We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in Coupeville”
Review of The Coupeville Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coupeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coupeville Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Gearhart, Oregon
Level Contributor
468 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Coupeville”
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

We had been here before. This time 25 of us stayed in connection with a family reunion. It is very convenient to the waterfront restaurants and shops. The ambiance is nice. We had a balcony and could call back and forth to siblings. The bed was comfortable. Parking was convenient. On the other hand there was no real closet, just an armoire, the bathroom had no shelf space for our necessary bottles and tubes, the maid service was barely acceptable and the "extended" continental breakfast was not too good: some kind of bread like a muffin or English muffin or bagle plus a hard boiled egg plus packaged oatmeal plus canned fruit cocktail. The coffee wasn't great. However it was something. We will probably stay here again. It is convenient to Coupeville restaurants, etc.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jamesccasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    32
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
37
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stay here once or twice a year. It is not new, doesn't have air conditioning, nor does it have a pool. However, it is clean and the rooms are "darling" to use my wife's words. We are in our 70s but the walks to the waterfront, all the shops, the museum, and the restaurants are easy. Parking can be a problem in Coupeville in the summer, but we just park at the Inn and walk to everything in town.

Room Tip: Don't be too disappointed if a water view room is not available. Even the non-view rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I were in Coupeville in June to attend a wedding. Whidbey Island is a bit remote and I chose the Coupeville Inn because of its proximity to the wedding venue and because it seemed less rustic than some of the other hotels in the area. It is a small hotel by normal standards but compared to other things on Whidbey Island, it's fairly large. Although it promotes itself as sort of a bed and breakfast, it is really more like a motel--which was not necessarily a bad thing for this area.

We were on the second floor. There is no elevator but a ramp (combined with the topograhy) made if fairly easy to get our wheeled luggage in and out. Our king bedded room was a good size, nicely decorated, pleasant and clean. The bathroom, while not large, was certainly adequate. If you need to be in or near Coupeville, the location is good. It's just a short walk to the shopping street and almost directly across the street from Christopher's which is an excellent restaurant. (We went for dinner.) The Coupeville Inn staff were helpful and pleasant.

The room came with breakfast which was perhaps the hotel's weakest point. Selection was extremely limited (bread, muffins and cereal from what I recall.) There was coffee but no decaf. No hot food. I think they may have had hard boiled eggs and maybe yogurt. I went to the market and bought myself some granola. It's not as if you'll go hungry. It's just not what one expects of a bed and breakfast type hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grey_Haired_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed here in August 2011 and loved the harbour views! Very clean, pretty rooms. Very welcoming, helpful and friendly. OK continental breakfast, (all disposable dishes and cutlery go in the waste which was our only concern)! Otherwise would recommend staying here. Coupeville is delightful. We'd recommend it for relaxed, interesting shopping and charming village atmosphere. Don't miss the Saturday market!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was a real speculator chance find, we were at the end of our Oregon and Washington trip in 2010 and decided that it would nice to spend our last night somewhere on Puget Sound before heading back home via SeaTac. By chance, the Coupeville Inn was on my GPS database, we liked what we saw (very much) as we drove up, and so we stayed. Our room on the upper floor was perhaps a little small compared to some of the hotels on this trip, but we had a beautiful view out over Penn Cove. There could also perhaps be a little more choice given on the continental breakfast provided, but that is only a minor point as the location is just beautiful.
Warrior193.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrior193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My relatives visited Whidbey Island from the East Coast for the first time. Wanting them to stay with us wasn't possible since we had a cat. Not far from us was the Coupeville Inn. They found the Inn to be the best places on their trip. The Inn is just a block off Front Street, a block from the water, and with a view of Penn Cove. The room was super clean and the staff was very hospitable. They have already said they want to stay there when they return for another visit.

Room Tip: Best views from second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirSqueeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stopped in there desperate to find a room and the staff was very accommodating and friendly. Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Room was a bit small, but clean.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlschmidty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
1.8 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.3 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
#3 of 13 in Coupeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coupeville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coupeville Inn

Property: The Coupeville Inn
Address: 200 NW Coveland St, P.O. box 370, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239-9800
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
The Coupeville Hotel Coupeville
The Coupeville Inn Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing