We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“promised wi-fi was too far away from our room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain Whidbey Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We needed wi-fi since the hotel had no brochures with local information. We could connect from the lobby, but that meant only during the hours it was open. We stayed in a lagoon room, so I guess we traded wi-fi for our own bathroom. Not a bad swap. The room was very quiet, if old, and the bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast was adequate. Coffee was good. I've passed by the CWI for years and always wanted to stay there. I don't think I need to do it again.

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms have a good location and their own bathrooms, but we couldn't use wi-fi there. Nic...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Captain Whidbey Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed over the new year. it is a great place for a couples weekend. The breakfast was ok at best. great view from the room. The only things i was not pleased with was the shared bathrooms and the upper floor creaked. overall a great place to spend the weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

The welcome sign on the door is merely a painted piece of wood for decoration. The gentleman at the desk did not even look up to acknowledge me when I walked into the door. There were just two steps to be in front of him. He appeared to be inconvenienced by my presence, and when I asked if he had any rooms available, he just said "No." and put his head back into the computer. I couldn't possibly think about giving this place a second chance.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank girasolpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Public Relations Manager at Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. We have recently brought on new and dynamic staff members with extensive backgrounds in customer service. We would love for you to give us another chance to show you top-notch customer service. Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is our 2nd time at CWI, the last was about 15 years ago when we stayed above the main building with a shared bathroom, had a great time, food and service was excellent. On this trip we stayed in one of the spacious lagoon rooms with our own washroom and no T.V., we understand the age of the buildings but found the creaking floor boards outside our room to be loud and without air conditioning the rooms tend to be somewhat warm unless you leave a window open. For some this is would be a perfect location and accommodation, just not for us. The front staff were excellent and our room was available well before check in time. Now the real disappointment was the bar / lounge, it was happy hour, the setting is awesome, but the non seafood was poorly prepared , presented and expensive, The bar did not have the inventory of beer and wine as per the menu with the poor waitress always saying she was sorry, No doubt the CWI is full of charm and character and off the beaten track that would appeal to some, again just not for us

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodnglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent two days here in this quaint inn (there are more modern rooms also) and just relaxed. We had a free continental breakfast each day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. You can sit outside on the deck and enjoy the view, play a game or read whatever floats your boat! Coupeville is about 3 miles away so you can also check out the shops or enjoy a bite to eat. The Inn does have a full service restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 37GAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We took our bikes across on the ferry and stayed two nights at the Captain Whidbey Inn. We stayed upstairs in the old lodge with a shared bathroom. They provided robes so it was no problem. We had gone there on a Living Social Coupon so the price was defiantly right. Staff was friendly and the continental breakfast was good. The location and setting was great. The food was expensive in the inn but the mussels were good. The second night we went into town for dinner at Tobys. That was good and fun to do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed in one of the inn rooms with a garden view. The floorboards creek and the bathroom is shared but the charm of the place will overcome the faults. The continental breakfast is one of the better ones. Includes croissants, sliced fruit, grapes, yogurt, cereals and more. Views of the grounds and lagoon are beautiful. A short drive from highway 20 to Anacortes, but you will feel like you have truly escaped.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private bathrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorAlaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
82.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
8.7 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#11 of 11 in Port Townsend
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Coachman Inn & Suites
The Coachman Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
340 reviews
17.5 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
51 reviews
19.3 mi away
Inn at Langley
Inn at Langley
#2 of 16 in Langley
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Whidbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Whidbey Inn

Address: 2072 West Captain Whidbey Inn Road, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range: £97 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Whidbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the Inn is centrally located for nature enthusiasts, island explorers and those seeking the charm of historic Northwest towns by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Guests staying at the Inn will enjoy the various water views on the property and from many guest rooms, on-site dining in our restaurant, a fun happy hour in the tavern, Complimentary continental breakfast, parking and WiFi are included in each reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
Captain Whidbey Inn Coupeville, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing