We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frustrating experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #42 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
North Granby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Frustrating experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and myself stayed over one evening for the marathon this past weekend. We drove from CT and the trip was uneventful, maybe even nice. We inquired about a late check out for the next day (marathon day) so my husband could return to the hotel for a quick shower. They said they were overbooked and could not accommodate us. My husband didn't think it would be a big deal, since he was hoping to run in under 4 hours and be back between 11am-12pm. The room was a little bit expensive for what you get. It is nothing fancy, however, I did like like the bed linens, and the bed itself was comfortable. The bathroom needed updating, and the light switch on the wall was severely crooked. There wasn't a continental breakfast, but another couple we know stayed at a boutique hotel several blocks away enjoyed a bountiful continental breakfast, fresh cold water with fruit in it, fresh fruit available all day and the room was much larger, including a very updated bathroom. Their hotel charged less for parking, and the total bill was about $20 less than ours. On the morning of the marathon, while he was running it, I inquired again about the shower. The front desk staff, by the way, are terribly cranky and said no again. They were sarcastic and said they have alot of marathoners. By the way, I did ask two different personnel about this request. Both were not customer service oriented. Anyway, I did pack up our belongings and store in the car, and he was able to clean up at our friends' hotel which allowed a 1:30pm check out for their convenience. I didn't comment to anyone their about their attitudes, but my friend who also was waiting for a runner thought they were not accommodating to their guests at all. She stood right next to me. No problem, plenty of other hotels to choose from in the area next time we visit. Oh, the restrooms to the left as you enter the hotel were limited (not many stalls) and needed cleaning... desperately....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    1,260
    602
    201
    112
See reviews for
556
550
159
1,313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DF
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice, once for a conference and once with my family. Both times I had exceptional service, clean rooms, great view and best of all, the hotel connects to a mall so on cold, windy days you can walk almost to the Liberty Bell inside. Two staff members went out of their way to make our stay memorable, Mr. Arpea and the woman who provides service for lost items. I thought I had lost my ring, they turned the place up-side down looking for it, only later did I find it slipped into inner lining of my suitcase. Everyone was extremely professional and friendly. Side note, if you are traveling with children, the pool is freeeeeeezing (@ least in the winter) so don't count on this as a kids activity.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montague
Level Contributor
185 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Thank you to the housekeeping staff and to those who delivered room service. You all went out of your way to make me comfortable while I was sick during my stay. I deeply appreciate that. The hotel was very close to the convention center. The bed was very comfortable. A reception suite I used for business was lovely and I received many compliments from the attendees. The restaurant was okay. Overall, the feel is of a big convention hotel, a bit dated and maybe over priced. But the staff were so kind and thoughtful, I would return and would recommend to my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
285 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was here for 2 nights on business. My room was clean and comfortable, and I thought the service at the hotel was fine. It was quite pricey overall though -- even with a conference rate, the daily parking fee and taxes increased the bill substantially. The great thing is that the hotel is right next door to great restaurants and the endless choices in the Reading Terminal Market, which is literally a stone's throw from the hotel. If you aren't familar with the city though -which I wasn't -- it was very tricky because your GPS will tell you how to get to the hotel's street address but not to the street where you park. It was frustrating to circle around with no idea of where I was supposed to park. My only other complaint is no free wi-fi in the rooms...there was free wi-fi only in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallkill, NY
Level Contributor
176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The hotel was large; however, staff members were friendly and eagerly answered questions. The hotel is in a great location. When traveling from the airport just hop on a train to Market Street and follow the signs. Our room was clean and spacious. If I were to visit Philly again I woulld stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DogLoverDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here a few times and there are also some other Marriott options across the street including a Courtyard and a Residence Inn, but this hotel is by far the nicest. While it isnt in the greatest area, its still a nice hotel if you are looking to be close to City Center. Very nice rooms and close to shipping and right across from Reading Terminal. Most of the better Philly restaurants arent that close, probably a 10-15 minute walk but its still right by alot of great places. Loews Philly is across the street and market Street MMall is right next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antecroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
530 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Recently stayed while attending a function at the Convention center. Very convenient for that purpose. Pretty expensive. Valet parking was $48.00 per night as the garage was full for self park. Restaurant in hotel was pretty poor. Not recommended. There are much better choices in walking distance. Bell service was exceptional and what I would expect from a first rate hotel. But be ready for a hearty bill on check out

Room Tip: Ask for the Towers. Larger rooms away from the crowd,but close to the Convention Center entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing