We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Phili Downtown awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Marriott Phili Downtown awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great hotel , great location , fun sports bar , restaurants and shops all around, walk everywhere , convention center attached ...The train station is inside the complex , I took the traind to Airport , awesome !!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    1,241
    590
    195
    107
See reviews for
540
544
157
1,290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Cobb, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
376 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here for the Philadelphia Flower Show. This is the only hotel that allows you access to the Convention Center without having to go outside. Great central location. City Hall and Broad St are just a block away. The Historic Area and Old City are less than a mile away right down Market St in front of the hotel. Chinatown is just around the back only a few blocks away. The Reading Terminal is across the street. Our room was fairly large and spotless. My only complaints are, why no free wi-fi access ($12.95 a day) and if you are putting someone in a room right next to the service elevators please let them know about the noise.

Room Tip: If your room abuts doors that say Staff Only, find another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrayBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
193 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very good staff. Accommodated my special requests. Superb Health Club, spacious, well equipped, and clean. Concierge Lounge personnel were friendly, attentive, and helpful in recommending restaurants. Wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I had to stay at this hotel for a conference. I have stayed here before in the past and it is a little pricey. I actually like the Loewes Hotel across the street and they tend to also have cheaper rates too. It looks like they finally remodeled the rooms. I was pleased that they had a separate check in for Elite members. My room was clean but there was a layer of dust on the tissue holder in the bathroom. I did also notice that for some reason, my room always smelled like breakfast...almost like syrup and the hallway smelled like the grill so ventilation isn't the best (and I was in the main building-they have a separate tower as well for Elites). They offered me a room in the main building so I didn't have to schlep back and forth which I did appreciate. The bellman and the valet staff were very, very nice and extremely pleasant. Its not a bad hotel for a Marriott but there are some better places with cheaper rates.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpecialKNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My family of four recently stayed at this hotel for a gymnastics meet being held at the convention center. The staff at the hotel, beginning with the valet, were excellent. The valet was helpful and took the time to answer some of our questions about the area. The check in was very smooth, We arrived 5 1/2 before check-in and the staff very happily accomodated our request for an early check-in. The room was very comfortable and a nice size. We were put in a corner room which appears to be a foot or two larger then the other rooms. We did not have a mini-fridge in our room and the water pressure in the sink left something to be desired, but small points in the grand scheme of things. There is a work out room and a pool. They seemed like they were adequate, but as I said, we were there for a gymnastics meet. There were literally a hundred girls screaming and splashing around (my daughter being one of them). A review of those facilities would be unfair, at best. The most disappointing part of our stay was calling housekeeping for extra towels. We were told they would be delivered within a half hour. The towels never arrived. We chose the valet parking and had the $46.00 added to our bill. Although we did not need this, the advantage of valet parking over the garage across the street is the ability to get your car whenever you would like. Although check out is at 12:00, you may keep your car in the valet garage until 5:00pm on the day you check out. On the topic of checking out, it was clea that we were not going to be done with our business (gymnastics) until after 12:00 on our check out day. At 11:00am, I called the hotel and asked for a late check out. They inquired how long I would need and were happy to extend my stay until 1:00pm without charge.

The location is very good for any events in the convention center as well as Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. The Marriott has a connecting catwalk to the building across 12th Street. From the catwalk, you can access the convention center as well as the Hard Rock Cafe and a mall. Reading Market is crossing the street outside. We were unable to explore Reading Terminal Market during our stay. We headed over for dinner at 6:30 on Saturday night. We found that the Market closes at 6:00pm most days. The mall and food court close at 7:00pm. Independence Hall is very walkable. It took us about 15 minutes with the smaller members of our family.

We would recommend this hotel to friends and may have the opportunity to stay there again next year around this time!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are slightly larger and have more windows 12th street tower and the headhouse tower ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Location is great for the convention center, Reading Terminal, downtown area. But the rooms are dated, with double beds instead of queens. Wifi NOT included, but available for a significant charge. Go for the location, not the rooms...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank photopeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We arrived at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown at 12:30pm on the Sunday of President's day weekend and were expecting to have to wait around for check-in which is usually at 4pm. I thought it couldn't hurt to ask for an early check-in, and it worked! We were given a VERY nice, clean room on the 17th floor with a king size bed. Thanks to the very nice concierge, we were able to watch the Knicks vs. Mavs before headning out to explore! :D

This hotel is right across the street from the Reading Terminal market which was awesome! We frequented this place for lunch/breakfast the next morning since we were only there for a day - but had we been there longer, we probably would have gone there more. TONS of good food, fresh produce and other goodies. The hotel is also next to Hard Rock Cafe where we had dinner.

We walked the 6 blocks to Independence Hall and Liberty Bell - very good, historical experience.

All in all - we would definitely stay at this hotel again if in the area for any reason. We were really happy with the experience here!

Pros:
- Early Check In (at 12:30!)
- Clean room (not just a little clean, MY kind of clean! - also checked for any bugs, NONE found!)
- Fast Elevators
- Very courteous concierge
- Right next to Reading Terminal Market
- Walking distance to Independence Hall (brisk 10-15 mn walk)

Cons:
- SUPER expensive parking! $45.00+ tax (we parked at 5-star parking RIGHT next door for $36 in an open lot and saved $10)

Room Tip: - Higher floors are quieter, we were on the 17th floor and had a GREAT night sleep and heard no neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing