We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuesday is not a good day to arrive...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain Whidbey Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tuesday is not a good day to arrive...”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

After several phone calls between us and the hotel we finally had two cottages reserved to celebrate my friend's birthday. Several days later we received a call from another reservation specialist who asked whether we were still intending to reserve a room - they did not show it in their computer! Finally, that was taken care of. We noted to him (as we had the first person) that we would be arriving by boat and wanted to make sure that we would have dock space. Not a problem. Dinner reservations, please. Well, that's where it got interesting. It seems the restaurant is closed on Tuesday evenings. But, the man assured us - there are plenty of places just a short drive away in Coupeville. Did I mention we were arriving by boat? Did the hotel have a van or car service? No. Were taxis very available? (This is a VERY small town on an island near Seattle). No, not really. Well, what to do about DINNER. I decided to bring dinner with because we paid extra for the cottage with a kitchen unit. We would have a deck (lovely, we were told) a bbq and a limited, but very efficient kitchen.

Long story short....we arrived and checked in. The cottages are, ahem....rustic, to say the least. Clean, but I felt like they had been furnished at Goodwill. Vintage, but without charm. The deck and deck furniture covered in leaves like it had not been attended to in quite some time. The cottage kitchen - not at all possible to serve a meal (even a fully prepared one) from it. So, it's a lovely day in late July on Puget Sound and we have a birthday to celebrate with food to be eaten but no way to eat it. What to do? We went to the main lodge and explained our dilemma to the receptionist. "Go to the tavern (which is closed), I will bring what you need." She promptly arrived with utensils and serving pieces and plates and water. And we proceeded to have one of the best birthday parties in years. Four of us in a closed restaurant with wonderful food and drink and no one bothering us for orders or refills or tips! We laughed at the absurdity and the uniqueness of the situation and were glad we were there to do that.

So, it's difficult to be too hard on them when we made the best of a situation (with help from the staff) but the reality is - we won't go back. We paid over $200/night for a kitchen unit that we couldn't use in a hotel that had no restaurant and stayed in a unit that felt a little like a time warp.
Other people's comments regarding the breakfast were true. Comments about the overall condition of the hotel, the amenities - all true. How nice the staff is - true. So - travelers, be advised.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    74
    57
    33
    20
See reviews for
40
154
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here one night while on a spur of the moment vacation. Having not planned in advance, the lodging options were limited. We paid 110 plus tax for one night, in the original lodge, with a shared bath. Bath is shared between about 8 rooms but each room does have its own sink and mirror. The rooms were very small but charming and furnished with antiques. Bed was very comfy and bedding was very nice (and I am picky about bedding). There were several rooms larger than ours if a person needed more space. The sound view from the room was gorgeous. The grounds are beautiful and the waterfront multi-leveled deck available to the guests is fabulous. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was minimal but sufficient for a continental meal. A microwave for the oatmeal would be nice. I felt it was reasonably priced for the island. Would stay again as the setting is gorgeous and it was a great break from generic chain hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room. Give yourself time to linger with evening wine or morning coffee on the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnarabbit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the cabins (#32) on June 23rd. This is an old place, with few electrical outlets and old stiff furniture to relax in - not very relaxing. The cabin felt dirty and old. The bed sucked is all I'll say. The website sold this room with a hottub - the hottub is not working and has not worked for years according to the front desk. Very disappointing since we paid the full price. The "free breakfast" they serve is a joke - it's served between 8-10 and we got there at 9:00 and the offerings were stale muffins and hard bagels and english muffins. Another fruit tray was brought in while I was making toast and the existing folks eating in the dining room got up and took all the fruit and no refill followed. Same with the coffee - it was gone and a fresh pot never showed up. We had planned to stay an extra night prior to our arrival, but after our one night stay, there was no way we would stay another night. Wonderful views, nice staff but not a place I would go back and spend the night at.

Room Tip: I heard cabin 31 is the nicest of the 4 cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coupeville hotels

Seattle
Level Contributor
229 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

After visiting the tulip fields in the Skagit Valley, my wife and I checked in to a Lagoon room for one very rainy night. The lady at the reception desk (literally), in the single common room available to all guests, was pleasant as she quickly checked us in and give us key to our room. The room had a comfortable bed (the only positive feature we could identify), two bedside lamps, a rustic dresser with a phone sitting on a small table next to it, an amoir, and one high back uphostered chair. The curtains covering the large window (aluminum framed single pane glass) were almost sheer as we could see through them during daylight so we assumed someone outside of the unit would be able to see into our room at night when the curtains were drawn. Since it was raining, using the outside deck was not possible as the table and four chairs were wet and it was cold so there was no point. Since there is no TV, my wife sat on the bed to read her Kindle and I sat in the highback chair after I moved the small table over so I could set up my laptop. I had to take the other bedside lamp and place it on the small table so I could have light to be able to see my notes and complete write-ups. I don't understand why they would have a single chair in the room without having a floor lamp or wall lamp by it so one could sit in the chair and be able to read.The lighting is poor at best. This arrangement was set up after we had gone over to the main building and set ourselves up in their common room where the lighting was somewhat better. Electric baseboard heat kept the temperature in the room comfortable but it made cracking noises whenever it was on, making sound sleep difficult. The only updated feature in the room was the single fiberglass shower/tub unit in the very small room housing it and a knee knocker toilet (the door swung a few inches from the toilet).
I suppose if the weather was warmer and sunny, sitting on the outside deck during the day/evening would have been pleasant but not on a cold rainy day. Would we return to this spot? Not likely as there are many other lodgings on the island in Langley which offer better accomodations and amenities for equal or lower prices. IMHO, the Capt. Whidbey appears to survive on an outdated reputation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank overthehill79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, B.C.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Driving out of Oregon, on the spur of the moment, we decided to revisit The Captain Whidbey Inn, our last visit was 25 years ago. What a pleasant surprise, Sarah the receptionist was very accommodating and gave us the honeymoon suite and we were not disappointed. The large king size bed, amazing views of the harbour and spacious room was just the treat.
The continental breakfast was great, would have liked to hear some back ground music played.

Room Tip: Be sure to book the honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOEBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finger Lakes, NY
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

It was a honeymoon to remember at Captain Whidbey Inn. We adored our private cottage and the madrona logs have to be experienced to be appreciated. Just the smell of the place evoked beautiful images of the pacific NW. Loved our private boat cruise in the Coupeville harbor, too. The interior is rustic and cozy and romantic. Our breakfasts, suberb. I would never hesitate to recommend our favorite destination in the world. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Make sure you drive via Deception Pass, the sunsets there are amazing. Look for the cottages if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Touchet, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This was our first visit to the Inn. My husband and I enjoyed walking the grounds and learning of the Inn's beginnings. Looking at the construction of the Inn, makes one appreciate our draft free homes today!
The Inn has different lodging options (cabins, rooms over- looking the water and bathroom, and rooms inside the INN). As sharing a bathroom with other strangers doesn't appeal to me, my husband, wisely, did not choose a room in the Inn.
Our dinner on Sunday evening was interesting. We were the only dinners, so our server was able to be very attentive. The food was good, but the advertised Fresh Crab wasn't available. The wine list was limitied and they did not have everything listed.
All in all, it has a historic value and is in a rustic setting that can be peaceful and restful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the building which gave us our own bathroom, a water view, and balcony. Take luggage th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
8.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#7 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
17.5 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Whidbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Whidbey Inn

Property: Captain Whidbey Inn
Address: 2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Whidbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the Inn is centrally located for nature enthusiasts, island explorers and those seeking the charm of historic Northwest towns by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Guests staying at the Inn will enjoy the various water views on the property and from many guest rooms, on-site dining in our restaurant, a fun happy hour in the tavern, Complimentary continental breakfast, parking and WiFi are included in each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
Captain Whidbey Inn Coupeville, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing