We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owner Non-responsibe to Complaints” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Captain Whidbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Captain Whidbey Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Owner Non-responsibe to Complaints”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Purchased voucher for 2 nights from LivingSocial.com. Prior to purchasing I called the Inn several times to ask if there was wifi in the rooms. I learned they had no tv sets so I took my ipad. I was assured that there was wifi in the rooms and I didn't have to hang out of the window to get it. This was not true for my room. There was no wifi. They sent someone over and he confirmed there was no wifi getting into that room. They did not have another room to accommodate me and my friend. I had upgraded the room when I booked it. I spoke to the staff about leaving the next day and wanted some type of refund. The owner was the only one that could handle the situation and he was not in town but the staff emailed him. I waited for some word from him the day I arrived. Waited the next day and finally it was too late to head all the way back home. He never returned my calls or responded to emails from his staff about the issue.Poor service from the owner. The staff was very nice and expressed they did understand why I was not pleased. You may wish to check out other places on the island to stay. I looked at a few and they were very nice.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tblanks253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    71
    57
    32
    20
See reviews for
38
152
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
189 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Come here with some good books and comfortable walking shoes. If you need a t.v., you're in the wrong place. The views are great, the staff is super friendly, the grounds are attractive, and the restaurant is excellent. I recommend the Lagoon rooms which are spacious with terrific views. Be sure to check out the raised bed kitchen gardens--all 22 of them! And it's only a short drive to the funky, little restaurants and bars in Coupville.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacinMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Manager at The Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear MacinMac,

Thank you for your kind words. All of us at the Inn are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and had the opportunity to enjoy the gardens. We would love to have you come by in a month or two when the garden flowers are in full bloom and the vegetables are at their peak for the restaurant .

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,


Captain Whidbey Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

First time visiting the inn trying out Amazon Local and it was a great experience. We stayed in a lagoon room and found it clean quiet and comfortable with a wonderful view. The real highlight is the original lodge. We had dinner at the tavern both nights and thought the food was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Manager at The Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Xfisherman,

We appreciate you thoughtfulness in writing a review about Captain Whidbey Inn. We are so glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and had time to explore the original lodge. There is a great deal of early state history and fascinating stories about people who built the Inn that we would love to share with you on your next visit to the Inn. We look forward to greeting you again when you return.

Sincerely,

Captain Whidbey Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

It has been 30 years between our visits to Capt. Whidbey Inn. The place is almost exactly the same as back in the day. The property is situated on acreage that includes a beautiful piece of water front overlooking Penn Cove. The inn itself is over 100 years old, built of native logs and is full of antiques. There is a super nice deck overlooking the water, and a quieter parlor with overstuffed chairs in front of a native river rock fireplace for reading or sipping your favorite. There is a formal dining room as well, with local specialties. For guests upstairs, bathrooms are shared in the style of the turn of the century. If you want all the moderns - the inn proper is not for you. There are newer cabins on the property We loved it.

We stayed in the Inn proper (there are modern "cabins" as well). Great view of the water, very nice food in the bar and a free breakfast included. -A warning. The inn was built before sound insulation was in vogue. We could hear conversations in the bar until it closed (thankfully at 8PM that night). If you want quiet, try the old cabins - not as much turn of the century, but still vintage. There are also a few newer cabins on the lagoon.

Whidbey's staff were terrific. The grounds are beautiful and no phones or TVs in the Inn rooms (these are located in very quiet common area/library). We spent a dreamy afternoon sitting on old fashion Adirondack chairs, reading and watching water just as guests have done for 100 years.

Room Tip: If you think you would like to stay in the Inn proper, ask for a water view room. The cabins seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Manager at The Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear KMSmith,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Captain Whidbey Inn. We pride ourselves on keeping the authentic nature of the Inn intact for our guests. . Relaxing for a day is a great way to take a break from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and take a step back in time with us at the Inn. We look forward to seeing you before another 30 years pass by!

Sincerely,

Captain Whidbey Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I live near Langley on South Whidbey Island. Last weekend we took advantage of the 2 for 1 deal and stayed in the lodge, Rm 4. (the big room in the middle with the water view) We had a wonderful time. The room was lovely (as it was when we stayed before). The front desk person, Eric, was very personable and helpful in making our stay as relaxing as we've ever had anywhere. We ate in downtown Coupeville Friday night, and had a very good meal at the Front Street Grill. But it didn't match our Saturday night meal at the lodge. I had the lamb shank, and my wife had the braised rock fish. Both were fantastic, as was the glass of port in front of the fireplace at the end of the meal. A really nice experience all around.

It occurred to me that I'll bet a lot of couples like us from the South End would love to have a little nearby mini vacation like we did. And how better to do it than to take advantage of the Inn's gracious hospitality. I doubt, however, that it occurs to many folks that a weekend at Captain Whidbey's is a great option, and is just as relaxing and enjoyable as spending two, three, or four times the effort and expense to go to a comparable off-island place, like Salish Lodge near Fall City, or Lake Quinault Lodge on the Pacific Coast.

Room Tip: As I said, we stayed in the center lodge room on the water side and loved it. But there are also pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Manager at The Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Chris G,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of the Captain Whidbey Inn. It looks like you had an all-around enjoyable stay. The room, the restaurant, and the staff were all to your liking! Eric is very helpful and we are glad that you were able to experience his 5 star hospitality. We also think it would be great to have couples from South Whidbey come for a getaway. We look forward to hosting you again!

- Captain Whidbey Inn Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Captain Whidbey Inn is on a great property, with great views of the water. My wife and I went away expecting it to be a bit more "pampered" than we experienced. Rooms were cozy, but the beds were smaller than they advertised. We first got one of their lagoon rooms, and the bed is advertised as a Queen. Not so. It was a double. We experienced the same problem when we switched to one of their cabins. For the price you pay, I would recommend that you go somewhere else that is nicer.

The Good: the cabin we stayed had a really nice fireplace that was an awesome way to unwind after our days. The cabins also offer a really nice "getaway" vibe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonner W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Manager at The Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Bonner W,


We are glad that you enjoyed our grounds and spectacular views of Penn Cove. We take great pride in our property and are always pleased when people are able to get the full experience of staying in our historic inn. The cabins are a great way to get a break from city life and experience a rustic, romantic weekend. So glad you took advantage of the complimentary wood and made a nice fire. I am sorry you perceived the bed as a full when all cabins were equipped with pillow top queen beds in 2012. We look forward to seeing you again at Captain Whidbey Inn. – Captain Whidbey Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coupeville hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Yikes...we were excited to stay here after reading up on the history of the place. Rooms are clean and orderly, but nothing to write home about. Check in was easy and pleasant. However, in the evening after returning to our room from dinner we accidentally went to the room ahead of ours...and the key OPENED the door!!! We were confused at first, thankfully no one was in their room at the time, but at first we thought perhaps someone else had put their stuff in our room. When we realized what happened we immediately brought it to the staffs attention. Their response...Ya..we know. WHAT?! What's the purpose of the keys then? They said it was easier that way for lost keys, maid service, maintenance, etc... Serious safety issues at hand, but they didn't see it that way. We were told we could leave if we felt insecure in the room, but rest assured they'd, "never encountered any issues that they were aware of...". Enough said. So if you don' mind people walking in on you...stay here. Hopefully they've remedied this situation at this point, but I'd double check before staying.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckyboo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaptainWhidbeyInn, Manager at The Captain Whidbey Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear BuckyBoo10:

We are sorry to hear about what occurred during your recent stay at the Captain Whidbey Inn. Rest assured, we do not have one key for all of the rooms. Each room has a different key. I apologize that you were misinformed about the situation. We strive to make each stay at Captain Whidbey Inn a relaxing and enjoyable retreat from everyday life. We would love to have the opportunity to host you again and know that you will have a warm & welcoming stay.

- Captain Whidbey Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coupeville
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Harbor Hotel and Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Oak Harbor
8.6 mi away
Manresa Castle
Manresa Castle
#7 of 11 in Port Townsend
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Coachman Inn
The Coachman Inn
#2 of 4 in Oak Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blue Goose Inn Bed and Breakfast
17.4 mi away
Harbor Inn
Harbor Inn
#1 of 1 in Freeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captain Whidbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain Whidbey Inn

Property: The Captain Whidbey Inn
Address: 2072 Capt Whidbey Inn Rd, Coupeville, Whidbey Island, WA 98239-9702
Region: United States > Washington > Whidbey Island > Coupeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coupeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Captain Whidbey Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Whidbey Inn is an enchanting log inn that was hand-built in 1907. Located on the shores of Penn Cove inside the Ebey’s Landing National Historical Reserve, the inn is superbly located for outdoor enthusiasts and those seeking the charm of a historic Northwest town by the sea. Activities popular with guests include hiking, kayaking, cycling, antiquing, horseback riding, fishing, wine-tasting, and beachcombing. With both rustic and modern accommodations, the Captain Whidbey Inn offers three types of lodging: quaint log-walled rooms in the inn itself, romantic private waterfront cabins, and the more modern Lagoon rooms. Overnight stay includes water views from all areas on the property, access to our restaurant, free continental breakfast, free parking and free WiFi access as well as hot tubs and fireplaces in certain units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Captain Whidbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Captain Whidbey Hotel Coupeville
Captain Whidbey Inn
The Captain Whidbey Inn Coupeville, Whidbey Island, Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing