We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, in the middle of Historic Philly, Not super cheap, buy you certainly get what you pay for here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #35 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Beautiful Hotel, in the middle of Historic Philly, Not super cheap, buy you certainly get what you pay for here. Very clean and comfortable, super comfy beds, very nice and helpful staff. Wish the in room internet was free instead of $9.95 per day. Oh well, you can go down to the lobby and connect for free at least.

Room Tip: Right in the middle of Philly. Walkih distance to most historical areas, and a short direct subway r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Bill M,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
I gather that you had a great stay with us and we hope that you do come back and see us again soon at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
Regards,
Kevin Murnane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,647 - 2,653 of 3,452 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

Booked same day reservation after our flight was cancelled due to TS Isaac. Reservationist was friendly and offered a few different room types. Even though we booked while riding the SEPTA, when we arrived they were able to put is in a clean and ready room around 12noon. Warm cookies and friendly attitudes after being denied at the airport were heavenly. The room was nicely decorated and the view was outstanding on the 20th floor. I called down for toothbrushes and toothpaste and it was delivered no problem. We chose self check out in the morning via phone. The doorman was kind enough to hail a cab for us back to the airport. Great spot. Location is everything and this hotel is in the heart of Philly. Will always return to Doubletree Philadelphia. Thanks again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear briteside,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
I am thrilled that our staff was able to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible given the circumstances of the storm.
I hope that next time you do stay with us is under different circumstances are you able to stay longer at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.

Regards,
Kevin Murnane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We drove down to Philadelphia from NYC for a weekend ballgame trip.

This hotel was a fine choice, not "top of the line", but certainly good enough for a tourist type visit to the City. The hotel is right on Broad Street, four blocks from City Hall and within walking distance of many of Philadelphia's major historic sites and attractions, including Independence Park, the Convention Center, Reading Terminal Market, Rittenhouse Square, etc., etc. There is literally a subway stop right outside the hotel on the Broad Street Line, with a connection to PATCO.

We even walked down to Geno's and Pat's on Passyunk Avenue in Little Italy. Our ballgame was a short subway ride away (and on the way back, the train ran express to our stop!)

The front desk and lobby staff couldn't have been more helpful, and even though there was a large fraternity meeting going on that weekend, we had no problems checking in or getting any kind of help or directions. We valet parked overnight for $30.00

The hotel is not a rectangle, so there are more corner rooms then normal, although they have an odd (in a good way) shape. The bed was comfy, and the bathroom was good sized, and there were six elevators, so there was usually no waiting time. The business center had a two story layout, with a lounge where you could hold a small meeting.

There is a bar/lounge off the lobby and a restaurant on the mezzanine level overlooking the atrium-style lobby which served a nice buffet brunch on Sunday AM (included with our room).

And of course there are those cookies......

Room Tip: The corner rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajfsurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear ajfsurvey,
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. You gave such a great description of where the hotel is and what there is to do nearby. I myself was in the Italian Market area of the city this past weekend. It is such a great Satruday morning activity.
My hopes are that if you do return to Phildelphia you will be our guests again at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
Regards,
Keving Murnane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed one night after a wedding, Room was very clean, location was great for Philadelphia, you could walk to a lot of the attractions, Hotel was busy, but a good atmosphere. We had breakfast in the morning, food was good. Staff member were all polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scorpiogirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear scorpiogirl65,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
It's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you were able to walk to a lot in the city. Our location is great for seeing a few sites especially if you are in town for an event. You can get out experience the city without the additional travel.
My hopes are that if you do return to Philadelphia that would consider staying with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
Regards,
Kevin Murnane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Was not one of the best hotels in Philly that we have stayed in but comfortable enough for our 3 day stay. As another reviewer mentioned, skimpy on towels but maid service was fine. Very clean and comfortable room, apart from the noisy shower from next room and the infernal ice machine noise.
We only used the room to sleep, as so much to do in Philly.
On our last night we arrived back to a heated row outside the hotel foyer, on the sidewalk, with a pending fight ensuing between two males (one a guest!),This heated row lasted far to long and I feel the management / security should have contained it by removing the male guest back in to the hotel to prevent the confrontation continuing, or by calling the police. It only gave the Hotel, in my opinion a bad reputation on the type of rowdy people staying, by attracting the attention of the passers by and the staying guests.
That said a comfortable stay and the elevators were very fast, not as others comment.

Room Tip: A room away from the ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosworth87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear oosworth87,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
I wish you would have had more than an OK stay and sorry that you did witness the confrontation outside of the hotel.
I do hope that if you are going to be coming back to Philadelphia that you consider staying with us again at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
Regards,
Kevin Murnane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

It's funny how things change day by day in the hospitality world. A few of my concerns, because of reviews on TripAdvisor, turned out to not be concerns at all. The elevators were fine, the front desk was fine, self parking was fine. We stayed on a Sat. pm and the place was hopping with many different events, but it didn't interfere with tourists. They only little annoyance was that I was hoping to use the whirlpool, which was out of service. Should have called a head of time. It would have been helpful if the website would have stated that it was closed for repairs. Cookies as usual, again I don't know why they have walnuts in them, as so many people are allergic, incl. me. Oh, there were a few noisy people around 10:30 pm but that didn't last more than 15 min.
Beds were comfy and the view was wonderful!

Room Tip: There is a big screen tv on the wall with a touch screen in the lobby near the doors that you can us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerdebBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear travelerdebBaltimore,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave some comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
For as long as I have been in this business I can tell you no two days are ever alike! Also, what might seem problematic to one person may have no impact on another. I am thrilled to know that you had a most enjoyable stay with us. My apologies about the whirlpool being closed-sometimes we do have unforseen repairs that we need to tend to.
Lastly, I am glad that even though there were som noise it did nto continue and you were able to enjoy your evening.
I hope to see you again at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
Regards,
Kevin Murnane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Wasn't the nicest hotel, but it was good enough. Skimpy on the towels. Walking distance to Independence Hall, Mutter Museum, lots of restaurants. But don't ask concierge, use Trip Advisor. Concierge sent us to a dump, we looked at their menu and walked away. Quiet, slept well, unlimited cookies.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InflatableBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OfficeoftheGM, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear inflatableBoat,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
It seems that you had only an 'OK' stay with us and for that apologize. My wish is that every guest that stays here leaves here wanting to come back.
Perhaps, if you travels do bring you back to Philadelphia you will consider staying with us at the Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City.
Regards,
Kevin Murnane
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City

Address: 237 South Broad Street, Broad and Locust Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: £85 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Doubletree Philadelphia
Philadelphia Doubletree
Double Tree Hotel In Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing