We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place was just what we needed to relax!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Isle Guest Cottages
Ranked #3 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Washington State
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The place was just what we needed to relax!”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My husband and I both work a lot and needed to find a place close to home for a getaway. We wanted to be by the water, find some beaches and trails for hiking and great dining experiences. We found it all at Garden Isle Cottages and Coupeville. The cottage was private, quiet and had everything we needed. Even some homemade bread and sweet strawberries to snack on. We are not the B & B types so having our breakfast already available in the cottage was perfect!
If you are looking for some quality couple time with many things to do, head to Whidbey Island and tell Dan that Kim and Lyle sent you! Check out the Earth Sanctuary too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimWashingtonState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    17
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
81
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Perfect relaxing getaway from Seattle! Fantastic owners! It was the perfect place to get away from the city for a day and a half and would recommend this cottage to any of my family! We will be back for the weekend for sure! And the hot tub was clean and the perfect temp! Thanks Garden Isle for the wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
597 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed here with my husband. The cottages are located on a big property that consists of the owners main residence, a second cottage and another house rental on the other end. The cottages are cute, clean and come with a small kitchenette, deck, tv and hot shower. The owners provide a homemade breakfast that was excellent. It consisted of muffins, fresh fruit, milk, cereal, and juice. The property had a very clean hot tub between the cabins. The cottages are walking distance to restaurants, waterfront, shops and bars. Owners are friendly and willing to awnser any questions and give tourism tips. I would recommmend staying here to anyone. Cabins accomodate two people. Great for couples or business travelers who want a quiet stay.

Room Tip: One of the cabins has a fireplace. Great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Garden Isle Guest Cottages was the perfect place for our anniversary weekend. We arrived late and Dan, the owner, had the door to our cottage unlocked and a nice note for us welcoming us to town. We stayed in cottage #2 and it exceeded expectations. They keep it VERY clean inside and out. It was stocked with fresh sliced cantaloupe, halved grapefruits, cornbread muffins, juice, milk, coffee, tea, and a loaf of some type of bread (possibly banana bread?). The bed was very comfortable, albeit a bit small, and the quilt is home made with a lighthouse theme. There is a porch front and back with rocking chairs out in the front and a little bistro table and chairs in the secluded back area. Great places to drink wine!

It is located right across from the town park and next door to the small post office on a good size chunk of land that is landscaped in such a way that it felt very private and on our own the entire time. The property contains two small cottages, a large vacation home and the home that Dan and his wife live in. Dan greeted us the next morning and brought us into the office to show us a bunch of highlights including breakfast, lunch and dinner spots; hiking trails; parks in the area; where to get a good latte'; attractions around Fort Casey; etc.

The hot tub was not working while we were there because the pump went out. He had let me know about it a week in advance and said he would try to get it fixed before we arrived but the parts did not come in and it was still down. He made it right on the price and offered another discount next time we book with him. We were hoping to soak in the hot tub, but it didn't ruin our trip. We don't own a hot tub anymore because of the ongoing problems they can have. That was very considerate of him to call me a week in advance and let me know. From experience I can tell you that most places would not have the courtesy to let you know in advance unless you specifically asked.

It was nice being right there for our stay. We were two doors down from Christopher's Restaurant and two blocks from water. To get a latte' in the morning we would walk across the street into the town park and then follow a short wooded trail down to the dock and then hit the wharf for breakfast at Knead and Feed. Absolutely perfect location. We only needed our car to go to Fort Casey and the bluff hike at Ebey's.

My only complaint was the bed size is a little small for two adults.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 2 that had the gas fireplace that made it cozy in the cool October evenings. Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanSolo3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2011

They know how to do it right. Great service but total privacy on your own schedule, we have stayed a number of times and will do so again. The town is beautiful and there are great walks nearby. A great weekend to propose!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The Garden Isle Guest Cottages are the perfect spot for a quiet, cozy weekend in quaint and fun Coupeville. We were in Cottage #2, and loved it. It has everything one needs for a weekend away, and the bed was super comfy. The lovely decks front and back are great spots for enjoying the sunshine, sipping a coffee or tea, reading or writing, and relaxing. The rates are also incredibly reasonable for what is included. The banana bread was particularly yummy :-). Thanks to our great hosts Dan and Darrellyn for creating this idyllic getaway and sharing it with us. We highly recommend this for anyone looking for an escape from the ordinary into bliss.

Room Tip: The cottages are great for couples. For those with wee ones, the guest house would be a great option...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Byn_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My fiance and I couldn't have been more comfy, cozy, and relaxed at the Garden Isle Guest Cottages! The cottage was every bit as wonderful as it was pictured online- the owners have thought of EVERYthing. We woke every morning to fresh fruit and a variety of juices in the 'fridge (the fiance all but devoured the fresh baked banana bread!) and we slept in peace in a delightfully cozy bed every night. The room was pin-drop quiet- but, had we wanted to fall asleep to the sound of crickets, we could have just cracked open the back door a bit! We had our own private little porch with table and chairs where we could read, sip our coffee, and watch the sun rise in the morning. Heaven! As the hot tub was nearby, and we had almost exclusive access (there was one other couple staying at the Inn, but we never even saw them!). Dan, the proprietor, was a wealth of knowledge, providing us with some key places to see and eat while on Whidbey. He inquired daily about our comfort without being obtrusive; the perfect host. With the Inn's location set back from the road, we enjoyed the perfect blend of privacy and access to the town. All in all, it was just a perfect stay. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
1.8 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
263 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
6.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#8 of 11 in Port Townsend
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Isle Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Isle Guest Cottages

Property: Garden Isle Guest Cottages
Address: 207 NW Coveland St, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239-9800
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Isle consists of two charming garden cottages with a hot tub and a three bedroom vacation home. Our property is located on two + acres just steps from the beach, our town park and the 1853 historic waterfront district of Coupeville (the second oldest town in the state of Washington). From our property there are lovely views of the waters of Penn Cove and the 11,000 foot high Mount Baker. Our town is known for its Penn Cove Mussels and they are served in the wonderful restaurants in town. Life Magazine consider Whidbey Island one the top 100 dream destinations in the world. Please come and stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Garden Isle Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Isle Guest Hotel
Garden Isle Guest Coupeville
Garden Isle Guest Cottages Coupeville, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing