We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lighthouse and big guns”

Fort Casey State Park
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Coupeville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Coupeville, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lighthouse and big guns”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

What more could you ask for? The lighthouse (open seasonally, check the web site) has good views from the top and good interpretive displays. The artillery pieces are interesting artifacts from previous times. There are broad expanses of lawn for kite flying or just letting children wear themselves out. You may see deer wandering around in the early morning or late afternoon. As with all Washington State Parks these days there is a $10/day or $30/year fee which can be used at any park so you can visit all the parks on Whidbey Island with only one fee.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPhotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    141
    18
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“fun day”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Take a kite, light jacket, picnic, walking shoes, flashlight and plan on speding the whole day with your family. We had spent a few days in Seattle on spring break and took a day trip up to the island. We made it a round trip going over deception pass in the morning. we visited some relatives in oak harbor before lunch. then took a picnic lunch to fort casey. my 7 year old especially loved exploring the bunkers (the smelled better than I remember as a kid, cleaned better now?) we enjoyed watching the kites fly. walked to the lighthouse, which you can climb into. then walked down along the beach. probably could have enjoyed a couple more hours if we didnt have to get back to town. We took the ferry off the island with almost no wait this time of year.
after spending a lot of money on touristy exploring the day before in seattle we enjoyed this day more for a bargain price. we benefited from the beautiful was sunny weather, but imagine as long as it was not raining too hard this would be a great day no matter the weather.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mommysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Family Parki”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a great places for families. Children have the ability to run, play, climb, and fly kites. The views are incredible and you often see deer walking around.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very nice historical park”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Fort Casey is one of the military gun batteries protecting Puget Sound during the first world war. It also has a very cute lighthouse, but it was not open while we were there. The gun emplacements are quite interesting, and several of the guns are still in place. Military buffs and children would all love this place. A word of caution, though. There are no "wiffle-ball" rails around the steep drop offs, so watch the kids closely! We didn't spend a lot of time here, since we were here in February and there was a cold wind blowing, but since we live a couple of hours away, we intend to return during better weather.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have been here three times the last month. The views of the ocean and Peninsula are amazing. The fort has several lodges from the military and barracks. There is also beautiful trails and old guns the size of plains that you can walk up and touch.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skyler V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Casey State Park also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Fort Casey State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing