We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Carriage House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coupeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lovejoy Inn on Whidbey Island
Ranked #9 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We prefer this type of accommodation over run-of-the-mill hotel rooms, but we still like some privacy and no doilies (the plague of the B&B scene). We enjoyed having this private oasis (the Carriage House) where we also had enough room to unload our car contents since we are in the process of moving across the country. Very nice owners, very clean apartment, very tasty breakfast treat (the first morning), and I think very reasonably priced. And, well located to walk to any and all Coupeville establishments. Only thing I found confusing from the website was whether any breakfast should have been available the second morning. We were in a rush though so I didn't get a chance to clarify.

Room Tip: Very handy for military couples in the process of relocating, such as ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sperry71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

I found this inn on line and was prompted to book it initially as they would rent for one night only and I felt the price was very reasonable.

We booked the carriage house which is it's own building with a kitchenette and a balcony. It ended up not having an oven with a broiler so we pan cooked the steaks we brought, it was very tasty. For breakfast we had orange juice, coffee, tea, water, yogurt, coffee cake and real half and half for our coffee.

The room was clean and comfortable and extremely quiet. The inn is two blocks away from downtown so you can enjoy the local flavor and not have to worry about parking. The owner was friendly and pleasant to visit with. I would not only recommend this inn but would stay there again.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the main house in a room which I am sure is great, but we really liked the privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Lovely, comfortable and perfectly located with a view of Penn Cove and walking distance to shops and restaurants. Owners Mitch and Lynda are the hosts with the most. Highly recommend for a week or weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed in The Landing, a comfortable room off the entry. Spotless bathroom with a gigantic shower. Breakfast! Quiche, coffeecake, fresh orange slices and fresh raspberries. Great coffee. Fresh OJ. Just a block to stores and restaurants. Nice view off the front porch of Penn Cove. Helpful, friendly, efficient owner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimBellingham_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

What a great room! The Carriage House is a nice studio apartment separate from the main building. Loved the seaside cottage decor and the little kitchenette perfect for chilling wine and making morning tea/coffee. The balcony is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the sea air and the apartment inside is cozy and comfortable. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and very clean with great shower pressure.

We only stayed a night, but I wish I could have spend several more. Fall bonus: there's an apple tree behind the Carriage House and we were able to pick a few apples for the road. They were delicious!

Room Tip: Book the Carriage House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzypinkbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Lovejoy Inn was the ideal peaceful getaway for my fiance and I visiting from San Francisco. We were greeted by the personable owners, Mitch & Lynda, who immediately made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Carriage House Cottage - a very spacious & cheerful room, complete with a kitchenette, comfortable seating area & a sunny deck with a lovely view. The room was incredibly tidy and the decor cute & "beachy." Lynda's cooking & baking is so delicious, I'll reminisce about her scones as the best I've had, especially paired with her homemade jam. We were also served fresh peaches picked off their tree. The location of the Inn is quiet yet a short walk from the heart of Coupeville with quaint shops & restaurants. The setting alone is worth the visit and the owners & their family added so much joy to the trip that we will certainly be returning again & again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Beautiful, historic, B&B in a quaint island town. We stayed in the Carriage House which was immaculate, spacious, and very comfortable. The view from the deck is beautiful - overlooking the main house and Penn Cove, just steps from the waterfront restaurants, gallery's etc. Mitch and his family are truly wonderful hosts - gracious, easy-going, and cheerful. Breakfast is not to be missed!

Room Tip: The carriage house was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkraybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
1.9 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
274 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
#3 of 13 in Coupeville
110 reviews
16.3 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovejoy Inn on Whidbey Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovejoy Inn on Whidbey Island

Address: 5 NW 8th St., PO Box 82, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lovejoy Inn on Whidbey Island is located in the heart of Whidbey Island in the historic waterfront town of Coupeville. Coastal colors, clean, uncluttered and private. Walk to wharf, beach, dining and shops. Affordable, relaxing and perfectly located. WiFi available, nice breakfast, large wraparound porch with views of Penn Cove. Four rooms from the private Carriage House Cottage to the cozy and affordable Coupe Room. Choose the Lovejoy Inn for a relaxing getaway or for affordable lodging during business trip, art class or weaving school class. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lovejoy Inn On Whidbey Island Hotel Coupeville
Lovejoy Inn On Whidbey Island Coupeville, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing