We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish and chips!”
Review of Toby's

Toby's
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Coupeville
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch
Prince George, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We went here after our hosts recommended the fish and chips, and we weren't disappointed! Don't let first impressions turn you away...it may be small and dark, but the service was super and the fish was amazing!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judyupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    131
    73
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Battle Ground, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quaint little tavern”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We went there to see what it is like since my husband used to frequent it when he was station at Whidbey Naval Base 30 plus years ago. Food was ok for a tavern.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank skypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dive Bar!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped in here while checking out the area. First impressions weren't great, it's dark and dank, the bar smelled like clams and old beer, but we situated ourselves in a booth that overlooked the water. Our waitress was friendly and super attentive, even if she was the only one pouring drinks and putting out food. Plus she was decked out in Seahawks gear, major plus! :) My hubby ordered the muscles and I the cheeseburger with grilled onions. We could have licked our plates clean...SO good! Great local beer on tap too. Also, the restrooms were SUPER clean...important to know for the ladies I think. Overall Fabulous experience, can't wait to go back. And we loved the 21 and older ONLY policy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank buckyboo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An oily taste... of history”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stopped here after having read about some of the town's history, which referenced Toby's...thought we might have a bite and a beer. But there was something odiferous that silenced our appetite and we settled for quick beer, a brief chat with the friendly server and a hasty retreat.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank onemoretiime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbank, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ya go to be with the locals”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is no place for something special and it's a great place to be with the locals who flock there daily/nightly for a reasonably priced meal. The 1# bucket of mussels is a good deal

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jelcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby's also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Toby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing