We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay near Devil's Tower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lytle Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 4 Devils Tower B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best place to stay near Devil's Tower”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here after a long journey from Yellowstone and on our way to Mt Rushmore and it was a very welcome and lovely stay. What more can I say that hasn't been said already? Dee and her husband were so gracious in welcoming us after we arrived so late from driving 6 hours that day. Our rooms were just heaven to sleep in and our toddler son slept really well in the small twin bed they made out for us. The breakfast was delicious! The bonus was that Dee and her husband are grandparents and so they had some toys to keep our toddler son occupied while we were packing up the car. Their little dog was cute too and my son couldn't stop talking about him for the rest of the trip! Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MumInOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
29
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at Lytles Creek Inn while visiting the Devils Tower . As the area is remote, we found a welcome from wild turkeys, deer, a sweet kitty, chickens that like to be petted and a pleasant innkeeper Dee.We stayed in the out building where the rooms were large, clean and well appointed with a mini fridge, Microwave, and mini sink. Best breakfast that we had on our trip! Very peaceful and quiet and we would recommend if you are visiting in Devils Tower area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DNAS1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

There are very few places to stay right by Devil's Tower, but consider this place top-notch! First off, it's about 2 miles off the main drag that runs right up to Devil's Tower National Monument, which is great. (Although, it's a pretty rustic road, but the views are awesome!)
The folks who run this inn are awesome. We walked into our room, and it was well-appointed and immaculately clean. The innkeeper gave us a great recommendation for dinner in nearby Hulett, and when we came back to the room afterward, she had, after hearing we were in our honeymoon, left us a bottle of wine in our room fridge!! So, so kind.
The shower was great, and the towels fluffy. And breakfast! Oh my goodness breakfast! We walked into the house for breakfast, and we were greeted with warm muffins and yogurt parfaits, but we were still to be served pancakes, sausage, and eggs -- all cooked in the kitchen right in front of us! And let me tell you, she can brew a mean cup of coffee. It was resplendent, and the scenery is gorgeous.
choose this place -- it's professional and cute and DELICIOUS!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank erinpressonladd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Lyttle Creek – We (two couples) booked via the phone from UK without trouble. Breakfast was included. We had come here on a long drive from Hot Springs South Dakota via Mount Rushmore and Deadwood. The place is a few miles down a dirt road but the owners gave us good instructions and we saw quite a bit of wildlife on the drive to it. It is practically at the gate to the Devil’s Tower National Park. We had the open plan, self-contained studio room (sleeps four) with the sidekick room (downstairs, sleeps two) for our friends. The apartment hasa lovely open-plan space with a large balcony; a lovely spot to stay after a long drive. From the balcony we had beautiful views over the meadows to the hills beyond. We sat up until late watching the sun set and were up early to see the sun rise. The only fault was that the one bathroom and toilet was in the studio room nest to our bed and as couples sharing there was little privacy when using the facilities in the dead of night. I woke up thinking a bison had got in the room. The other two beds in the studio are in the apex of the roof and your nose is practically on the ceiling. The breakfast was freshly cooked for us by the owner Dee and served in the main house. She also helped us finding further accommodation for our onward trip. You couldn’t find a more welcoming and helpful host. There's plenty to do in the area but after several days of long driving I would have been happy to sit there and do nothing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balgownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We initially booked the Devil's Tower Lodge but a couple of weeks before our departure we were advised that due to some family reasons the lodge was being closed for the time of our booking. We were given a couple of suggestions for alternatives, one of them was this lovely place. We arrived in the early evening and were greeted by deer, some wild turkeys, a very friendly cat and a very warm welcome from Dee. The room downstairs is large and comfortable, very nicely decorated and we were very happy to see the large size bed. We had a great night's sleep and in the morning Dee cooked a very delicious breakfast, she even gave us some peaches and freshly baked cookies to take with us. We would heartily recommend this lovely B&B to anybody looking for a peaceful place to stay, close to nature and a wonderful landmark.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_Simon_Birt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We arrived right at 4:00p.m, check in time and Dee came out to greet us, she showed us to our room which was a separate building from the rest of the house, it was the most recently updated room, no pictures were on the website, so we did not know what to expect or what the room would look like, we had booked the Aspen suite.
Once we entered the room, we were extremely happy with it, beautifully done, huge King size bed, large area with dining table, kitchen area with microwave, fridge and mini sink.
Plus another area with 2 chairs and a fireplace, it also had a nice double vanity in the bathroom , large shower, everything was very clean and nice, even some dove chocolates by the bed.
Outside the room was 2 chairs and a table that looked out over the woods around there and a little creek runs behind it.
We went back out after checking in and visited Devils Tower again, if you are wanting to get some food, the only close option is a restaurant called Ponderosa cafe in Hullett, 9 mile drive so not bad at all, it was very good food.
We got to see Devils tower at night, very creepy in the darkness, one thing is to be extremely careful if you are driving around that area after dark, we passed about 20 deer and about 5 or more of them ran out in front of us on the road, you have to take a 3 mile gravel road to get to Lytle creek inn, so take it slow and look out for the deer, plus the house right before Lytle creek has wandering cows, and they were always in the road when we drove by.
The night in the room was great, we got some amazing sleep, the bed was incredible, they had some cards in the room, so we played Uno.
Dee had asked when we would want breakfast and we informed her 8:00a.m would be good, we arrived at the main house at 8:00a.m it is beautiful inside, all wood with large ceiling,and open living room area that looks out over the property.
The kitchen table was set just for us and herself, we were the only people who stayed that night, we had fruit to start, berries and bananas, and she made us eggs benedict and it was absolutely delicious, i could go back for more.
Dee is very sweet, and a great host, we stayed in 5 places on this vacation and this was honestly our number one.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I stayed at this B&B with my mother and cousin prior to a visit to Devil's Tower. We were all delighted the minute we entered the Loft Suite. The suite was spotlessly clean, very attractively decorated and featured a beautiful view of Lytle Creek from the large, floor to roof windows leading out to the private balcony. We enjoyed watching a doe and two fawns grazing in the meadow along the creek, both in the evening we arrived and the next morning. The B&B is secluded, so it was a very quiet, relaxing place to stay. The Loft Suite had a full kitchen, which made it easy to prepare and eat dinner while enjoying the view. The suite had three beds, with two on the main level and one upstairs in a small loft that would be great for kids or adults who aren't too tall. There is a separate room downstairs that can be rented with either the Loft Suite or the downstairs suite for extra room (I slept down there and was very satisfied with the comfortable bed).

The breakfast was served in the main building, which was also very beautiful. We had pancakes, eggs, ham and fresh fruit, all of which were very tasty. Our hosts were very attentive and it was interesting to talk to them about the area and their experiences in opening this B&B. They have done a wonderful job in building this place and I hope that I can return again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadCityHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devils Tower
8.7 mi away
Best Western Devils Tower Inn
17.0 mi away
Bear Lodge Motel
Bear Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Sundance
269 reviews
17.8 mi away
Best Western Inn At Sundance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sawin' Logs
Sawin' Logs
#2 of 4 in Devils Tower
79 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hulett Motel
Hulett Motel
#2 of 3 in Hulett
107 reviews
17.0 mi away
Budget Host Arrowhead Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lytle Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lytle Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lytle Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 289 Lytle Creek Road, P.O. Box 134, Devils Tower, WY 82714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Devils Tower
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Devils Tower
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lytle Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 4 miles from the MAJESTIC DEVILS TOWER NATIONAL MONUMENT, Lytle Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast sits at the edge of the western Black Hills in northeastern Wyoming among the oak and pine trees that line Lytle Creek Valley. We are open April 1st thru September 30th each year to accommodate your lodging needs. Come to Wyoming and experience the wonder and allure each season has to offer. With beautiful rural landscapes only nature can provide, Lytle Creek running past our back door, and a peaceful country setting, we offer the traveler a respite from the everyday. Come relax and enjoy!! We offer home cooked meals and welcome smiles. We look forward to meeting you and serving your lodging needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lytle Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing