We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly local bar. Great food”
Review of Toby's

Toby's
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Coupeville
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly local bar. Great food”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Love it. Great people, friendly, good view. Tables could use some updating. The acrylic is cracked over the maps.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dancingbear123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    131
    73
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with great food”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had a late lunch here with a friend during our girlie getaway. We shared the 2lb mussels with garlic bread and had a glass of wine each. Delicious. The waitstaff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B0adicea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible, disappointing food and experience”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We drove from
Langley to Coupeville to get Penn Cove mussels. We were expecting good food at Toby's but instead got fair mussels and horrible fish, shrimp and clam strips. The seafood was heavily battered and overdone making it difficult to distinguish between shrimp and clam strips. We regretted choosing Toby's because our time on Whidbey was short and we wanted to treat our guests to good food and a good experience. Atmosphere could have been fun if wait were shorter and good was good. Terrible, disappointing experience

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauratraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Get the mussels. Seriously.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Located near world famous Penn Cove--the mussels could not be fresher and Toby's has perfected their presentation. A quaint bar and eatery, but the mussels should not be missed.
No minors allowed in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visited Whidbey Island with our extended large family. Beware, Toby's is very strict about their no minors allowed policy. The first time we stopped in for lunch, my husband and I had our niece and two nephews with us. One nephew was 19 and didn't expect to imbibe, but they would not allow us seating with anyone under 21. The second time we stopped by, we were seated immediately and ordered their local mussels. As we were waiting for our food, several other family members stopped by and they very graciously moved us to a larger table so we could all sit together. The drinks were delicious and varied. The local mussels were steamed to perfection. I would definitely recommend this tavern to anyone, 21 and older!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby's also viewed

Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
Coupeville, Whidbey Island
 

Been to Toby's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing