We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I came here for a conference downtown and checked in on a Sunday afternoon. I was immediately upgraded to an Executive Suite on the top floor. The room was excellent, clean and inviting. I ordered room service which is a Chili's restaurant downstairs and the food came way before they said it would. Th bed was comfortable, and I had a gorgeous view of downtown. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The only down sides might be that there was no alcohol available in the room service which I would have liked, but that is minor compared to everything else. I was very impressed and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sparker2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Sparker2760,

We greatly appreciate your staying with us at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown during your recent visit to the area. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms, and our outstanding location with easy access to the convention center and all the great attractions Center City has to offer. In addition to our 1926 Restaurant and Bar, located in our lobby, we offer a variety of beer and wine at our market located next to the front desk. We do hope that you will return to Philadelphia and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

851 - 857 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

The lobby is beautiful, complete with a spacious sitting area, complimentary strawberry water, and many attentive bellmen. The staff greeted me with a smile and checked me in quickly. I had boxes delivered prior to my arrival and they were taken to my room immediately. The elevators are equipped with a room key slot to ensure only guests can access the room floors. Additionally, the rear entrance requires a room key to enter the building. We stayed on the 12th floor next to the elevators and surprisingly were not disturbed by any noises. The room was spacious and included two queen beds, a dresser, mini-fridge, arm chair, desk and full length mirror. Outlets are abundant and there is a large flat screen television. The bathroom was clean and the shower head had decent pressure. The mini shampoo and conditioner are Paul Mitchell brand, but I did not use them. The only thing the room is missing is a safe. One can be requested, but I kept forgetting to get one. The beds were fabulously comfortable and are the one thing I will miss the most! The lobby restaurant stops serving food before 10pm and the “Starbucks” is not an actual Starbucks. The Courtyard is located in front of a Marriott, which features late night food and a full service Starbucks. Express checkout is available and the bill is slipped under the door the night before. Free Wi-Fi was quick. I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sun_sand_saltwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear sun_sand_saltwater,

We are pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us in our newly renovated hotel. Like yourself, our guests frequently comment on the beautiful lobby, friendliness of our staff, and cleanliness of the hotel. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful location with easy access to all the great things Center City has to offer. As you mentioned, safe deposit boxes are always available at our front desk, but in addition I am pleased to let you know that we will be adding safes to all guest rooms this fall. We do hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed there during Fourth of July week and everything was perfect. The hotel was meticulously clean and the front desk staff was so attentive and friendly. I didn't know that this hotel is the biggest Courtyard in the country at 499 rooms! The location cannot be better and I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sintia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear sintia.

Thank you for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our rooms and our staff's excellent service. In addition to being the largest Courtyard by Marriott in North America, our hotel is in an historic building from 1926 which was completely modernized. We do hope that ou will be staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The location is amazing and would stay again as for the cleanliness it is not the best check the draws and fridge. There were things inside the fridge left behind from previous guest. The lobby was great so we're the staff and prompt even on the fourth of July weekend. Parking of course was not great it's the city we are speaking about here

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Kadeem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Kadeem S,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, and our ornate lobby in an historical building. Like yourself, our guests typically comment that our location is truly outstanding, with easy access to Reading Terminal, outstanding local restaurants, and all the great attractions Center City has to offer. As a Courtyard Brand, all of our rooms offer over sized refrigerators. I do apologize that your refrigerator's cleanliness was not up to standard. This is not a normal occurence at our hotel, but of course we will work with our staff to ensure that it does not happen to another guest. We do hope that you will return to Philadelphia and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here during Fourth of July Holiday weekend, and was given a nice clean room with a comfortable bed. The Location of this hotel is right in the center of Downtown, and a block away from Reading Terminal Market. Parking however is EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE if you choose to use the valet. It is over $40! I was lucky that 4th of July STREET parking was FREE, so i only had to worry about parking the following morning. Street parking rules dictates 2 HR parking and feeding the ticket meter is a cost of $2.50 an hour. Still you have to find available street parking at a cost of $5 per two hours, but far better than paying $40. There are lots of parking lots around but you may have to walk several blocks to get a good deal if your plan is to leave the car and do some exploring on foot. Can be a problem if you are traveling with a group or with a lot of things. This maybe a problem with all of the Hotels in the area, but I found the Valet parking here to be the most expensive of the hotels.

This Hotel's location was great, room with Double bed was comfortable, decor was modern, room was clean, and service was excellent so if not for the Parking I'd give this Hotel a 5 out of 5! Will definitely consider staying here again on our next trip to Philly despite the parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 871alexanderv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear 871alexanderv,

Thank you for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your guest room, and all excellent service our staff provides. Like yourself, our guests frequently comment that we have an outstanding location, with easy access to museums, Reading Terminal, and a variety of restaurants. We appreciate your comments about parking rates in Philadelphia. While our valet parking provides an outstanding service with in an out privileges, we are always happy to provide our guests with alternative information on self parking. We look forward to your staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have stayed here a couple of times, during the last 6 months. It is by far, my first request to the travel team. I love the newly renovated rooms, the proximity to everything and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myrtle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Myrtle S,

Thank you for staying with us at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown over the last 6 months.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoy our newly renovated facility, with an outstanding location offering easy access to all the great things which Center City has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again when you make your next visit to Philadelphia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Although there is no complimentary breakfast there is little else to find fault with. This is a great location next to city hall, 1 block from the Reading Terminal Market and walking distance to the big three museums (Rodin Museum, Franklin Institute & The Museum of Art). There are also tons of great restaurants all within walking distance. This is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: High floors have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fheagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear fheagle,

Thank you for choosing Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our excellent location with easy access to the great museums in Center City. We are very fortunate in Philadelphia to have a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance, which provides our guest with an outstanding variety of choices. We look forward to your staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,385 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,274 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-1901
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £125 - £416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Courtyard Downtown Philadelphia, PA Hotel is located in the heart of the Business District across from City Hall and is one short block away from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Our downtown Philadelphia hotel accommodations reflect the grandeur of their 1926 origins and feature 11' ceilings, i-Home radio docking stations and complimentary Wi-Fi access. Our 15-floor, 498-room hotel is listed on the "National Register of Historic Places" and stands as a charming testament to time with unique architectural details. Enjoy a variety of hotel amenities, including a fitness center and our on-site restaurant, NINETEEN 26. This Philadelphia downtown hotel is convenient to the Historic District, University of Pennsylvania, Independence Hall and renowned restaurants and shopping. Here at our Philadelphia Historic District hotel we offer over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space which is the ideal home for group meetings, special occasions and weddings in downtown Philadelphia, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing