We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient value in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Valley Forge, PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“convenient value in town”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is An old attractive building converted to a good hotel near the convention center and other sites. Great staff and service make up for louder than usual air conditioning in an otherwise large and comfortable room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclectic779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    384
    93
    30
    11
See reviews for
275
237
34
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Central to all Philly sites. Easy to walk or grab a cab. Many restaurants near by as well as the Reading Terminal Market. Hotel appeared to be recently renovated. Rooms were a good size and beautifully done. Higher end Courtyard for sure. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Really enjoyed our time in Philly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is a great place to book if you are visiting Philadelphia, PA. This place is good for those attending conference that will utilize the Philadelphia Conference Center as its host site. The staff here are use to visitors but treat them as family members they have not seen in some time.

Room Tip: All rooms are in good location to nearest elevator. They have several elevators to accommodate large...
See more room tips
Green Features: They practice recycling of goods, towels, and encourage energy saving through turn-off lights not being used.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed there for 10 days, the hotel's location is great near to almost every thing in the downtown, there is a very big Macy's store just 2 minutes walk. a very big food outlet is around the corner where you can enjoy the famous Philly steak and take a photo of the place where Obama once ate also there is a nice sports bar as well.
At the back door of the hotel there is the bus stop that takes you to the biggest mall in the city.
best thing in the stay was having Starbucks at the lobby area.
The hotel is brilliant and I enjoyed the stay so much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibohhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Huge rooms! Everything is brand new in rooms carpet wallpaper furniture to die for! Even the shower pressure and pillows were great. The location cant be beat. You are next door to 2 other marriotts and reading terminal market and in walking distance to everything! Cheap rates. I doubt they will stay this
low. Also-this building is on national register of historic places! And across the st is a gorgeous building too. We stayed one night. I wish we stayed longer! I hope all marriotts look like this sooner than later.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChampneTastBeerPockt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Left a bad review in the past. Since then the rooms have been nicely updated! Very satisfied this stay. I would recommend this hotel. They offer "Going Green", which means you can decline housekeeping and earn 1,000 Marriott points per night in exchange. Great idea!

Green Features: They offer "Going Green", which means you can decline housekeeping and earn 1,000 Marriott points per night in exchange. Great idea!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentjut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear agentjut,

Thank you for returning to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown. As you referenced, our hotel recently completed a 16 million dollar modernization of our guest rooms, and we have received very positive feedback from our guests regarding our customized design. We do hope that you will return to Philadelphia soon and stay with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was perfect for our 18 month old; they real cribs, large rooms, & a great pool. It was perfect for us (the parents) because it was near everything: tons of great food (Maggiano's, Melting Pot, Burbon & Bank, & Reading Market), very close to a metro stop, very close to the Amtrak station, all the historical coolness & museums, & the pool. Our only complaint would be that the hotel bar was a bit slow but really that's not a complaint when your in a vacation.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BradAndLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Assistant General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear BradAndLee,

Thank you for staying with us at Courtyard Philadelplhia Downtown during your recent vacation. We are pleased to learn that our hotel provided comfortable services and amenities for yourself and your family. Like yourself, our guests frequently comment that our location is outstanding, with easy access to shopping, dining, and transportation. We do hope that you will vacation again soon in Philadelphia and once again stay with us at Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,112 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,917 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Property: Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Address: 21 N Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-1901
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Courtyard Downtown Philadelphia, PA Hotel is located in the heart of the Business District across from City Hall and is one short block away from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Our downtown Philadelphia hotel accommodations reflect the grandeur of their 1926 origins and feature 11' ceilings, i-Home radio docking stations and complimentary Wi-Fi access. Our 15-floor, 498-room hotel is listed on the "National Register of Historic Places" and stands as a charming testament to time with unique architectural details. Enjoy a variety of hotel amenities, including a fitness center, indoor pool and our on-site restaurant, NINETEEN 26. This Philadelphia downtown hotel is convenient to the Historic District, University of Pennsylvania, Independence Hall and renowned restaurants and shopping. Here at our Philadelphia Historic District hotel we offer over 10,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space which is the ideal home for group meetings, special occasions and weddings in downtown Philadelphia, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Courtyard
Philadelphia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing