We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“soulless but good enough for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
maastricht
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“soulless but good enough for one night”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for one night during our trip from Vegas to Yosemite Park. First thing that came to my mind when standing in the recepton area: this is a hotel without a soul. Employees, especially the cleaningladies, looked very somber and were just going through the motions.
Reception staff made us wait a long time before we could check in and no real welcome from this young man either.

Breakfast in the morning was a hoot, really. You're supposed to eat it in the reception area (there is a tiny breakfast room on the side but that is too depressing to even consider). American hotel breakfasts are bad but this was the worst, great achievement!
Their regular customers obviously know this, because one lady came in with bags from MacDonalds to take upstairs to her room. Unfortunately, she used the bell boy cart (!) to transport the breakfast items to her room and we never saw that cart again when we wanted to check out from our room on the 3rd floor with all our luggage.....

On the positive side, the room was very good, spacious, with a fridge, flatscreen and a decent bathroom. Our 3 children enjoyed the indoor swimmingpool and we had a good night sleep.

Stay there for one or two nights, that is just fine. Would not want to spend my skiing vacation there, no good vibes. Location is great by the way, unfortunately we did not have time to explore more of the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucaMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear LucaMaastricht,

Thank you for your candid review of Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes. We appreciate that you found the room clean, spacious and comfortable. We are sorry for the small eating area for our breakfast. We are not fortunate to allocate any other space for the breakfast as it was a retrofit amenity when the complimentary breakfast became the norm. We are happy to offer this amenity but space is limited. The Front Desk Staff can get a bit busy from time to time, and we are sorry that our Guest Service Agent’s demeanor appeared unwelcoming. Shilo Inn Staff never want our guests to feel unwelcome. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and we will share your comments with our staff. We hope you will return to the Shilo Family for your future travel plans and give us the opportunity to do better.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    117
    87
    43
    21
See reviews for
104
129
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

First night stayed at quality inn..smelled and old. Next night we went to shilo inn. Got a web match price of $122 which was fine. Next morning we ran into friends and decided to stay additional night. We went to front desk at 9 am hoping to see nice helpful cheery young girl who checked us in, only to be approached by a older "not so friendly or helpful women. We ask if we could stay another night and she said sure for $196! She then started whining that she would be losing money if she went any lower. After much deliberation she said the best web match price would be $186. This women was so rude and unwelcoming! She acted as if she was doing US a favor! We showed her the web price of $141 and she said then book it there! We went back up to our room and looked around at the patched ceilings, the holes in the curtains which were blinding in the morning, looked at the holes in the lampshades and the old decor and handicap bathtub that you could not really take a bath in because of the bars all around the tub! We decided to go to a hotel that appreciated our business and showed us some respect! Hard to believe shilo inn would allow such a disrespectful employee! We happily checked out and found a fabulous place just down the road called Mammoth Creek Inn. They were very friendly and happy to have our business. Better rooms, updates decor and great breakfast. Better try a little harder Shilo Inn. Time to clean house!

Signed
Sucker for one night

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisethompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Chrisethompson,

Shilo Inn Management would like to offer our apologies for the rude and unwelcoming service you felt you received when staying with us. It is never our intention to be disrespectful to any of our guests. We always encourage our staff to offer web rates to our guests, we apologize that this was not understood when you found a lower rate on line. We will report the damages you mentioned to our maintenance and housekeeping staff as we continue to make improvements to our Mammoth Lakes location. We hope you will find it in your heart to give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I appreciated the underground parking and indoor pool at the Shiloh. Families will appreciate the adjacent McDonald's, and the location is very convenient. In a fiercely competitive lodging market in this very popular ski town, I was disappointed with the primitive and small area for the mediocre continental breakfast. I was even more disappointed with the outdated décor, which is reminiscent of the early 1980's. I thought I would see Preppies and Cyndi Lauper strolling the halls. It was alternately snowing and raining when I arrived, and although there is a covered area for arriving guests to park, it is not handicap friendly. There is a one foot curb by the entrance, and one has to lift heavy luggage over this curb or walk through inclement weather to access a sidewalk ramp. A senior citizen might find this daunting, and certainly Shiloh Inns has heard of the ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act). The room was spacious, but I wish I had spent the extra $20 a night and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mammoth56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

You can smell that the rooms were once smoking and converted. It is the typical Shilo Inn room, spacious but older. The room we had needs a facelift. The breakfast is decent but no meat- continental. The pool is indoors which is nice but was bit deep for my 6 year old. They have covered parking and the staff seem very friendly. This is an okay place if you are passing through. It is close to the center of town and visitor center.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytrip36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,217 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Coming out from Yosemite National Park, we stopped by the Mammoth Lakes for one night and decided to book at the Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes. The inn was conveniently located at the entrance into town. The entrance can be slightly complicated for stranger. The lobby of the inn was decorated similar to lodge cabin style with loose furniture for multi-purpose usage. Our surprise was that many guests had their dogs with them. The room assigned to us was slight below our expectation but acceptable. However the receptionist was very helpful with information on sightseeing around Mammoth Lakes. We came away from the inn with two issues, pet-allow policy must be noted and our expectation on the Shilo Inn Suite chain must be modified.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Charn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear Charn P,

Thank you for your candid review of Mammoth Lakes Shilo Inn. We appreciate the kind remarks about our Front Desk Staff. Our Welcome Page on www.shiloinns.com states that all Shilo Inn locations are Dog Friendly. In Mammoth Lakes we have special Dog Friendly rooms set aside for our guests with pets. We are sorry your room did not meet with your expectation. Your comments continue to help us improve our service and we are interested in more detail describing that expectation. If convenient, I welcome your call. Please contact me at the hotel: 760-934-4500.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed one night. Located on the edge of the town, close to a McDonalds and the Visitor Centre. Large clean room with king bed on third floor. Comfortable bed, sofa, flat screen TV, coffee maker, fridge and microwave. Indoor pool and small fitness room.
Clean bathroom and shower.
Close to a few shops and restaurants.
Complimentary continental breakfast was poor, laid out on a table in the lobby with very few tables and chairs available in a small room adjacent to the fitness room. The selection of food was also very poor. They do need to sort out the breakfast situation as it detracts from what could be a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerardty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear gerardty,

We appreciate the nice comments about the room you stayed in at the Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes location. We are sorry you did not enjoy our complimentary breakfast. When this amenity came to be the rage of all lodging, we did have some difficulty in finding room for it. We apologize that it seemed a bit cramped. We do the best we can with the space available hoping that this complimentary amenity to our guests is valued as a good thing.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south staffs
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

One night stay on route to Vegas . very large rooms and clean. Pretty basic breakfast room and food ok .
Quite central . Friendly staff .
Eating places and shops nearby .
Secure free parking.Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joebloggsSouthStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear joebloggsSouthStaffs,

Thank you for your positive review of our Shilo Inn, Mammoth Lakes. We are delighted you stay was enjoyable. We will be sure the staff is commended for their great customer service.
We look forward to your return to any one of our Shilo locations.

Sincerely,

Sydney Brayton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.2 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
818 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
424 reviews
1.2 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes
Address: 2963 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546-2179
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When your plans take you to the breathtaking beautiful Yuma desert, the Shilo Inn Hotel is the place to stay. After a long day of meetings, shopping, or sight-seeing, luxuriate in our immaculate spa, swim in our Olympic-size pool or work out your fatigue in our state-of-the-art fitness center, sauna or steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Suites Mammoth Lakes Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Shilo Inn Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing