We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay anywhere else in Philly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #40 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Albertson, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would not stay anywhere else in Philly”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The staff could not have been more courteous or helpful. From the time we arrived to the time we left, someone on staff was always asking if we needed any help or directions.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a fantastic view of Philly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JV1633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    1,331
    629
    212
    123
See reviews for
590
579
171
1,394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Hotel is large but beautiful. The lobby has a Starbucks for snacks and coffee. Everyone was very helpful that I spoke to. Room was on the smaller side but clean and nicely decorated. Parking can be expensive but that is to be expected when visiting a hotel in the middle of a city. Hotel is in a great location and the subway is directly outside the hotel---you can't get any closer than this hotel!! I would strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The location of the Downtown Marriott is ideal, you are right next door to Reading Market Station - filled with great breakfast and lunch places (note, that most of the eating booths here close at 6pm), you are a block from City Hall, and in walking distance to Independence Hall and the Historic Section, the Museums, and dining. The room is comfortable (we had a nice view of City Hall), but the in-room wi-fi a bit pricy at $13 per day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia32174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Marriott is exactly what you expect -- a large center-of-the-city hotel set up to handle convention crowds at the adjacent Philadelphia Convention Center. The Marriott is a four star hotel -- not a Four Seasons, but certainly comfortable and well appointed. Although the hotel isn't a standout in any dramatic way, everything works well. I was there for a conference of about 750 people that was in the hotel itself, and the staff did well supporting the event. Meeting space is good but the acoustics in some of the larger meeting rooms aren't very good. For a large property, the staff is friendly and competent. I had a room on the concierge level with plenty of space and good WiFi.

The Marriott is located very conveniently, on Market Street close to shopping and restaurants, a block from the East Market SEPTA station with its easy train connection to the airport and to the main Amtrak station. The entrance for people coming by taxi or car is around the back on Filbert St., parallel to Market. The one-way streets can be a pain, but apart from that the hotel was easy to access.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msandman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

pleasantly surprised by the location of this hotel. I knew it was going to be in the center of things but everything was literally walking distance. we took the septa from the phl airport and within 40minutes, we were at the market east station waking up the stairs and crossing the bridge (yes a covered bridge/overpass) that connected the station to the marriott itself. talk about convenient! the reading terminal market is also just few steps away. city hall and jfk plaza is a few blocks down, and the independence hall national park is just past chinatown (about a 15minute leisurely stroll).

i'm giving it a 4 because i expected more amenities inside the room, esp the bathroom, this being a 4star hotel and all. we asked for toothpaste because we forgot to bring some and it took them over 30minutes just to bring us 2 dental kits. when we called, we could hear laughing and loud talking in the background.. they might be on break or something?

anyways, other than that. this is definitely one of the best bets if you're going to philly for a quick vacation to see the historic sites.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larapanget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with friends and it was great! The location was amazing near a septa station and all! Just don't park at the garage it's $45 a day you can find some close by for cheaper! Can't wait to come back again

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lovestoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Just stayed in the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown en route between New York and Washington for a couple of nights as we have never visited Philadelphia.

Check-in was really quick and simple even though the hotel was really busy and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Our room was clean and spacious (coming from England) and simply what you would expect from an other Marriott.

The hotel is very large with some good amenities, for example we used the excellent laundry room which was empty and very cheap, including the useful soap dispenser, and whilst the machine did it's bit I went for a swim in the pool which was also empty and perfectly clean, counter to another review I have read.

Personally I found there was a fair amount of noise from the corridors when cleaners were doing their rounds etc and every door closing nearby did seem to shake the walls a little. You can also hear water from showers etc in the adjoining rooms but this wasn't actually a problem and I am a pretty light sleeper.

The location is pretty good and fairly central although you can find yourself walking for miles once you start exploring!

Overall we were happy with our stay but primarily because I used Marriott points to pay for it, nothing specifically bad but nothing special either.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a view but it didn't sound like many, if any, had a view. Our room wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
974 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing