We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our overnight in Unit 8 at the Fort Casey Inn!”
Review of Fort Casey Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coupeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Casey Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Ferndale, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our overnight in Unit 8 at the Fort Casey Inn!”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

As we have driven back and forth to the ferry through the last few years, we have admired the old officers' housing units that are now the Fort Casey Inn. Our stay in early August was for only one night and included the grandparents (my husband and myself), our daughter and son-in-law and our two granddaughters, 8 and 5. Maybe we have toured and stayed at too many historic places coast to coast, but the other reviewers almost made me think we had experienced an alternate reality!
This is an historic property...i.e. it is OLD! As for cleanliness...our unit was spotless and the bathroom a pleasant surprise as it had all that we needed (plus additional supplies of TP, soap, shower caps, etc.). It all worked, there was plenty of hot water for showers, and "taking turns" for the bathroom brought back memories of all that "sharing" of facilities in the "olden days" (and being thankful for "indoor" plumbing that current attitudes seem to forget about!) Our only disappointment was the shortened swimming schedule that meant our grandkids couldn't be in the pool either the afternoon we checked in or the next morning. Our kitchen was light, pleasant and well equipped...we were sorry we only had time to make breakfast there. The sitting room was comfortable and had some interesting touches such as the pressed tin ceiling. We adults enjoyed waiting for the "but where's the T.V.?"...and then the kids remembered the Sound, saw the family of grazing deer and fawns on the lawn and later complained that bedtime had come too soon. We would all choose to stay again if we have the chance!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Overall, we had a lovely time. However, the bed had a pretty serious swail to it, so I slept the first night on the couch--and woke up with a knotted muscle that is still bothering me! Sitting on the porch, reading together, watching the deer, and chatting with the folks in the other unit, was lovely. The kitchen was well equipped, although we weren't there long enough to make use of the cooking utensils. The living area and bathroom were fine. We didn't use the pool or the fitness center, so I can't comment on those. The best part of the Inn is its location. We took wonderful morning walks both days, one along the beach and one along the bluffs. So quiet and beautiful! Overall, my assessment is somewhat more positive than that of the other reviewers--although I agree that the beds were bad.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Yuk. A great concept and theme. However---beyond dirty! The bathroom was so gross the men opted to shower elsewhere! Every surface was sticky, the dishes were dirty! The carpet was nasty and we had no surface to put our baby on the floor. Worst of all: we sent a list of the concerns we had and to date have had no response. THEY DON'T CARE!! Don't stay here

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCIManager, Manager at Fort Casey Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback about our Inn. I apoligize that you didn't receive an immediate response to your request. During your visit in June your intial email didn't make it to the administration, this has since been remedied and we have responded to your email quickly once it was resent. Please be assured, this is not our standard mode of operation for customer concerns. We pride ourselves in oustanding customer service! This past fall, we have completely deep cleaned the historic Inn. Please remember this is an historic Inn that was built over 100 years ago! The concerns about the dirty bathroom did surface around the quality of the water, which comes from a well. We have since converted our water at the Inn to be directly from the City of Coupeville, which assist in the reduction of the mineral content and smell in the water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We couldn't even stay there! We should have known better. Because of the age of the buildings/houses they are very mildewy, moldy smelling and dusty. It would have wreaked havoc on my son's allergy and asthma condition. They very reluctantly agreed to refund a portion of the room as they have a 10 day cancellation policy. Who on earth has a 10 day cancellation policy? Plus it's pretty remote, not a lot of guests around. Feels like Norman Bates could show up at any minute.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girlschmidty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCIManager, Manager at Fort Casey Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
I appreciate your feedback about our Inn. We are an old historic Inn. Being in the Northwest, the dampness of the environment, can, at times, cause a smell that appears to be mildew. Rest assured we have deep cleaned (all surfaces washed down, dusted, all fixtures wiped, window sills, curtains) and continue to do so on a quarterly basis, in addition to the other cleaning that takes place for each guest. With each rental at our Inn, you are renting an entire 2 bedroom house, which has many surfaces. Some guests, who are allergic or have allergen concerns, may opt to stay in an Inn that has newer surfaces and is not in the country. Our buildings are freshly painted, but again, our Inn was built originally in the early 1900's as housing for Army Non-Commissioned Officers. Regarding our cancellation policy, we do have a 10 day cancellation policy as we are off the beaten path and rarely have drop in clients. We did offer a partial refund to this guest based on their child's special needs, which is an exception to our policy. We are happy to talk through all situations with clients to accommodate a win/win situation for all parties!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We have a family of five and appreciate being able to have a kitchen when we travel. it is a shame that this place does not invest a few thousand dollars into a few decent amenities. The beds were so uncomfortable that my husband and i both have backaches now. I am going to send them a letter making a few suggestions because this place should be a great place but either they are too cheap or just too lucky with tourists to have to invest.

We stayed in unit 4, which we picked specifically because it has an enclosed shower. In a two bedroom house, you would think there would be several shelves in the bathroom and at decent shelf in the shower to put stuff but there is not a single shelf to put anything. So you literally have to carry your stuff back and forth to the bathroom each time unless you want to leave it on the floor. And there are so many places to build in shelves, even cheap ones. I want to go to home depot and do it myself it was so ridiculous.

There are two bedrooms. One of them has a dresser and a closet, the other one has a night stand and a table but nowhere to put your clothes.

So until they replace the mattresses and make it reasonably easy to unpack and stay there, we won't be going back.

If none of these things matter to you - it's a beautiful place and a great value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Coupeville is beautiful, so are the beach and the lighthouse.
The house we rented smelled like a very old, damp antique store. It was hours after we left before I quit smelling it on me. It was dirty and poorly maintained. Two of the bed pillows didn't even have pillowcases on them. If you set a magazine down on a table it would stick. There was half a roll of toilet paper and no more in the linen closet where it was supposed to be. The picnic table was completely overgrown with moss and unusable. Not to mention that it wasn't cheap to rent. No t.v., no nightlife, no wi-fi, nothing to do after dark.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comfortseeker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We stayed in the Doctor"s House, and loved it. There were 5 of us 1 was a teenager and one in her 70's. Would not be good for anyone who can't climb stairs though. I loved the charm of the old house, with the old comfortable furnishings, the beds were very comfortable. The house was very clean with plenty of dishes etc. The kitchen has a dishwasher. We loved the porch. The comfy living room was a great place for games in the evenings with a gas fire. Lovely places to walk and we enjoyed the beach. It was so quiet and peaceful. Enjoyed the family of deer who just wandered around. I only wish we could have spent more than 2 nights there. No phone, TV, or internet was wonderful. The weather was beautiful, what a lovely place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audrey011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCIManager, Manager at Fort Casey Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your accurate response of our Inn. Although we can't guarantee the weather, we can guarantee a nice quiet, warm place to relax and connect with family or retreat. We aim to keep the kitchen stocked with supplies for cooking/baking in your own house. The porch and deer are some of the most popular things to see, as well as the beautiful view. Thank you for appreciating the beauty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
4.4 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
266 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
9.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
305 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
327 reviews
3.5 mi away
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Casey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Casey Inn

Property: Fort Casey Inn
Address: 1124 Engle Rd, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239-9716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relive the past with charm and comfort in our rental cottages offering two upstairs bedrooms and one bath. Downstairs includes a living area with propane fireplace along with full kitchen and a dining table. Enclosed back porches are perfect for storing bicycles or your outdoor gear. Most units at the Inn overlook Admiralty Bay on Puget Sound as well as Crockett Lake, a natural bird sanctuary while two units are in a forested pastoral setting. An outdoor swimming pool is open June thru Aug with exception of Sunday. Year round guests have access to board games, picnic tables, hiking trails as well as the nearby beach. The beach offers spectacular views of the Straits of Juan de Fuca and the Olympic Mountains. The inviting row of Fort Casey Inn cottages together sleep up to 46. Built originally in 1909 for the then active defensive installation of Fort Casey, the Inn is located next door to Fort Casey State Park and Admiralty Head Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort Casey Hotel Coupeville
Fort Casey Inn Coupeville, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing