We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Vegetarian friendly!”
Review of Fergie's Pub

Fergie's Pub
Ranked #494 of 4,369 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: City Center East
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun and Vegetarian friendly!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Nice little Pub with friendly wait staff, a great selection and variety of vegetarian choices and the food was delicious. Good beer selection too! And, the prices and great!!!! Check it out!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sail45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    26
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Small, dark, but good service and vibe”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We went to Fergie's tonight to hear a band, and showed up quite early. Parking was easy in the lot immediately next door, but cost $15. The doorman, servers, and bartenders were all pleasant, and did a good job even on a very busy night. Both downstairs and upstairs were jammed with people - there was a private party upstairs until shortly before the band started. The crowd seemed young-ish to middle aged, and fairly loud but not uncomfortably so.

We had already had dinner, so we decided on appetizers and drinks. My wife asked for a "fruity, girly" cocktail, with the bartenders making the recommendation. They made her a drink she liked quite a bit. The beer selection upstairs is a bit weak, but there seemed to be quite a few liquor options, and downstairs had a larger selection, too. We had the pub fries which were recommended by the bartender, but were simply salted fries - a few of the dipping sauces were fine, but not exceptional. We also tried the deluxe nachos, which were huge, meaty, but had far too much shredded lettuce - the taste was good, but again, not exceptional.

The band was good, local, playful, and plenty loud. The space upstairs where they played is very tiny, and so the loud became periodically overwhelming. The seating included several large tables, and not so many smaller tables, so you're mostly forced to sit with strangers, even as a couple. I like places that give lesser known local bands a chance, so bonus points for that.

Overall, we are happy but not blown away by Fergies. We would come back for another band, but probably not just to hang out or have dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsley911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We were very happy to stumble upon Fergie's Pub. Excellent selections. I had the fish and chips, the beer batter was light and crisp with delicious home made tartar sauce. My aunt had the lamb burger with carmelized onions and loved every bite. Will definitely return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank azzul98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved the food and ambience!”
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

This is a small pub, doesn't look like much from the outside but great on the inside. Very pleasant and relaxing with a lot of gorgeous old dark wood. Good beer choices and good food. I got one of the specials which was meatloaf with mashed potatoes gravy and broccoli. Good food for a damp rainy day. The meatloaf was REALLY good, better than my own! Good size serving. Other peoples food looked really good too. Would return to this bar to relax, eat and drink.

Helpful?
Thank cwbtg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
206 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Didn't Eat Here, But A Great Pub”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Even without the food, we loved it. Has a true pub feel. No tv to distract you from the warm interior and the conversation. Generally very friendly. We saw Fergie himself, but he was making the rounds to his places on his bike, and seemed in no mood to chat. I must see for fans of good pubs. Great beer selection.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fergie's Pub also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Fergie's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing