We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local hotel”
Review of The Coupeville Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coupeville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coupeville Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely local hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We found the Coupeville Inn to be a friendly, comfortable place to stay. We stayed in the basic double queen room. It was comfortable and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a great view but if you don't need a view, the back rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarsBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    33
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
37
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is not a bed and breakfast inn - it is a motel that attempts to mimic a bed and breakfast inn. It is sterile and not in sync with the superb ambience of the delightful town of Coupeville. The service maid was very grumpy. The rates are above the services offered. However, the views from our room were great! The breakfast was dreadful - we actually saw a couple bring their own bread to breakfast. By comparison with other Whidbey Island inns, this doesn't rank close to high.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marleypacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had the most wonderful time at the Coupeville Inn. Coupeville itself is charming, and the inn is situated right in its heart. The inn itself has a lovely view of Penn Cove and the cascades/Mount Baker. The hallways are lined with old maps and photos of the area, and the decor is charming. Coffee and tea (and a microwave) are available at all hours of the day. Breakfast is included every morning. Our room was well-appointed, including a refrigerator and even a pack-n-play for our toddler upon request. I was thrilled that the door and the walls were nearly sound-proof. I must also express gratitude to the staff of the inn, who allowed us an extended check-out period after the Whidbey Marathon. It was a real treat to be able to come back to our room after the event and use the shower before our drive back to Seattle! Thank you, and we'll see you again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Cloud Inn University
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We decided to take a trip to Whidbey island last Saturday and, just in case we wanted to extend, we brought a bag along. We had stayed many years agao at this Inn and remembered it being accommodating and comforatable - so we called and reserved a room.

Although clearly not a five star level - they do not strive to be. The entire facility - both interior and exterior - is amazingly cleaned and well maintained. We are not demanding guests but in our limited interactions with the staff, everyone seemed very friendly and professional.

I agree that there can be more extensive breakfasts provided at other properties - particularly the larger chains - however they ar enot complimentary. I am aware that I am in the minority, but I prefer to pay a lower room rate than have a more extensive breakfast built in at a higher one. When on a holiday, I want to enjoy breakfast in the area. In this case, I recommend the Knead and Feed Bakery Cafe located within walking distance.

The Coupeville Inn warrants five stars for their value, service,accommodations, and cleanliness.

Oh...and just a few days following our visit we received a thoughtful postcard thanking us for staying with them. A vey nice touch and demonstrative of their attention to detail.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sciuniversitymanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Lovely place to stay. Rooms are clean, comfortable and old-fashionably charming. They kindly helped us out when we were stuck in Port Townsend for a night and couldn't return to our room because the ferries were cancelled and gave us an extra nights stay. Parking no problem. Lovely location.
Breakfast was disappointing and limited. Paper plates, plastic knives and forks didn't fit in with the general atmosphere or the price of the rooms. This is why I can't give the value a higher rating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our family recently spent a night at the Coupeville Inn on Whidbey Island, WA and enjoyed our stay very much. Comfortable, large and clean rooms that were well appointed. The breakfast was scrumptious with what seemed to be homemade/local goodies. All in all a very relaxed and pleasant stay. Highly recommended for a get-away at reasonable cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestCoastZoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

The owner was super nice! Unfortunately woke him up because we had a late arrival and the person who took our reservation had some confusion on the spelling of our name... The hotel is in a great location very relaxing atmosphere... It's an older house so if you are a light sleeper bring some ear plugs or ask for a quiet room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Naeko598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
1.8 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
266 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
9.3 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#10 of 11 in Port Townsend
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
#3 of 13 in Coupeville
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coupeville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coupeville Inn

Property: The Coupeville Inn
Address: 200 NW Coveland St, P.O. box 370, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239-9800
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
The Coupeville Hotel Coupeville
The Coupeville Inn Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing