We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay for a Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountainback at Mammoth
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Las Vegas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay for a Great Price”
Reviewed 6 January 2008

I have stayed at Mountainback condos 2 to 3 times a year for the last 4 years. We have booked 2 more trips this year!!! It is a very nice place to stay with a Great Location. Make sure to use the main website booking through the onsite office and you won't have any problems. I have stayed in a couple of different units and mostly at one particular unit over the years and I have found them to be very nice. This is one of the few places in Mammoth where you can get a 3 bedrooms plus a loft with 3 bathrooms at a decent price. Their online system is easy to use and the management has always been very helpful. I have read the other reviews and I wanted to reply to their experiences with my own. This is NOT a 4 star resort. It is a very nice place to stay especially when you might be having a group of 8 to 10 people staying in the same unit. With pricing of about $500 per night after taxes for 10 people to stay in a condo just down the street from Canyon Lodge with Underground parking, I feel that it would be hard to beat this deal. I would definitely recommend this property to others. Just make sure to book through the main website.

  • Liked — Size of the units
  • Disliked — Nothing it is a great place
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lexus111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

We love Mountainback Condos and have been staying there since 1998 that I can remember. We love it so much we were lucky enough to buy a 2 bedroom/den unit this year. We have stayed all over Mammoth and and kept coming back to Mountainback because we liked the roomy condos, great location, underground parking, pool and spa. While other condos built around the same time are looking dated and detiorated, Mountainback conitnues to look modern and has been maintained nicely. The on site managers have always been great to us, even when we were not owners. We love being able to walk to the Village and we usually shuttle the skiers up to Canyon Lodge. Our unit has been totally remodeled and has a great view of the pool and spa. We have a blast in Mammoth over the summer and love being able to use the pool area and BBQ. Great place for families as the units are some of the most spacious in Mammoth, we can sleep 8 in ours without driving each other nuts.

  • Liked — Comfortable, good location, relaxing, good value
  • Disliked — Not ski in ski out
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Solushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 September 2005

Every year since 2000, we stay at a Mountainback Condo. It's so exhilirating driving up the steep street and looking at one beautiful building after another, wondering which one we'lll be staying in this time. When the sun comes up and hits the front of the building, the color of the wood shingles is warm and rich. Each condo is huge. The long staircase next to the fireplace leads up to the loft bedrooms. My wife likes the kitchen because all accessories are stocked whenever you want to cook a nice meal. The building is built like a mountain fortress beautiful, rugged and solid. I wish my home felt like that. The 2 downstair bedrooms have big windows that open for fresh air and are in an area where you have privacy if you don,t close the blinds. The furniture is very nice and comfortable and the dining table is big.. The condos look very expensive so I imagine this is how wealthy people must live every day. Its fun to open the living room or bedroom doors to enter the outdoor porch. The porch is attractive because it holds fresh split logs for the fireplace. One year we all stood there watching the hail bouncing off the lawn and street for half an hour. Or I'll stand on the lawn and throw a miniature football up to my kids to catch. My wife and I are doctor's and we love this place !!

Stayed October 2004
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 June 2004

The 2 bedroom/loft condo was comfortable and accommodated 6 adults with room to spare. It was also well equipped. If there was any complaint it would be that the view was somewhat limited. Other than that this is a great choice.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encino, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2004

We had a 2 bedroom, loft, 3 bathroom unit for 4 adults and 4 teenage girls. The unit was spacious and comfortable. When we had any problems , they were tended to immediately. The condo was nicely appointed, the kitchen well equiped. The only criticism that we had, was that the bathrooms had no fans and were not well ventilated. We would stay there again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Luncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2004

My family searched on the internet for lodgings at Mammoth and came across the web page for Mountainback. After viewing their available units, we contacted Mountainback to confirm their location and to inquire about making reservations. We were told that all reservations needed to be handled online through their reservation service. So, we went back online and made our reservation. Subsequently, we received a call from the management company indicating that the rate that our reservation was booked at was not correct and that we would have to pay an additional $1100.00 for the reservation. After contacting the company, they refused to honor our reservation at the confirmed price.
This company is one of the most unethical I have ever dealt with and we are currently filing complaints with the Better Business Bureau, Mammoth Visitors Bureau and the Federal Trade Commissiion.

Helpful?
15 Thank kinkora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Mountainback at Mammoth, responded to this review, 5 July 2006
Christmas reservations have never been accepted online due to the complexity of our rate structure during this busy holiday period. Our web site clearly stated in 14pt red type that units may be viewed online, but reservations during the dates of December 15 and January 5 will not calculate correctly and reservations must be made by phone. This has been our policy since the online system was first established.

We apologize if there was any misunderstanding, our rates are clearly posted on the web site and competetive with similar properties in Mammoth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 June 2003

We had the unfortunate luck to find this one of the only condominiums available for rent over the recent Christmas Holiday. Unlike many of our other stays at condos in Mammoth, this one was horrible! This place is old, out-dated, unsafe, and in a terrible state of disrepair. The management company was unwilling to fix problems when reported, and only tried to fix them after repeated calls. (Imagine a condo in the mountains during winter with limited heat!) Don't waste your time here. There are much, much better places to rent. I would never, ever stay here again, or recommend it to anyone. Beware!

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, On site management company at Mountainback at Mammoth, responded to this review, 12 January 2004
We are sorry if this guest did not recieve the services expected during their stay. However, condominiums at Mountainback can be rented from at least 7 different agencies. Placing blame on Mountainback as a whole is unfair. We represent Mammoth Mountain Reservations (under new ownership as of 5/1/03), the onsite management company which handles rentals for about 1/2 the units at Mountainack. This guest should be more specific as to which company his problems were with. Mountainback continues to be one of Mammoth's finest properties and we hope the comments of one guest will not deter you from staying with us. I you have any questions, please call me at 760-934-5000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.4 mi away
Mammoth Ski and Racquet Club
Mammoth Ski and Racquet Club
#22 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sierra Park Villas
Sierra Park Villas
#17 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Austria Hof Lodge
Austria Hof Lodge
#14 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.5 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Snowcreek Resort
Snowcreek Resort
#7 of 54 in Mammoth Lakes
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainback at Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainback at Mammoth

Property: Mountainback at Mammoth
Address: 435 Lakeview Dr, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainback at Mammoth 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mountainback at Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainback At Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Mountainback At Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing