We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year's Eve Getaway.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pa.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Getaway.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My stay at the Philadelphia Downtown Marriott was great. The staff were friendly. The room service attendant was nice also. The only inconvience was someone pulled the fire alarm and we were on the 20th floor.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BygGyrlzRSexy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    1,241
    590
    195
    107
See reviews for
540
544
157
1,290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This Marriot is the perfect location. Room great, breakfast wonderful and nice pool. Best part was across the street from the Market! We had a great time they and enjoyed everything we are! Lol..... The weather was beautiful so we walked and walked all over town. There is so much to see. We are looking forward to returning for another great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean but the pillows were hard and our view was the flat roof. Another detriment was hearing the swoosh of the elevator shaft all night long. The plus is that the staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank PTrish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Friendly and accommodating service here. Accolades to the parking valet staff and room service staff!! Very comfortable room with nice city view. The Philadelphia Marriott staff as a whole was such a pleasure. Quality stay!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in early January. Room was OK, though a little drab and shabby. No minibar, minimal amenities. But my real complaint concerns handling of reservation. I booked online, they found my reservation after 10 minutes when I checked in, but said they couldn't transfer it onto their computer system, so I stood for another 10 minutes. I purchased a rate including internet and breakfast, but they billed for both anyway. I went to the front desk to correct, which was easily done, but then my credit card showed the original charges anyway. I finally had this corrected and was promised an email receipt, but none has arrived after several days. Now I am told they are having "problems with their systems." Indeed!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We missed our connection in Philly and had to find a hotel. We arrived at the hotel and were promptly checked in. The lobby was packed with people with a convention. The rooms were nothing special at all, but most importantly, the room we were assigned had a strange smell. Both my wife and I could smell it and we called down to ask to be moved. They said no problem someone will bring us new keys. After waiting a half an hour and calling to ask where the keys were, I had to eventually go and get the keys myself. The new room on a different floor also had the smell but it was not nearly as strong as in the original room.

In general a pretty ordinary, nondescript Hotel that was definitely not worth the money they charged for it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank teedee1198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Throughout the past 2 years I have stayed at this hotel at least a dozen times and this hotel never disappointed. The first thing you will notice when you walk into the Marriott, depending on the entrance, is just the massive size. Mainly, the lobby consists of the check in area, restaurant, two wings for rooms, and an escalator going to additional rooms and the conference area. I've never been in the lobby when it wasn't busy.

The rooms are always a mirror image of what you would get if you go into a Marriot. A comfy bed, updated furnishings and artwork which reflect the city that you are at, in addition to the view of the city. I noticed that some rooms have partial views or even rooms of brick walls which I have never experienced. During the check in process ask for a corner room or a room on the higherfloor. I never ran into a problem when asking unless the hotel is fully booked and they place me where they can. Of course there is other hotels in the city that are classier or more modern but if you want a hotel brand that you can trust and comfort stay at the Marriott. It is pretty central to the convention center, city hall, china town, and the art museum.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philadelphia Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philadelphia Marriott Downtown

Property: Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Address: 1201 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2817
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Pennsylvania Convention Center and 8 blocks from Independence Hall, this Center City Philadelphia hotel is ideally located near dining, shopping, business, & cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Philadelphia Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing