We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and inspiring!”
Review of Devils Tower Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devils Tower
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devils Tower Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Devils Tower B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Awesome and inspiring!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Wonderful all around! Excellent staff, clean rooms, well made food, and beautiful views of Devils Tower. Frank happens to be quite the historian and storyteller who can answer any questions you might have about Devils Tower, whether climber, hiker, or just wanting to sight see. And Emma will make the coffee a little stronger for you if you ask. Yes, I recommend this place to everyone. Don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott4hyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    36
    2
    6
    4
See reviews for
105
154
67
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We traveled as two father/son pairs, and our experience was awesome. We chose the climbing package for our stay and couldn't be happier. The lodge is a very comfortable, laid-back, and thoroughly awesome place. You feel right at home, and the food is great
Even though two of us were not able to summit, they worked hard to make our adventure enjoyable. Frank is not only an amazing climbing mentor, but one heck of a role-model with over 1000 tower summits under his belt.
The Lodge has the most experienced and courteous guides I have ever worked with, and the food is awesome!

Room Tip: They're all awesome, but the cabin is really sweet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoahBjJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had no idea what to expect when we arrived at Devils Lodge. Our first priority was to find the absolute best climbing guide to scale Devils Tower with, and without a doubt, that was Frank Sanders. We were warmly greeted on arrival and very quickly were made to feel we were part of the Devils Lodge family.

We stayed in the “windows room” with a mind-blowing view of the Tower. The dining room has a similar view, where we were served home cooked meals and ate our meals with Frank and Emma who was there for the summer and cooked and cared for us. The inn is also Franks home (it was the park supervisors home) and the conversation and laughs came easy.

I had never climbed before, have a horrible fear of heights, and my only exposure was four lessons at an indoor climbing gym weeks before arriving. It didn’t matter. Frank can teach you at any level. My son was more advanced, and Frank was able to work with each of us according to our ability. My son made it to the summit, I ran out of time getting about half way up. I’m already planning to return and I know with Frank’s help, I will reach the summit.

If you’re just looking for a beautiful, friendly quiet environment, you’ll find it here. If you want an adventure and to take an amazing journey up the Tower, Frank is ready to help you live out your dreams. Either way it will be wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJJohnson61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Frank and his staff are such kind, welcoming hosts! The overall atmosphere of the house is very cozy and the private rooms and bathrooms were great. We stayed in the 'Windows Room' which has a huge picture window that frames an amazing view of the tower. The family room is very comfortable and we felt that we could make ourselves at home. It was awesome to hear stories about Frank's and his team's adventures and meet other guests. All of our needs were graciously accommodated by Frank, Kristin, Emma, Ed and Lee. Kristin prepared all of our meals and they were delicious! Frank, Ed & Lee are fantastic teachers and guides! They outfitted us with any climbing equipment that we needed and taught us very valuable climbing tips on 'Practice Day'. Their patience, enthusiasm and positivity made our climb to the top (via Durrance) absolutely wonderful! Staying at Devils Tower Lodge and climbing Devils Tower was such an amazing and unforgettable experience! I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to visit & hope to do so again in the future!

Room Tip: We loved the 'Windows Room' - It had a bed and a futon so 3 of us stayed in there comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Frank's place (inside the gate to the National Park) is wonderful. Every time you look out you see the tower - from our bedroom it was framed by our picture window. The Lodge is very secluded and private. We had dinner and breakfast cooked by Emma - a delightful student who is always looking for ways to make you feel at home (she is also an excellent musician - like Frank). It is wonderful to hear them play both classical and traditional music - a true treat.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ja45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Frank's got an amazing setup here at Devils Tower Monument. It is off the beaten track, hidden, but the scenery couldn't be better....the tower is always in sight, right there in the backdrop. He's got an incredibly hospotable and friendly staff who know exactly how to cater to the different walks of life that come through his door from rock climbers, to families, older retired couples, and cyclists like myself. If you want a peaceful place to stay, avoiding the crowds, and a nice family environment, this is the place for you, plus the food is an endless supply of hearty meals and delicious treats!

Room Tip: Ask for Windows, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissapritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hidden gem turned out to be one of the high points of our 17-day trip throughout the West. Located on the other side of the park entrance off a dirt road, Frank's house offers an exclusive and secluded view of Devil's Tower. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast there (cooked by Emma), and they were both delicious. The best part, though, was the hospitality we received from Emma and Frank. It is rare to find such kind, generous hosts who show so much interest in their guests. I will always remember our stay there and how we were made to feel so "at home."

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duffy-J-Columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devils Tower
8.3 mi away
Best Western Devils Tower Inn
21.7 mi away
Bear Lodge Motel
Bear Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Sundance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
22.5 mi away
Best Western Inn At Sundance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sawin' Logs
Sawin' Logs
#2 of 4 in Devils Tower
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lytle Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast
21.7 mi away
Budget Host Arrowhead Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devils Tower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devils Tower Lodge

Property: Devils Tower Lodge
Address: #34 State Route 110, Devils Tower, WY 82714
Region: United States > Wyoming > Devils Tower
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Devils Tower
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devils Tower Lodge. Full of Adventure and Loaded with Peace & Quiet. Located on 21 Very Private Acres of Ponderosa Pine and Precious Prairie at the Base of Devils Tower National Monument, in Wyoming. Come, Enjoy the POwer of the Tower. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing