We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More from the Shilo Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,217 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 692 helpful votes
“Expected More from the Shilo Inn”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Coming out from Yosemite National Park, we stopped by the Mammoth Lakes for one night and decided to book at the Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes. The inn was conveniently located at the entrance into town. The entrance can be slightly complicated for stranger. The lobby of the inn was decorated similar to lodge cabin style with loose furniture for multi-purpose usage. Our surprise was that many guests had their dogs with them. The room assigned to us was slight below our expectation but acceptable. However the receptionist was very helpful with information on sightseeing around Mammoth Lakes. We came away from the inn with two issues, pet-allow policy must be noted and our expectation on the Shilo Inn Suite chain must be modified.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Charn P,

Thank you for your candid review of Mammoth Lakes Shilo Inn. We appreciate the kind remarks about our Front Desk Staff. Our Welcome Page on www.shiloinns.com states that all Shilo Inn locations are Dog Friendly. In Mammoth Lakes we have special Dog Friendly rooms set aside for our guests with pets. We are sorry your room did not meet with your expectation. Your comments continue to help us improve our service and we are interested in more detail describing that expectation. If convenient, I welcome your call. Please contact me at the hotel: 760-934-4500.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    119
    91
    47
    25
See reviews for
113
133
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed one night. Located on the edge of the town, close to a McDonalds and the Visitor Centre. Large clean room with king bed on third floor. Comfortable bed, sofa, flat screen TV, coffee maker, fridge and microwave. Indoor pool and small fitness room.
Clean bathroom and shower.
Close to a few shops and restaurants.
Complimentary continental breakfast was poor, laid out on a table in the lobby with very few tables and chairs available in a small room adjacent to the fitness room. The selection of food was also very poor. They do need to sort out the breakfast situation as it detracts from what could be a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerardty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear gerardty,

We appreciate the nice comments about the room you stayed in at the Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes location. We are sorry you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast. When this amenity came to be the rage of all lodging, we did have some difficulty in finding room for it. We apologize that it seemed a bit cramped. We do the best we can with the space available hoping that this complimentary amenity to our guests is valued as a good thing.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south staffs
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

One night stay on route to Vegas . very large rooms and clean. Pretty basic breakfast room and food ok .
Quite central . Friendly staff .
Eating places and shops nearby .
Secure free parking.Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joebloggsSouthStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear joebloggsSouthStaffs,

Thank you for your positive review of our Shilo Inn, Mammoth Lakes. We are delighted you stay was enjoyable. We will be sure the staff is commended for their great customer service.
We look forward to your return to any one of our Shilo locations.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

I was pleasently surprised. The room was extremely clean and very large. I'm not a big breakfast eater but they had plenty of choices - even freshly made waffles. Only negative was the outdated furniture and TV. We aren't TV watchers but this may be a negative for some people. I would definately stay here again.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lah0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear lah0718,

Thank you for telling us about your stay at Shilo Inns Mammoth Lakes. We are very proud of our staff and their attention to the details. We are glad to hear that the room was clean. Many guests have commented on the ‘roominess’ of their rooms as well. We are in the process of upgrading and many of our rooms do have a larger TV. We appreciate that you will return to Shilo as our return guests are very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sydney Brayton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night while passing through. Rooms are large, clean, and have new mattresses. There is a nice pool and covered parking. Continental breakfast is included. Right on the main road into town. Good value. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear MandB31,

Thank you for adding your review to Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes. We know there are many choices one can make when it comes to Lodging and we just want you to know that we appreciate your choice to stay with us. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you into Mammoth Lakes.

Sydney Brayton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I love this place! The rooms are tidy and have every amenity you need. The place is older but well maintained and the staff is friendly. Breakfast items provided are healthy, which is perfect for a day on the slopes. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank celitas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear local73,

Thank you so much for the kind review. I will be sure to share your great comments with the staff. We all certainly hope you had a memorable trip to Mammoth Lakes and hope to see you at the Shilo Inn again very soon!

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

It seems like this facility was put together by handymen. Where ever we looked there were signs of shoddy workmanship and low quality materials being used. The wooden moldings around the elevator door frame were totally misaligned. The bathroom door in our room was so flimsy that somebody was able to poke hole in it. The faucet handle with the Shilo Inn logo was upside down and the warm/cold water reversed. The walls are so poorly insulated that you could hear every toilet flush from other rooms. The room itself was spacious, nicely furnished and cozy. Staff was friendly and courteous. Breakfast was adequate. $125.00 for an offseason room was a bit high. I probably would stay in this motel again. I just wish they would upgrade the quality a notch.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klausmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear Klausmac,

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We do not want our hotel to reflect shoddy workmanship. We will address your concerns to our maintenance department. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff. They will be happy to know that their customer service did not go unnoticed. If you could drop a quick e-mail to mammothlakesmanager@shiloinns.com and let us know what room you were in, we could quickly get that faucet handle turned around as well. We look forward to your return to Mammoth Lakes Shilo.

Sincerely,

Sydney B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.2 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
834 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
821 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Address: 2963 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-2179
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When your plans take you to the breathtaking beautiful Yuma desert, the Shilo Inn Hotel is the place to stay. After a long day of meetings, shopping, or sight-seeing, luxuriate in our immaculate spa, swim in our Olympic-size pool or work out your fatigue in our state-of-the-art fitness center, sauna or steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing