We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Asian fusion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kim's Cafe

Kim's Cafe
Ranked #12 of 26 Restaurants in Coupeville
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Asian fusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Kim's café has a great location on the wharf, which might lead you to suspect that it's premium location might trump the food quality (I think we've all witnessed this before..) However, the food was quite satisfying and their soups and stirfrys offer a nice mix of seafood and Thai flavors. This appears to be a family run show and everyone seemed genuinely concerned about the customer. I thought the curried coconut cream sauce on the plate of mussels was perfect. I can't speak for the fried and battered options, but you can get those anywhere, so stick with what makes this place unique.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, CO
Level Contributor
252 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Lunch on the Pier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The restaurant is located at the end of the pier and is well worth the walk out from town. Three of us came for a late lunch (3 pm) and found it almost empty of customers. I ordered fish and chips with peanut coleslaw. It was delicious, especially the beer batter encrusted fish. Service was fine as expected with no other guests. The restaurant is comfortable and the view superb. The menu has a strong Asian influence along side American dishes. If I lived in the area I would find some way to eat here on a weekly basis.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Triumph1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Easily satisfied a big crowd”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We walked into Kim's shortly after 11 am with a party of 11 and no reservation. We were promptly seated - first pleasant surprise. We ordered around the menu, including several meal splits and shares without any hassle. Food was all good. The sandwiches were not the best choices on the menu - the bread to filling ratio was heavily weighted to bread. Pad Thai and Pho were very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't even bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Perched at the end of the wharf in Coupeville, I was hoping for a nice lunch with fresh fish. There are a couple of good restaurants that we usually attend when we make the drive there, so we wanted to try something different. The restaurant has a heavy Asian influence but they also offer fish and chips as one might expect in a town by the sea. My friend ordered the pad thai with 4* as she likes it hot. It was not in the least spicy and had very little good flavor. I ordered the fish and chips - big mistake. The fish was old and frozen as were the fries. A frozen dinner would have been better, fresher, and much less expensive. Try Toby's Tavern for casual food or the wonderful Christopher's for a delicious lunch or dinner, but avoid Kim's Cafe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
204 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Yummy mussels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I had lunch here with two nieces and one nephew--all teenagers. Great food, varied menu, rustic atmosphere. One of my nieces tried the Pahd Thai and loved it. I had the Penn Cove mussels prepared in white wine, garlic, and butter...oh, my were they ever delish!! Prices very reasonable and service was just right.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sparkopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kim's Cafe also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Kim's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing