rooms not that large but comfortable and the bathrooms well equipped. Note there is no lift so getting heavy bags up to the bedrooms can be problematical. There is no restaurant on the site so we ate at a nearby restaurant. The lounge area is comfortable with a pool table. There is also mini golf outside. The receptionist was very helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: If you have problems lifting heavy bags go for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    208
    89
    33
    34
See reviews for
248
310
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms were modern as well as very clean; the two queen size beds were comfortable but the room was facing directly to the parking. We had a problem with the WIFI (which was quite important for me since I was expecting important e-mails), mentioned it to the lobby and said they would fix it the next morning. The following day the internet was still unreliable. At the moment of our check out we told the receptionist the wifi was still down but she seemed to be unaware of the issue. Quite a disapointment.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have been up here working and just discovered this great hotel. Rooms are clean and attractive. The king bed was very comfortable. Great water pressure in the shower. The staff is friendly and very attentive to guest needs. I will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

After a long day of driving across Nevada it is a joy to sit in the lobby. The staff are most gracious and the rooms quite nice. Has that ski lodge vibe but with plenty for the kids including mini golf, a pool table and Xbox.
The lobby has a lovely bar and the mountains created an idea backdrop

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate her birthday weekend and had a wonderful experience. I normally don't write reviews, but I really want to share what a great experience we had at the Sierra Nevada Resort and Spa. From the moment we arrived we felt special, and the staff went above and beyond to ensure we had a romantic weekend getaway. Sammy at the front desk was especially accommodating and made us feel so welcome! We stayed in a Fire Place Suite and didn't want to go home! Super romantic room with an amazing bathroom and of course the romantic fireplace! We will definitely return

Room Tip: Spring for the fire place suite if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Good location with close access to great restaurants and grocery store. The hotel doesn't serve breakfast but we were informed that the adjacent restaurant does, however we didn't try it out. Instead we went to Van's to by some fruit and bagels to make our own breakfast.
A few houses away there is a great restaurant that serves chinese fusion food. We fell in love with their cuisine, try the Kung Pao shrimps!!!
To get to the trails take the car up to the national park. There you can park the car and use the shuttle. Go to Rainbow waterfall trail and bring a swim clothes!

Room Tip: We got a room on the 2nd floor facing the parking lot (#217). It was peaceful and quiet. Restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fnuttan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

One of the worst places we have ever stayed, We paid $160 & you would expect for that something really nice - right!! Not so - our room was small, dirty, and no air conditioning!! Plus it smelled bad. I would not recommend this place ever. Maybe other rooms are better but what we were given is horrible!!!

Room Tip: Ask for newer rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LodgingQueen, General Manager at Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Barbara S.,

Thank you for your comments. We’re sorry that your room didn’t meet your expectations. As you were told at check-in, the only rooms we had available for you were our unrenovated rooms. We also mentioned that our unrenovated rooms have no air conditioning and have not received the many upgrades that our newer rooms have (ie: air conditioning; real tile; new heaters, new LED lights, new mattresses, new sinks, new fixtures, new counters, new showers, new furniture, and new refrigerators). Next time, you may wish to request one of our new rooms.

Thank you,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
798 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sierra Park Villas
Sierra Park Villas
#18 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa

Property: Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Address: 164 Old Mammoth Road, P.O. Box 918, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-6000 (Formerly Sierra Nevada Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#7 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa is your headquarters for memorable Mammoth vacations. Offering more activities and amenities than any other hotel in Mammoth, the stylish and comfortable lobby exudes rustic elegance and array of romantic and family-style rooms bring the Resort's colorful past firmly into the present. Our beautifully appointed rooms feature romantic suites and family style chalets along with comfortable deluxe king and double queen rooms. Relax at Mammoth's only hotel Spa, specializing in massage, body treatments, facials, couples massage and manicure/pedicures. Kids can have great fun at the Cub Club, where they can play XBoxOne, create and explore, enjoy Mini Golf, movies and games, all in a supervised environment. Try our three outstanding restaurants; Rafters Restaurant and Lounge serves breakfast and dinner along with an extensive wine and cocktail selection. Live music and happy hours are favorites of locals and visitors alike. Red Lantern is open and features classic Chinese dishes in a beautiful setting plus evening take- out. Escape to the Mediterranean at Jimmy's Taverna. Food critics and locals call Jimmy's the "best new restaurant in Mammoth." Freshest seafood and meats are grilled over the wood fire, and the traditional Greek dishes are on the menu every day. Impeccable wine pairings, artisan cocktails and delectable desserts round out a meal experience unlike any other in Mammoth. Join us at the Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa and make Mammoth memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Nevada Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing