We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location horrible cleaning ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location horrible cleaning ”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The location is amazing and would stay again as for the cleanliness it is not the best check the draws and fridge. There were things inside the fridge left behind from previous guest. The lobby was great so we're the staff and prompt even on the fourth of July weekend. Parking of course was not great it's the city we are speaking about here

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kadeem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Kadeem S,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, and our ornate lobby in an historical building. Like yourself, our guests typically comment that our location is truly outstanding, with easy access to Reading Terminal, outstanding local restaurants, and all the great attractions Center City has to offer. As a Courtyard Brand, all of our rooms offer over sized refrigerators. I do apologize that your refrigerator's cleanliness was not up to standard. This is not a normal occurence at our hotel, but of course we will work with our staff to ensure that it does not happen to another guest. We do hope that you will return to Philadelphia and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    381
    90
    30
    11
See reviews for
271
234
34
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here during Fourth of July Holiday weekend, and was given a nice clean room with a comfortable bed. The Location of this hotel is right in the center of Downtown, and a block away from Reading Terminal Market. Parking however is EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE if you choose to use the valet. It is over $40! I was lucky that 4th of July STREET parking was FREE, so i only had to worry about parking the following morning. Street parking rules dictates 2 HR parking and feeding the ticket meter is a cost of $2.50 an hour. Still you have to find available street parking at a cost of $5 per two hours, but far better than paying $40. There are lots of parking lots around but you may have to walk several blocks to get a good deal if your plan is to leave the car and do some exploring on foot. Can be a problem if you are traveling with a group or with a lot of things. This maybe a problem with all of the Hotels in the area, but I found the Valet parking here to be the most expensive of the hotels.

This Hotel's location was great, room with Double bed was comfortable, decor was modern, room was clean, and service was excellent so if not for the Parking I'd give this Hotel a 5 out of 5! Will definitely consider staying here again on our next trip to Philly despite the parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 871alexanderv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear 871alexanderv,

Thank you for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your guest room, and all excellent service our staff provides. Like yourself, our guests frequently comment that we have an outstanding location, with easy access to museums, Reading Terminal, and a variety of restaurants. We appreciate your comments about parking rates in Philadelphia. While our valet parking provides an outstanding service with in an out privileges, we are always happy to provide our guests with alternative information on self parking. We look forward to your staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times, during the last 6 months. It is by far, my first request to the travel team. I love the newly renovated rooms, the proximity to everything and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrtle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Myrtle S,

Thank you for staying with us at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown over the last 6 months.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoy our newly renovated facility, with an outstanding location offering easy access to all the great things which Center City has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again when you make your next visit to Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
318 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Although there is no complimentary breakfast there is little else to find fault with. This is a great location next to city hall, 1 block from the Reading Terminal Market and walking distance to the big three museums (Rodin Museum, Franklin Institute & The Museum of Art). There are also tons of great restaurants all within walking distance. This is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: High floors have great views!
See more room tips
Green Features: Like most hotels they ask you to reuse towels and they use fluorescent bulbs.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fheagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear fheagle,

Thank you for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our excellent location with easy access to the great museums in Center City. We are very fortunate in Philadelphia to have a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance, which provides our guest with an outstanding variety of choices. We look forward to your staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Simply the best. Location is superb and being a Marriott Gold Elite member, especially enjoyed the room upgrade along with the friendly service. Hotel is clean and centrally located to RTM and all of the local restaurants. Beds are little bit soft but for a few nights - hardly an issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pajamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear pajamie,
Thank you for your positive feedback about our service and outstanding location. We are very fortunate to be in the heart of Center City. Like yourself, our guests truly enjoy the easy access we have to Reading Terminal Market, a wide variety of restaurants, and all the historical attractions Philadelphia has to offer. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room upgrade and appreciate your loyalty to Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Valley, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Pleasant experience overall at this Courtyard, as expected. Recently remodeled rooms are clean and comfortable. Location cannot be beat if you are working in Center City as I was. The decor is...interesting. I'm sure it is right for many people, but I found the pop art stuff to be a little off putting. They are clearly going for a boutique hotel style, but stick to what you know. Still, I am nit picking as this was an above average stay, as usual.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfs1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear mfs1981,

Thank you for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia during your recent visit to the area. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your experience. We appreciate your comments about our decor, as we did create a unique look for this hotel, principally to highlight that this is the largest Courtyard in North America and which offers a full service experience. Therefore, we chose to differentiate our decor from the standard Courtyard brand. We do hope that you will return to the area soon and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here June 19-22nd for Philly Comic Con! The location was amazing and close to everything. The view was amazing, not only from outside the hotel, but inside the room as well. Rooms were newly renovated and very nice! The beds were nice and soft and so comfy!! Staff was nice. Will def. return here again next year!

Room Tip: Higher floors have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desiree3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear desiree3181,

Thank you for your positive comments about the wonderful views you experienced while staying at our hotel for a recent convention. Like yourself, our guests find that our access in the heart of Center City gives them easy access to the Convention Center and a multitude of outstanding and diverse restaurants. We hope that you will return again soon to continue experiencing all of the great attractions downtown Philadelphia has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Property: Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-1901
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Courtyard Downtown Philadelphia, PA Hotel is located in the heart of the Business District across from City Hall and is one short block away from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Our downtown Philadelphia hotel accommodations reflect the grandeur of their 1926 origins and feature 11' ceilings, i-Home radio docking stations and complimentary Wi-Fi access. Our 15-floor, 498-room hotel is listed on the "National Register of Historic Places" and stands as a charming testament to time with unique architectural details. Enjoy a variety of hotel amenities, including a fitness center, indoor pool and our on-site restaurant, NINETEEN 26. This Philadelphia downtown hotel is convenient to the Historic District, University of Pennsylvania, Independence Hall and renowned restaurants and shopping. Here at our Philadelphia Historic District hotel we offer over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space which is the ideal home for group meetings, special occasions and weddings in downtown Philadelphia, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing