We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First B&B visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Coupeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My husband and I spent one night here on Sunday, December 9. It was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast, as well as our first time in Coupeville. We loved the area. I am a fan of the movie, "Practical Magic" so it was a treat to see where it was filmed.

First impressions:
When we first arrived at the Inn, no one was home. The door was open, lights were on and there was a note with our names on it telling us where our room was as well as a room key. It was so strange to walk into a house and make ourselves at home with no one there! I was a bit nervous and felt uneasy, as if I was invading. We got into our rooms, and checked out the Inn. It was decorated for Christmas and was so pretty. Cookies were left out for us in the dining area. Before long, Dave showed up and came upstairs to introduce himself and tell us a bit about the Inn and it's amenities. He was very friendly, and I started to feel more at ease at that point.

Room:
We booked the Discovery Room, which is their largest room. I loved it!! So charming. Comfortable king bed with cozy bedding. Fireplace. TV with DVD player. Table and chairs. Closet. Big dresser. Wonderful view! We could see a bit of everything, the water, town and park area next door. We paid around $162 for the night. That's a bit of a splurge for us personally as we are on a tight budget, so for that reason I'm not sure we'd do it again, but I do think it was worth it.

Bathroom:
Regular sized. Clean. Shower/tub combo. Large Costco sized shampoo and body wash provided to cut down on waste, although travel size bottles are available if requested. Not a lot of shelf space for curlers or such.

Food:
Downstairs they have an area set up with water, tea, coffee, cold drinks and snacks such as cookies and popcorn. That appeared to be available all the time. There is a book with menus from all the local restaurants. We had dinner at the Front Street Grill which was quite good.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious. They offered tea, coffee and juice. We had fresh fruit, followed by quiche, bacon and cinnamon rolls. Lots of little touches, for example, the linen napkins were folded into the shape of an elf boot! And, the butter was in shapes such as a heart, sea shell, etc.

Area:
Very close to the main part of town/shops. Within walking distance.

Extras:
They have books for their guests to read. Also, a large selections of videos and DVDs you can watch in your room.

Over all impression:
We loved the Anchorage Inn. It was such a fun first for us. I was so nervous to stay in what I initially viewed as someone elses house, but it wasn't strange at all. It was quiet. We had privacy. It was clean. Dave and Diane were so friendly. During breakfast they sat and talked with us for over an hour while we quizzed them on the area and on life running a B&B. I'm sure it was the same questions they get asked a hundred times, but they didn't seem to mind at all.

I would definitely recommend a visit to Coupeville to anyone who has never been, while you are there, stay at the Anchorage Inn. Even if you are nervous like we were, you will be glad you did!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay in the Discovery Room. It's the largest room, and has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BethanneU4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

One of our most exciting challenges is to have a guest visiting a B&B for the1st time, leave with a desire to stay again at a B&B. From the time they walk into our home as strangers till the time they leave as friends, it's Dianne's and mine pleasure to meet their every need. D&D's B&B for R&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

We saw Coupeville the end of August 2012 and decided to come back to celebrate our anniversary and stayed at Anchorage B&B. We are from Denver Colorado.
David ,Dianne and staff made this celebration one of our finest.
The rooms were nicely decorated, very comfortable, and very very clean.
The food was terrific and served on time.
We stayed 5 nights and did not have any problems at all.
Great Great stay.
We would reccomend this B&B to anyone.

D&J Adema

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dw A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

We're glad you returned after August, when the pace was slowing and allowed you to unwind and enjoy the comfort of Coupeville which is quite a bit different than Denver. Happy anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I needed a quiet place for a night after some recent turmoil in our lives. The Anchorage Inn provided the respite we needed. Very quiet, beautifully appointed room. (#3 The Fairhaven) Nice view of the bay, loved the sitting area and the comfy wing back chairs. The breakfast was delicious and even though the weather was cool we were able to enjoy the wrap around porch and watch the weather go by. The service was wonderful, especially after I left my diamond earring on the night table, not to discover that it was missing until I got home. Staff assured me they found it and agreed to mail it to me. It arrived safe and sound, thank you so much for your hospitality and honesty.

Room Tip: Fairhaven has two wing back chairs and a nice lamp for reading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

It was our pleasure to offer you the peace and quiet you were looking for. A nice breakfast, comfortable chairs, a view and the company of a loved one is a doctor's remedy. D&D's B&B for R&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

It is easy to see why this bed and breakfast gets such great reviews...fabulous location in historic Coupeville, terrific views of the harbour/Mount Baker, gourmet breakfast...but most of all helpful and personable inn keepers (and their staff) who keep the place immaculate. We felt like we were at home...everything we could want or need was right there, from help you self beverages, cookies...and even microwave popcorn to sit and munch on while watching a favorite video in your room. The location is but a pleasant stroll to the harbour shops, great restaurants and beach access.
We stayed in the Cabot room which was probably the smallest room but more than adequate and the views of the harbour/Mount Baker were so lovely...and watching the sun come up from the east in the morning was stunning. The property was so quiet you would not think that anyone else was around for miles. It is in some ways a step back in time with all the conveniences one could ask for.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Coupeville is a home away from home. We're so glad you found your nook and made yourself comfortable. Our staff loves innkeeping and have been with us for years. Whether we're here or not our B&B was a great place to have celebrated your birthday. D&D's B&B for R&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I have seen this B&B already on the web but the pictures haven´t been this impressive to me. So we drove without any reservation to Coupeville. Then we saw the Anchorage Inn live and we stopped immediately to ask for a room. David showed us what has been available and so we stayed even 2 nights as we have liked the Inn and the village. And the great breakfast. And being at one table for breakfast with people from Austriala (hi Ann!), US and other countries. And appreciating that David could set the German flag for us. And ........

Room Tip: room in the first floor viewing the bay and Mount Baker (I don´t remember the room number but the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

We're so glad you came to Coupeville for your own viewing. This little historic town overlooking Penn Cove speaks for itself. With Fall knocking on the door, the pace has slowed and we actually had rooms available for our international travelers.

I have seen this B&B already on the web but the pictures haven´t been this impressive to me. So we drove without any reservation to Coupeville. Then we saw the Anchorage Inn live and we stopped immediately to ask for a room. David showed us what has been available and so we stayed even 2 nights as we have liked...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed for three nights and had the most relaxing vacation in years. The room, service, breakfast and location was great. Walk to everything in Coupeville, stroll the shoreline, great restaurants or relax on the front porch and in the room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Discovery room which seemed to have to most room and an outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spokanites1784998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

It's not easy to relax in a new place. We're so pleased to hear that Coupeville and the B&B were able to allow you the rest you were seeking.


We stayed for three nights and had the most relaxing vacation in years. The room, service, breakfast and location was great. Walk to everything in Coupeville, stroll the shoreline, great restaurants or relax on the front porch and in the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Anchorage Inn B&B was a great oasis in the middle of a long trip. We stayed in the bedroom on the first floor. Not only was the room comfortable and just right, we also appreciated not carrying luggage upstairs! The view from the verandah encouraged us to relax and slow down. Breakfast was full of specialty dishes and really enjoyed meeting our hosts. Definitely a place I will book again when in the area.

Room Tip: First floor room was off to one side. Loved the ease of coming and going with a plus of not carryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JG T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keeperofyourinn, Owner at Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

An "oasis", what kind words! We're so pleased that you took advantage of the veranda to unwind and enjoy Penn Cove. Should you return and select a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, we always assist in carrying luggage. D&D's B&B for R&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
2 mi away
Captain Whidbey Inn
Captain Whidbey Inn
#1 of 2 in Coupeville
277 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Wild Iris Inn
The Wild Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in La Conner
528 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
8.3 mi away
Wildwood Farm Bed and Breakfast
17.7 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 807 N Main St, POBox 673, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239-3432
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Coupeville
Price Range: £74 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast is a Victorian Inn, located on beautiful Whidbey Island, in Puget Sound, Washington. Our award winning B&B can be found in the historic town of Coupeville, overlooking picturesque Penn Cove. Coupeville was home to many of the Northwest's sea captains during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Many historic homes still grace the streets of this Central Whidbey town. The majority of the seven lavishly appointed rooms provide splendid views of Penn Cove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anchorage Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Inn Bed And Breakfast Coupeville, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing